We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place in the mountains!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cool place in the mountains!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had a cosy and comfortable cabin for 2 located near a stream, it was clean and tidy with access to a nice and secluded hot tub. The cabin was very well equipped including a nice tub. There were washing facilities on site and bins in the cabin were emptied everyday. Staff were friendly and informative. It was very handy for the entrance to the park and you could easily walk into town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    34
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in Castle Rock, which has an indoor hot tub and log fire; logs were supplied daily for the fire. Overall the resort has a nice to feel to it and is set in the beautiful backdrop of the mountains and it is very close to Rocky Mountain National Park. It snowed while we were there and it gave the place a whole new identity. It was nice to use the hot tub and look out at the snow then relax in front of the real fire. We liked the fact that wild turkey wandered around, there were lots of chipmunks and a friendly fox who visited us nightly. The staff are really friendly and helpful and provided us with extra logs.

I feel that the cabin could be doing with some updating. The bathroom looked like it had recently had a facelift and the bedroom was nice too with a big comfortable bed. However, the kitchen was woefully inadequate; there was no counter space to prepare food and the utensils were old and cheap. The bed linnen and towels were very low quality and the carpet in the living room was rather stained. Towels should have been replenished daily and the bins emptied but this was not done on one of our days. Any other housekeeping is up to you to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We reserved a room but one look at an available cabin, and we decided to upgrade. Good beds, comfortable LR, deck with bird feeders. Kitchen very clean, well equipped. Surprise, real fiesta ware plates and bowls! Is one of a long line of cabin-resorts on the road into Rocky Mtn park, seems to be one of the best. Games and puzzles in the lobby. Hot tub is indoors, must reserve, no views, skip it and go for a walk up the hill. Would stay again. See attached pix.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aajarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Great Room and had a wonderful time. The room itself was beautiful - a cathedral ceiling log cabin with exposed beams. The location is excellent. We used it as a base for hiking in the park and it was very convenient. It was also conveniently located for exploring Estes Park. The real attraction of this place, though, was the wonderful people who worked here. Everyone was so friendly and accomodating! You could tell they really cared about their guests.

Room Tip: Ironing boards ans hair dryers are available at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0ilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Edward
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our first time at Castle Mountain and I must say we were quite impressed with the staff, let alone the scenery. A beautiful rock-cropped mountain greeted us every morning as we came out the door. The smell of the air alone invigorated us and provided the perfect 'air' for our vacation. We are part of the motorcycling community and were totally immersed in the beauty of the state of Colorado. Having lived in the state next door meant we have had ample oppotunity to visit the buffalo state. But we never had. What an error that was.The lodge provided all manner of comfort and friendliness during our stay-so much so that we bought a new motorcycle on the way back home and will soon be reserving our 'lodge experience' for 2012! Thank so much to LuJean for her untiring efforts to provide us with viewing and dining options. We had such a pleasant stay at Castle Mountain and look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.4 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
595 reviews
0.4 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
309 reviews
0.2 km away
Pine Haven Resort
Pine Haven Resort
#17 of 78 in Estes Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
365 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#35 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
0.4 km away
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
Sunnyside Knoll Resort
#42 of 78 in Estes Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Lodge

Property: Castle Mountain Lodge
Address: 1520 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9104
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing