We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here every year without fail”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Idlewilde by the River
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“We stay here every year without fail”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Donna and Lloyd Claypool have become like members of our family. They are perfect hosts. The property is very scenic, and is well maintained. The location right on the river is great. Prior to leaving after our annual stay, we are sure to reserve our cabins for the next year.

We have never considered staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book Early in the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Lloyd and Donna are such wonderful hosts that one feels like they are at home when around them. They truly care about their guests, that they are comfortable, informed and feel welcomed in their little, intimate resort. We loved the wild life that roamed thru the grounds, the chairs that were down by the river where you could relax, read, drink coffee, have cocktails and just sit back and listen to the river rushing by. We had a memorable trip and will return to Idlewilde by the River. Thank you Donna and Lloyd.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycemlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa,Ok
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our trip to Estes Park, Co. was intended to be a vacation from the daily stresses of life and staying at Idlewilde by the RIver was just what we hoped for. We stayed in a little cabin right on the river. We were able to sit right by the river in Adirondack chairs and read, listen to the soothing sounds of the river and relax. The managers were extremely helpful with tips on attractions & restaurants. They also had a nice selection of books and games that could be checked out. The cabins were extremely clean and although they were small they were very comfortable. We enjoyed the screened-in porch with a porch swing. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammyto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Cozy, friendly, incredibly clean, simple, basic lodging at an affordable price in a beautiful location next to the Big Thompson River. My partner caught a 19.5" and 15 " trout in the river which made his entire trip. What more could you ask for at this price?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RioVirginGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.0 km away
Boulder Brook on Fall River
Boulder Brook on Fall River
#15 of 78 in Estes Park
358 reviews
3.9 km away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#32 of 78 in Estes Park
277 reviews
9.6 km away
Loveland Heights Cottages
Loveland Heights Cottages
#22 of 78 in Estes Park
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#13 of 78 in Estes Park
222 reviews
4.4 km away
River Stone Resort and Bear Paw Suites
3.9 km away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#33 of 78 in Estes Park
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idlewilde by the River? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idlewilde by the River

Property: Idlewilde by the River
Address: 2282 Colorado Hwy 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Located in beautiful Estes Park Colorado near Rocky Mountain National Park, Idlewilde By The River offers many different styles of cabins to meet your individual needs. Idlewilde is located on the banks of the Big Thompson River. The sound of the rushing water is highly audible throughout the resort during most of the season. With Idelwilde's close proximity to Estes Park, there are hundreds of specialty shops, galleries, and restaurants for your enjoyment. Rocky Mountain National Park's west entrance is just 1 mile from Idlewilde. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idlewilde By The River Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing