We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location for Rocky Mountain Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Columbine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Columbine Inn
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice location for Rocky Mountain Park”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I drove 8,500 miles this summer visiting national parks, and stayed in a wide variety of properties. This was wonderfully convenient to the park and my expectations were met.

My room was clean, my double bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good, and the TV worked. The little miniature schanuzer was a plus - my own pet is the same breed.

I was referred to a good restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    14
    15
    9
See reviews for
32
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bay area, ca
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We chose this place for the memorial weekend since all other lodges were exorbintantly priced.

The rooms were decently sized , had a small tv(very few channels) and had a bathroom, a patio. We usually choose rooms as a place to park ourselves for the night and are out most of the day . This definitely served that purpose. The person who owns this was also helpful whenever we wanted suggestions for places to eat or to go to rental stores to check out equipment. Ask and you shall receive info!

Only thing that was disappointing was the breakfast- or the lack of it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Friends selected this hotel from its web site and modest (for Estes Park) price. It's an old facility. Our room was clean but small and plain, with minimal furnishing: queen-size bed, two chairs, a small end table. Baseboard heater (that we used), small air conditioner (that we did not need), small refrigerator. No desk for my computer; I ended up balancing it on the end table. Wi-fi requires a user name and password but I could not log on and the owner had no explanation. However, I was able to log on to Comfort Inn's wi-fi which worked just fine. Breakfast in the lobby was minimal, mostly carbs: packaged muffins and sweet rolls; coffee, tea, milk, oj but no water; frosted flakes and Cheerios. There's a microwave, I guess to heat the rolls. Styrofoam bowls but no plates; plastic spoons but no knives. That's it. We brought our own raisin bran. If you want a hot breakfast you might pop down to the nearby Safeway and pick up something you can microwave. I had one big concern: it appeared to me, though I had no way to verify it, that the wall surfacing is some type of light-weight fiberboard, rather than gypsum board. If so, that might pose a fire hazard unless the panels have been treated to be non-combustible. (The bath walls appear to be gypsum board.) If you're on a tight budget, you get a room for a low (again, that's relative to Estes) price with amenities to match. Next time I will probably pay a bit more for a better facility.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeirdHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

Covina, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We were very comfortable here for two nights while we visited Rocky Mountain National Park, tho the room was small we found it delightful, had homey touches, not motel type towels but kind you would use at home. Refrigerator was adequate, we enjoyed the small patio out back where we could sit and have a cool drink. The cleanliness was A+ - the mattresses could be updated, and a few more options added at the Continental breakfast, tho the view from the breakfast room lobby was incredible and we enjoyed our stay here. The owner, John, was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIONNORM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This hotel was so bad it makes me not want to visit Estes Park ever again. The rooms are small, the manager is crabby, and the "continental breakfast" consists of cinnamon rolls from a vending machine. As well, the cleaning service consists of the crabby manager and an older gentleman who really deserves to be taking it easy in retirement. I actually felt very sorry for both of them. I realize the economy is poor and that times may be tough, but they really need to be much more friendly to their guests, rather than just trying to make a quick buck off the tourists. The price of the rooms is too high for what you get... I would strongly recommend staying at a nationwide chain instead of this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jjj33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
993 reviews
0.3 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.4 km away
Hotel Estes
Hotel Estes
#12 of 29 in Estes Park
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
312 reviews
4.1 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
291 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Property: Columbine Inn
Address: 1540 Big Thompson Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517-8918
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,822 - ₹ 7,708
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing