We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for viewing Elk.”
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have been staying at the Discovery Lodge for the past 4 years. The Staff are very nice. The rooms are very clean and around the property is beautiful. Mountains and lots of Elk to view on the golf course right next to the Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyPerry_OhioUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thanks for always coming back over the last 4 years. We all really appreciate it and glad you always have a great stay. The elk love it around here! I'm sure they will be around the next time you come to visit us. Thanks again and see ya next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 641 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were in need of a modest priced place for two couples. The Discovery Lodge met our needs and was a nice surprise of a place to spend the night. We wanted separate sleeping quarters and found this worked out perfectly. We had a one bedroom with a queen bed + a double. A second sleeping area in the living space worked out, it too had a queen bed. The unit was clean and comfortable. The grounds are well kept and the pond is nice. The elk seem to cross the road right at this spot and we were delighted to see them do this. We were in the middle of them! Park your car as you can easily walk to anywhere in town, a very nice benefit.

Room Tip: They have a good website with photos of rooms. I suggest you look there. I believe that all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldiane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Sounds like you all had a wonderful time! So happy to hear you got to see the elk. They are popular around here! We get to see them just about everyday. That's great that you were able to take fuul advantage of our location to down town. Love the shops! Sounds like you stayed in one of our 2 bedrooms fireplace suites. Very popular! You'll have to try the other one next time! We look foward to seeing you all again. Thanks again for the review and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent one night here at the Discovery Lodge as we were going into the Rocky Mountain National Park. Check in was very easy and the staff very helpful.
Estes Park is very tourist orientated and is built up around the park. The Lodge itselt was really great, the room was huge, had a comfy sofa, two queen beds and was very comfortable. Even for the Elk that was walking through the car park in the morning. A really lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesMilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write us about your stay! We are so thankful to be so close to something so beautiful as the RMNP. Glad you were able to take advantage of it! Sounds like you had room 312, one of my personal favorites! The elk seem to love it here too! We get to see them just about everyday. Hopefully you can catch them next time too. We look foward to seeing you again in the future! You just let us know when! Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

OK, I admit it. I'm a diva in a lot of things, including hotels. So I was anticipating a poor experience at Discovery Lodge. Fortunately, I was wrong and am happy we stayed there. My hubby made the reservations months in advance, which was a good idea because the Discovery Lodge, as well as many/most other hotels in town, had no vacancy for our late September dates. Our room was in the 307-310 series and I recommend the location! We had super mountain views (some other rooms had views blocked by trees) and we were able to park right in front of our door, which was great to schlep the bags in and out. There was even a little 2-chair balcony that overlooked some other cabins and the mountains. Our room was cozy, with a king size bed that was adequate, good closet and drawer space, table/chairs, nightstands and free wifi. Furniture was rustic (looked handcrafted) and there were log walls. There are restaurants nearby, and as others have mentioned, a couple of herds of elk that frequent the area. Our wakeup call was a bull elk bugling! Speaking of animals, Discovery Lodge is pet friendly, and they are strict about their rules. If your dog is barking or left unattended, they will take action (according to the printed Pet rules we saw).

Room Tip: The Discovery Lodge has several buildings. We were in the one housing the 300 series, and we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. Our 300 building is very popular. All different in their own little ways! That's great that you were able see the elk. They seem to love it here too! :)
Next time you come out, we have some other rooms in the 300 building you would love! A couple with fireplaces that are also very close to the hot tub.
We love dogs and welcome them here, but we do have our Pet Policy that anyone who brings a dog has to sign and read when checking in.
Thanks again so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you all again! Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and main lodge was quite cozy. The decor of rooms was a bit dated but in good condition. I would recommend this lodge to all. Golf course right next door and we saw many elk grazing. It was beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks for the review! The elk love it here too! Glad you were able to see them. We do updates every year on our rooms. So next year, be sure to stop by and check it out! We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.7 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,561 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
185 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
2.9 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
329 reviews
1.4 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 4,049 - ₹ 10,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Discovery Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing