We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
506
370
135
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
370
135
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing pondhot tubwithin walking distancevisitor's centerclose to downtowngreat view of the mountainsgreat place to stayqueen roommini fridgeclean roomsherd of elkstaff was very friendly and helpfulwould definitely stay here againeasy accessrocky mountainstanley hotelshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were in need of a modest priced place for two couples. The Discovery Lodge met our needs and was a nice surprise of a place to spend the night. We wanted separate sleeping quarters and found this worked out perfectly. We had a one bedroom with a queen bed + a double. A second sleeping area in the living space worked out, it too had a queen bed. The unit was clean and comfortable. The grounds are well kept and the pond is nice. The elk seem to cross the road right at this spot and we were delighted to see them do this. We were in the middle of them! Park your car as you can easily walk to anywhere in town, a very nice benefit.

Room Tip: They have a good website with photos of rooms. I suggest you look there. I believe that all rooms have a view of the pond.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldiane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Sounds like you all had a wonderful time! So happy to hear you got to see the elk. They are popular around here! We get to see them just about everyday. That's great that you were able to take fuul advantage of our location to down town. Love the shops! Sounds like you stayed in one of our 2 bedrooms fireplace suites. Very popular! You'll have to try the other one next time! We look foward to seeing you all again. Thanks again for the review and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Spent one night here at the Discovery Lodge as we were going into the Rocky Mountain National Park. Check in was very easy and the staff very helpful.
Estes Park is very tourist orientated and is built up around the park. The Lodge itselt was really great, the room was huge, had a comfy sofa, two queen beds and was very comfortable. Even for the Elk that was walking through the car park in the morning. A really lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesMilll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write us about your stay! We are so thankful to be so close to something so beautiful as the RMNP. Glad you were able to take advantage of it! Sounds like you had room 312, one of my personal favorites! The elk seem to love it here too! We get to see them just about everyday. Hopefully you can catch them next time too. We look foward to seeing you again in the future! You just let us know when! Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

OK, I admit it. I'm a diva in a lot of things, including hotels. So I was anticipating a poor experience at Discovery Lodge. Fortunately, I was wrong and am happy we stayed there. My hubby made the reservations months in advance, which was a good idea because the Discovery Lodge, as well as many/most other hotels in town, had no vacancy for our late September dates. Our room was in the 307-310 series and I recommend the location! We had super mountain views (some other rooms had views blocked by trees) and we were able to park right in front of our door, which was great to schlep the bags in and out. There was even a little 2-chair balcony that overlooked some other cabins and the mountains. Our room was cozy, with a king size bed that was adequate, good closet and drawer space, table/chairs, nightstands and free wifi. Furniture was rustic (looked handcrafted) and there were log walls. There are restaurants nearby, and as others have mentioned, a couple of herds of elk that frequent the area. Our wakeup call was a bull elk bugling! Speaking of animals, Discovery Lodge is pet friendly, and they are strict about their rules. If your dog is barking or left unattended, they will take action (according to the printed Pet rules we saw).

Room Tip: The Discovery Lodge has several buildings. We were in the one housing the 300 series, and we were on the side of 307-310. We recommend that due to unobstructed private balcony views and being able to park right in front of the room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. Our 300 building is very popular. All different in their own little ways! That's great that you were able see the elk. They seem to love it here too! :)
Next time you come out, we have some other rooms in the 300 building you would love! A couple with fireplaces that are also very close to the hot tub.
We love dogs and welcome them here, but we do have our Pet Policy that anyone who brings a dog has to sign and read when checking in.
Thanks again so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you all again! Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and main lodge was quite cozy. The decor of rooms was a bit dated but in good condition. I would recommend this lodge to all. Golf course right next door and we saw many elk grazing. It was beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks for the review! The elk love it here too! Glad you were able to see them. We do updates every year on our rooms. So next year, be sure to stop by and check it out! We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at Discovery Lodge this mid-September. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean, and location is great. The lodge is only a stoplight or two away from downtown Estes Park, so it is away from all the noise, but close enough to everything. It sits next to a golf course where the elk like to hang out, so we were able to see lots of activity from the property. There are a couple picnic tables and benches outside where one can relax and watch the elk. Do not get too close though! The elk appear to be used to people, but there was an incident during our stay where the bull chased off a few other bulls threatening his "harem" but then decided to jump the fence and charge a couple of the guests. Too much elk testosterone during rutting season ;) For the most part, the elk stayed on the other side of the golf course bridge and were quiet. As previous reviewers mentioned, it is important to know there is NO AIR CONDITIONING. Not a problem during the cooler months, but there is no way we could stand it in the summer heat. The rooms are not fancy, there is a refrigerator but no microwave, and the television was small. They have blow dryers available in the office; they are not in the room. We did not spend lots of time in the room anyway, so none of this was a huge deal. Also to note, the entrance/exit is one lane and can be difficult to get out of if there is lots of traffic on the main road. Overall, this was a great place to stay, and we would definitely go back whenever air conditioning isn't needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgriffy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discovery_Staff, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a nice review! Sounds like you all had a great time. Looks like you took full advantage of our great location and property! The elk seem to love it around here too! Yeah, around that time of year, the elk can get a little aggresive. We warn guests never to get too close. I'm glad to hear no one got hurt! Our units do not have A/C but most of the time, we do not need them. During the summer maybe, now that its getting warmer, but we like to encourage people to take advantage of the cool, natural breeze we get from those beauitful Rockies! :)
Thanks again so much and we look foward to seeing you again. Take care!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews