We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled off season gem!”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed at Discovery Lodge for $49 per night in early November and thoroughly enjoyed the off season quiet of Estes Park and the RMNP. My room 202 had a large shared balcony with a table a chairs. The view of the pond was barely obstructed by a few trees but I was able to see the elk swimming one afternoon at sunset and got some great pictures. It looks like they are doing some remodeling of rooms in the 300 building across the parking lot. I sat on the balcony and enjoyed the quiet and sun of unusually warm week after my early morning trips into the park. The office opens at 8am to serve coffee during the winter season. Within walking distance to town along a well marked walking/bike path.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 and 203 have AC and share a large balcony- shower only-queen bed and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tish's Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. 202 and 203 are very popular. They do have a shared balcony that is perfect for couples or familys that want to stay close, but then have their own privacy. Glad you enjoyed it and were able to catch the elk! They seem to love it here too. :)
Thanks again for your business and this nice review. We hope to see you again in the future!
Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 627 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Discovery Lodge a total of three times now. As I mentioned in my last review, we were very pleased with the politeness of the staff and we planned to vist again. Well, we did and it was even better! They had done some remodeling since we were last there so we were excited to see the changes. The room we had was very spacious and nicely decorated. Just enough knotty pine to be quaint but not so much that you feel like you're living inside of a tree ; ) The bathroom had been remodeled and was very nice as well. We used the hot tub again and it was just as good as we remembered it. Highly recommend for the location, the value and the NICENESS of the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level, just below the office. Can't remember the room number but it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thanks for coming back 3 times in a row! We are glad to have you!!! Also, thanks for taking the time to write us these reviews. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay ... again! We love repeating guests! We do remodeling every winter. So when you come back, look for something new I'm sure! :)
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

One of the worst hotels we've ever been to.
We surely won't go there again.
When we got the room and tried to take a shower, the bath tap broke....
We asked to move to another room, got one with the tap in good condition, but in the evening the toilet flush tank broke, and we had water all over.... This time we didn't ask once again for another room, we remained with the broken tank and with the smell until morning, then we checked out and ran away from there.

Also, we got used to have in the room a microwave and a kettle (for boiling water for coffee) in all other American hotels we've been to, but in this hotel these appliances never existed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gadi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

I apolgize that your room had some plumbing issues. We do not normally run into these problems. Thank you for coroporating with us in moving to another room so we could take care of the problem in that room. If there was another problem in the other room, we would have taken care of that one as well right away and alert our manager if you had let us know. We also have an extra microwave and coffee makers that we can provide for you upon request. We can even put these items in the room before you even check in.
I am sorry that we could not meet up to your standards. We want everyone's stay here in Estes Park be great, whether with us or not. So next time you come out, consider us, if not, enjoy your stay in Estes regardless.
Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Discovery Lodge has an excellent location. It is a five minute walk to downtown, via the river walk. It is located next to the Visitor's Center. It also backs into a golf course which attracted dozens of elk. Since it was rutting season who got to see the bulls challenging each other for dominance. The lodge is also right near the path around the lake. The room is pretty standard, but for $79.00 a night you can't beat it. We had to queen size beds in our room. There are nicer rooms with fireplaces and luxury cabins, for an extra fee. Book early, at these prices the rooms go quickly. Being able to walk into town is a great advantage because parking is at a premium. The hotel has wi-fi but the service in our room was kind of spotty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us about your stay. Glad you were able to take full advantage of our location. During the summer/busy season, parking can get crazy. We suggest to all of our guests during that time to walk to town if capiable. The elk love it here! Glad you were able to catch them. Sorry the wifi was a little spotty. It could have possibly been that alot of guests were using it at the same time too. Hopefully next time it will be better.
Thanks again for such a nice review! We look forward to seeing you in the future! Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

During this past summer my sister and her husband came to visit and we decided to take them to Estes Park and choose The Discovery Lodge to stay. While there we rented the Luxury Log Cabin. First of all let me say we had a wonderful stay. The lodge is very roomy, very comfortable and kept tidy & clean. The living room was very comfy and nicely decorated, very large attractive bathroom . The view from the lodge was beautiful and the small patio was wonderful to sit out during the day and into the evening. We enjoyed ourselves very much! However there were a few improvements that could certainly improve the lodge. In both bedrooms a new comforter or bedspread is badly needed. The bed was very comfortable, sheets very clean but the comforter was old and need of replacement. Our bedroom comforter had a massive rip in the skirting and wear and tear on the comforter itself. My sisters room the throw pillow had huge tears in them where they had completely come apart. The kitchen is badly in need of a new dinner set. In a lodge where 4 to 6 people could stay there were only 2 dinner plates. There were chips on all of the smaller plates. There was not a casserole of any size if you wanted to cook an oven dish and, some of the cookware needs to be replaced. Possibly the person who cleans the lodge has not reported these things to the office, but a check list really needs to be made up for the kitchen and the management needs to have a walk through and inspection throughout. The light switch in the bathroom had a problem with the connection and needs to be attended to as it could be a safety issue. And the shower liner needed to be replaced due to mildew. This may come across as a very negative review but it is not meant to be. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again and hope to do so again next summer as we truly had a very wonderful experience. I would like to see some of the improvements met as the luxury lodge would be top notch. I do recommend the luxury lodge to stay however there are some things I feel need to be attended to in the above mentioned areas that could make this a fantastic place to stay and greatly improve one's stay from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talula0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thanks so much for the review and suggestions! As soon as this was brought to our attention we got it taken care of. More plates to accomidate, new shower liners, and sheets as well as comforters. We appreciate you letting us know things we need to improve on. So next time you visit us, be sure to notice the upgrades! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,560 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
184 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
2.9 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.4 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 4,062 - ₹ 10,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing