We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
216
174
41
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
174
41
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hard boiled eggs room was clean yogurt continental breakfast playground equipment pool and hot tub lodge feel would stay here again granola bars free popcorn fire pit booked this hotel small playground family room queen room a great stay microwave and fridge
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

The room was clean and spacious. We had a double queen with a seating area out front. The bathroom was a bit small but workable. Be sure to close the shower curtain or bathroom door at night as the sun is a bit bright coming through the frosted window in the bathroom. The breakfast is the typical free continental no frills breakfast. The pool and hot tub looked okay though we didn’t use it. There is a small playground. There was popcorn and s’mores at night which was a nice thing. The view from our room was nice and a great way to start the day. The extension cord to the AC unit was a bit questionable for safety and there was a lack of plug ins near the bed unless you unplugged the lamp. Hotel staff were great at recommending places to eat. Beds and pillows were comfortable. We would stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mazma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay, and that our staff was helpful. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your view! We also appreciate the input on the extension cord and will definitely look into it. We recently upgraded all of our a/c units are they are still new, so we are in the process of working out the kinks with them. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Most important to us is the cleanliness of the room. We always check for bed bugs first and found no evidence. Perfect! The heated pool was nice for September. The breakfast was adequate. On our last morning there, Sept. 13th, there was no decaf coffee. I asked and the man at the desk and he told me in a rather condescending way, that they weren't serving decaf anymore because people were not drinking it. Since I can't have caffeine, I had to find a McDonald's for breakfast. The night of the 12th, we had to call the desk 3 times to get the heard of elephants from stomping the floor above us, as we were leaving the next morning and needed to sleep, so I would recommend avoiding the lower level for that reason. Other than those two issues, it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the second floor, for a quiet room!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancya72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the room was clean. It is very rare for guests to request decaf, so we only have it upon request in the lobby. We also stock all rooms with regular and decaf coffee for their individual coffee pots. The front desk person should have had some decaf to make upon request. We will definitely check with him to see what may have happened. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay overall and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We rented a "family" room. The layout of the room was nice -- one big room with two double beds and a twin bunk bed, with a small table in the middle of the room and corner windows with a great view. Plenty of space for us to maneuver around the room without being on top of each other. Keep in mind that it's all one open room so if some will be going to sleep before others you'll have to figure out how that will work. The view out the corner windows was lovely. Otherwise the room was pretty basic -- clean but not luxurious, very basic air conditioner (with dials, not thermostat). The kids were glad to have the playground, but it was old and nothing too special. Breakfast was very basic (nothing hot unless you used the toaster). We liked the free popcorn at night. The location was good. We stayed the last weekend in August and traffic through town was not an issue. For the price, we were happy and would gladly stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank 849jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are truly happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The “family” rooms are great rooms for a family. They don’t have an extra room, but are only about $25 more than a standard 2 queen room and add extra space and beds. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Estes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Situated near to town, this place is ideally located to explore the national park. However, the hotel was a littLe disappointing. It was a glorified motel built in a log cabin style and the rooms were very dark. It was clean and relatively inexpensive, which were a plus

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vincenth1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We are sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. We bought the hotel a few years ago and have been working hard at fixing it up, doing new improvements each year. We appreciate the input on the lighting and will definitely see what we can do. If you have any other specific input, please feel free to contact us to let us know. We prioritize improvements each year, based on guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The owners are doing a great job fixing this place up. Nice clean rooms tasteful decor and bedding. Great for our family. 3 beds were awesome. Pretty quiet at night. Nice pool and hot tub area. Good parking out front. Loved estes park! Recommend for families!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochstetler, Owner at Hotel Estes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are truly happy to hear that you noticed how hard we are working at fixing up the Hotel Estes! We are family owned and operated, so understand the importance of family amenities and are glad to hear that you recommend us for families. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed visiting our town. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Estes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews