We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
456
94
29
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
94
29
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit yogurt lip balm pizza place across the street continental breakfast hot tub granola bars great place to stay short walk downtown area hard boiled eggs enjoyed our stay hummingbird feeders national park three nights room was clean and comfortable fall river entrance
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The Inn is located just past the busy tourist area, and just a short drive away from the National Park entrance. There is a pizza place straight across the street, and plenty of places to eat breakfast lunch and dinner by walking into town. Their property is very clean and maintained well inside and out. We paid $129 per night for a Sunday- Monday night. The breakfast in the morning is straightforward and basic, but enough of it and good quality , some grab-and-go items available to take hiking with you. Good coffee! We had a room on the back side of the property, all of those rooms have a good view of the mountains behind the property, the upstairs rooms on the front side of the property all have a fantastic view looking across to the mountains. All of the rooms are basic but nice, and have a cozy cabin retreat type of feel. Would we stay here again?.... if the price is right, yes! Would we recommend it to others?.... Yes, but don't expect luxury. We definitely like supporting a small family run Inn like this, hope to be back again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BirdDogPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We stayed the first weekend in Nov. Our room was on the first floor. It was quiet and very comfortable. We appreciated having 2 chairs in the room. The beds were a little harder than what we are used to but we managed. We enjoyed staying here and would return.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gwenlend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We spent 3 nights at the Maxwell Inn recently for a family wedding in the area. What a lovely place. The rooms are well appointed with hand made furniture and although not large, they had everything we wanted. It was quiet and comfortable. The lip balm in the room was amazing! Continental breakfast had something for everyone and Dana was a gracious host. She led us towards restaurants and shopping, which were a comfortable walk away. If I am in the area again I will definitely stay there!

Room tip: There are pictures of the rooms on the website. You can choose based on space, first floor preference, TV location, etc.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 974knitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

The room was small, but very clean, warm, and had all the amenities we needed. The young lady at the desk was helpful and the continental breakfast was adequate. Biscotti and Pepperidge Farm cookies to pair with coffee were the highlights :o) The bathroom, while very small, was beautifully tiled. We'd like to suggest a better selection of pillows, as we both have neck issues and the pillows here were very soft. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Airedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

4Airedale - Thanks for staying with us this fall! We appreciate you writing a review and for taking the time to give feedback. I believe we added the Pepperidge Farm Milano cookies last year because there are some folks who like a treat with coffee in the morning - and those fit the bill! We've talked about trying to make the bathrooms, but the tradeoff would be room space - which is a tough choice. We've decided to leave them and try and be as upfront as possible that in the majority of the rooms, the bathrooms (toilet tub/shower area) are small. The vanity (in most rooms) shares space with the bedroom, so that part is more 'open.' Next time you come, let us know about the pillows after you check in (if you need more firm or more soft) and we can see if any of our options would be better for you. We're happy to help! Thank you again for staying with us, and for taking the time to write a review for other folks looking for a cozy motel in Estes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Every now and then when traveling you come upon that excellent gem of a mom and pop hotel or restaurant. Maxwell Inn is definitely one of those gems. Clean, quiet hotel, very friendly people, and the absolute softest towels you will ever use. Breakfast does not have the eggs and sausage, but has everything else and is more than adequate. Our go to place in Estes Park.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wolfie950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Wolfie - Thanks for the kind words! We've done a TON of projects over the past years and we're glad it shows. I think over the last six years we've changed towel suppliers twice, because the original mill was sold or something along those lines - so we had to find them again! Thanks for appreciating the breakfast, we know it's limited (no commercial kitchen means no prepared items), but we added the hard boiled eggs to try and expand it as far as we can if a guest is looking for more "protein" in the morning! :-) Thank you for the kind words, and thank you for choosing our place to stay in Estes Park..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews