We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we got this deal, not sure we'd pay full price for ourselves.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We bought a deal from LivingSocial to stay 2 nights at this river-side hotel in Estes Park. When we saw the deal come up for 2 nights at the price we bought it at, we had to jump on it. We love any chance we can get to go up to Estes Park and spend time both in the town and up in Rocky Mountain National Park. Staying in between the two places we wanted to spend most of our time while up in Estes worked out well. We could either head into town within a few minutes, or into the north entrance of RMNP and on into the Fall River side of the park. So as far as location, this hotel worked out great for our stay.

We stayed here with our two young boys, and put them out on the pull-out couch and in a pack-n-play we brought with us (I guess you can "rent" a pack-n-play from the hotel at $10 - I think a night). It was nice to have enough space for us to fit in the living room with the boys and in our bedroom for us. It was nice also to have TV's in both rooms, although I find it funny to have HDTV's without an HD signal - which is the case in the living room, although there were maybe a couple of channels that were HD it looked like. But, we were not in this room to watch TV. The kitchen was nice to have for sure, to help us save on money and to have more food options for the whole family. It is especially appreciated when it is truly a full kitchen, including a stove, oven, and dishwasher. Granted, the fridge was a small one so plan accordingly and the dishwasher was a small one as well, this didn't really affect us but is something to be aware of. The furniture was nothing special, and on the verge of getting outdated I thought, but worked just fine for us... minus the fact they only have 2 chairs for the small eating table, ended up having to use the coffee table and couch for added seating for our family of 4. If the weather was nicer, there are some picnic tables around the site that you could use, we did not. The tub/shower was nice since it was an over-sized tub. It looked like it might have holes in it for bubbles, but they didn't seem to work for us - but we didn't really try much to get them to work. We did wish that there was a door for the vanity/sink at the bathroom - so as to not have light come in to the living space area where the boys were sleeping when we were getting ready for bed ourselves, but we managed ok.

A couple of things that I would have to think more than once to stay here again: there is almost no mobile phone coverage at this hotel (we have Sprint) - of course this isn't the hotels fault really but something to take into consideration especially if you have to work on your stay like we needed to, I have read others say the wi-fi is good here but in our room (unit 16) we couldn't hardly get a signal for the wi-fi, the regular rate for this hotel seems quite high in my opinion - higher than the accommodations warrant especially when you take into account other options in the area, in our unit there was noticeable noise from our neighbors when they walk up and down the deck in between units or the stairs or when they walked and such upstairs from us - this is pretty typical at most multi-story hotels like this I have stayed in - this noise was not as bad as I have experienced but something worth noting especially in a slow season, parking was a bit limited it seemed like especially when compared to number of units. These are all fairly minor gripes - except the price (although we appreciated being able to get the deal we did) - and if we could find a good deal again would most likely stay here again on another occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n8patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in one of the spa suites, which is a collection of little row-house rooms away from the main lodge. The spa suites run along Fall River, and include a HUGE indoor jacuzzi tub in the main living/sleeping area and a small kitchenette. The room was clean and nicely decorated, and the bed was very comfy. However, i had to take a star off for the way the window blinds are set up. In the marketing photos, it appears that the spa suites are on the 2nd floor, overlooking the river. Much marketing talk is made of how romantic it is to sit in the jacuzzi tub with your sweetheart and watch the snow fall. However, that really isn't possible on the weekend when other guests are around -- the spa suites are on ground floor and people walk by your windows along the river. So, if you want even basic privacy, you need to lower the blinds all the way. In which case, there's no way to see the pretty scenery outside. Top-down / bottom-up blinds are widely available these days ... Boulder Brook should invest in them! That would enable guests to cover the bottom half of the windows so passers-by couldn't see in, but enable guests to see out the top half of the windows. Another issue we had was the doors slamming. Any time a neighbor opened/closed one of the many doors to their unit, we heard the banging. There was a TV and cable, but it oddly didn't include any music stations. And the little boom box radio didn't have a jack to enable us to plug in our iPods. So we had to listen to music off our tablet PCs. Luckily, the free wi-fi was super-fast, so we were able to stream Pandora. So, in summary, the place has a lot of potential, but there are a couple of little details that could really make the place great. Until those details get fixed, i don't think it's worth $200/night and i don't see us rushing back.

Room Tip: Spa suites 1-4 were a bit further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcampbellbb, Owner at Boulder Brook on Fall River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

We really appreciated this review! This property was purchased in 2008, and we have invested over $100k each year in upgrades to the property since then. That said, we hadn't replaced the mini-blinds in the Spa Suites yet. The blinds that open from the top or bottom is a great idea. We will implement this as soon as it fits into our budget!

In the meantime, we have purchased new stereos for the rooms with iPhone/iPod adapters and MP3 input. We agree that it is disappointing that the local cable provider doesn't have music stations (and there are few radio stations in the area)!

Thank you for your constructive ideas for improvements. They are helpful and are taken very seriously!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

When I read some of the reviews I wonder if we are all talking about the same place. Too many rules? What? Don't smoke and Please leave the kitchen as you found it. Wow. Terrible.

We initially booked out of all the choices because they enforce a strict No Smoking policy. We return because its a well run place with great people.

Chris and Kim didnt build the place. They bought it used. Each year that we have stayed we have seen renovations and repairs.

My family and I have been coming here from Maine since August 2009. We stay for 10-12 days on our summer stays. My wife and I will be making our fourth visit in April 2012 and returning for nearly two weeks for our 5th visit in August 2012.

We come for the hiking and mountain climbing. The hotel is just downhill from the Fall River entrance of the National Park. Just a few minutes from downtown Estes. The location couldnt be more covenient. Except for the upcoming April visit, we have always stayed in the same Lodge accomodations.

After hiking for 7-10 hours in the Rockies we love returning to the welcoming and very comfortable home style furniture in "our suite." And the bedding is very comfortable. Obviously we love that suite and always feel very at home in it.

Chris and Kimberly are very thoughtful people and jump to help. Last summer, we took a side trip to Utah to replicate a 2001 photo of myself and my then 6 y.o. son in a canyon. He was 16 last summer. Chris told us exactly what time we should get up and go and suggested a route. The route took us directly into Vernal, Utah and we were there by late morning!! The drive was stunningly beautiful.

Chris made some hiking suggestions to a part of the Park we'd not been to. We had incredible hikes in there.

As I said, great location and great owners.

The housekeeping staff is also wonderful and very friendly. Our experience has been highly responsive to any request.

Counting the days until the next stay. We hope they never sell.

Room Tip: look at their site. call/email and ask questions. decide what you really want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishnut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel its self was nice. We felt very uptight and were ready to leave. We left a day earlier as we had probelms with house keeping and her kids that lived on the property. They were loud and noisy. Her kids kept peaking in the window. We felt like any little thing we did would get us thrown off the property. We went two days without tp as housekeeping never filled it. They just threw some of our food and drink stuff away. We were still charged our full rate. Even when we did talk to the front desk and emailed them about these problems they never replied. We wont be staying there again. They are not pet friendly, kid friendly, or friendly at all. Tons of rules and polices.

Room Tip: For couples its great but not a family trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neistasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed for only a night while visiting family nearby. What a gem! The bed was very comfortable, accommodations were very good. The view was amazing! I am looking forward to coming back and staying much longer. The staff members were all very pleasant and made the experience that much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a deck over the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.6 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
628 reviews
3.2 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,550 reviews
2.3 km away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
486 reviews
1.1 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
327 reviews
2.5 km away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Brook on Fall River? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Brook on Fall River

Address: 1900 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9107
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 12,428 - ₹ 17,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulder Brook on Fall River 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19 riverfront suites with private decks along the Fall River. Kitchenettes and fireplaces in every unit. Outdoor hot tub. Spa suites feature two-person jetted tubs with river views. One Bedroom suites have one-person jetted tubs.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boulder Brook on Fall River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Brook On Fall River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing