We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loveland Heights Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at Loveland Heights with friends for a few nights over the summer - we loved it!! The owner was very nice, very personable and catered to our needs. The cabins/decor were older, but very clean and well-cared-for. It was small, which was fine as we were out most of the day anyway, but it was a great place to come back and cook dinner/relax after hiking/exploring and we LOVED our deck right on the river. Overall this was a great place to stay and the price was perfect, it was exactly what we needed - I would absolutely come back here for another stay, will recommend it to all my friends

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RQK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

We finally had a chance to follow up on our wish to rent a cabin by the Big Thompson River near Estes Park. We were right over the river and could hear it rushing by as we cooked out on the lovely deck or sat inside reading. It's a quick drive to the town and fun shops and we didn't have to cart a lot of food up as the supermarket is just on the outskirts of town. We had a very comfortable bed and there was heat as we were there in late September. The staff were friendly, helpful and generous and we're hoping to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallie4501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The cabins are rustic and the bathroom is small, but the location right on the river is great, as is the scenery. We were greeted to a group of elk relaxing in the front yard of our cabin (#1) upon arrival. The balcony over the river was a highlight and at night it was very relaxing. This is a good place to stay if you don't need luxury and want to have some space for your family during a trip to Estes Park. It's a quick drive to town or to Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP). The cabin was fairly large, with 2 bedrooms, a living room, a 'kitchen' area with a stove and sink and a separate small dining room that led out to the patio, with the bathroom off the back dining room.

We stayed for 2 nights in mid September. While the beds (new this year) were comfortable, it was very cold at night (even with the heater on) and a thick warm quilt would have been nice instead of the thin comforter (we froze the first night then turned the heater to high the second night). I might bring my own thick blanket if I returned during cooler weather. Chairs and a grill were provided on the deck. The owner was a little particular about things (like noting the precise location to park your car for your unit), but was friendly and let our group rearrange chairs and grills on the front lawn for a group barbecue.

Cell phone service was non-existent for our phones at this location but the free wifi did work. We drove 2 miles into town when we needed to make phone calls.

This would be a nice location to have an informal family reunion or gathering of friends. It is so convenient to RMNP and the town of Estes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_in_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed 6 nights early September. I will echo what others have said before me...if you are looking for luxury and fluff you will not find this here, it is not the place for you. If you are looking for a quite place to relax this is your place. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin with deck over the river. We could not have asked for a more peaceful, beautiful location. Everything was very clean, the kitchen was more than adequate (no microwave, not a problem for us). We enjoyed sitting on the deck at the end of a day of sightseeing. Used the grill once during our stay and it was nice to be able to do that. We spent much of our time in Estes Park sightseeing so lots of driving. Our best day was our last day there. We spent the day on the deck over the river, playing Scrabble and drinking a nice Colorado wine. The only problem I encountered was that this cabin does not have lamps in the bedrooms. So if you like to read before sleep as I do bring a reading light. A problem easily solved. I never once heard the road traffic. So noise was not a problem. Close enough to town. Just a beautiful location.
Bev was very welcoming to us. We did have limited cell service. When we checked in and she learned that my son was involved in the fires in Bastrop she readily offered her phone to me and told me my son could call on her phone anytime. We didn't have to do that but was very comforting to know we could have.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is one awesome place to stay in Estes Park, CO. Our cabin was right on the river with a deck over the water. The owner was like visiting my grandma, she was very helpful and a pleasure to do business with. This place is like a step back in time but thats its greatest asset. WONDERFUL PLACE

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
7 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 28 in Estes Park
329 reviews
8 km away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#17 of 74 in Estes Park
373 reviews
12.8 km away
Dao House
Dao House
#53 of 74 in Estes Park
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#20 of 74 in Estes Park
240 reviews
8.7 km away
Estes Park Condos
Estes Park Condos
#21 of 74 in Estes Park
504 reviews
5.5 km away
The Historic Crags Lodge
The Historic Crags Lodge
#18 of 74 in Estes Park
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loveland Heights Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loveland Heights Cottages

Address: 2542 Big Thompson Canyon, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 6,633 - ₹ 18,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loveland Heights Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step Back In Time" to the beauty of these 16 cottages with decks on or over the Big Thompson River. All have full kitchens and there are one, two and three bedroom cottages,with queen beds. We are known for our cleanliness.We are 3 miles East of downtown Estes Park and 5 miles East of Rocky Mountain National Park. We furnish everything you need to stay and be comfortable in our wonderful cottages, from the pots and pans to the bedding. We are not a big fancy chain, we are family owned and operated and have owned the cottages for 32 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Loveland Heights Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loveland Heights Cottages Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing