We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, will still visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mary's Lake Campground
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place, will still visit.”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This past weekend was my first visit since the county took over the campground. Being a tent camper that likes having amenities rather than roughing it, this is still a good place to go. Bathrooms and showers were clean (shower is $2 for 6 minutes), ice and firewood were reasonably priced at the campground store and it's a nice location.

My only complaint is that the campground did not monitor sites for occupancy limits. This was a family trip: my parents, my brother and his little girl and my husband and I... 6 people and 3 camp sites. Whereas many other individual sites had multiple tents and well more than the 8 people/1 car per site max - this made some areas very crowded and loud.

I'll still return to Mary's Lake Campground, but I'll say that I've marked down the tent site #'s for the ones that I think will be more distant and less crowded for future visits.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    30
    11
    22
See reviews for
61
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

If you own a motor home you will probably like this place. If you tent camp or have a pop up you will not like this place. The campground map is deceiving. I was in M127 the map shows the site right behind me to be a ways away. Actually their picnic table was 7 feet from my trailer. The camp sites are right on top of each other, there is nothing to divide a lot of the sites. Most sites do not have trees. Mary's Lake looks like you can walk across two small roads and get to it, but one is a major route on top of the dam. They have a lot of (to many) rules and regulations. It is very noisy and hard to sleep. If you are looking for a mountain camping experience find some place else. If you are looking for a place near Estes Park and don't plan to spend time in the campground this would be an okay place.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank firebob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I have camped at dozens of campgrounds over the past 40 years and have never had a worse camping experience. If you like no privacy, screaming children, absolutely no enforcement of the so-called quiet time then this is the place for you.
I cannot convey strongly enough my complete dissatisfaction with this campground.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jerrykoeneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DECORAH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We pitched our tent and camped there for four nights and had a marvelous time. The owners are in the process of installing new fire pits with grates and ours was one of the older ones. We needed a grate and within an hour they brought us one, and with it, we had a perfect time - sitting and cooking around the campfire. It was quiet - a little noisier on the weekends when more families with children camped. The children were having lots of fun and their laughing and playing never interfered with our camping. The campground has a new bathroom/shower/dish washing area which was close and very nice. One night as we sat around the fire, a few deer came close eating grass and laying down to rest. One faun came within feet of us. We also had a herd of 20-25 elk come through our camping area and we really enjoyed taking pictures and watching them. There was no danger as we kept our distance and they stayed away from us. We had hummingbirds and other birds to watch - respecting their space as the birds clearly had nests in the area somewhere. We would certainly return to this campground.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue49528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We are not experienced campers, but we thought the campground itself was decent compared to others we saw. The size of the campground is the biggest plus, and is much more reasonable than some of the monster campgrounds in RMNP. It's a good location between things to do in Estes, and RMNP. However, I will say after walking around the campground, we were disappointed in the tent site we had, as we were on a pile of rocks that made it almost impossible to stake our tent, and no solitude AT ALL. Other tent site towards the back of the campground by the RV sites were secluded, had trees/shade, and most of all were quite. We had three trailer campers parked near us (clearly they frequented the campground) that partied and were loud and drunk from sun up to sun down. Park Rangers were non-existent to quite the obnoxious campers down, and when we complained the loud party only continued. Appreciated the showers/toilets, however bathrooms became filthy after a few days and were not cleaned. And lastly, don't leave anything of value available for thieves because your stuff WILL get stolen. Even items of no significant value will get stolen.

Room Tip: Ask for secluded tent sites near newer bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newcamper00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
4.8 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 29 in Estes Park
1,038 reviews
4.3 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
603 reviews
4.1 km away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#34 of 78 in Estes Park
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Tiny Town Cabins
Tiny Town Cabins
#41 of 78 in Estes Park
72 reviews
1.6 km away
Mountain Shadows Resort
Mountain Shadows Resort
#51 of 78 in Estes Park
108 reviews
2.3 km away
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
Alpine Trail Ridge Inn
#7 of 29 in Estes Park
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Lake Campground

Property: Mary's Lake Campground
Address: 2120 Marys Lake Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-7932
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful valley at 8,050 feet and surrounded by the gorgeous Rocky Mountains, this campground is a stone's throw away from Mary's Lake. All types of campers, from big rig RVers to the adventurous tent-dwellers, escape from the city life here. This campground is the perfect destination for camping enthusiasts of all ages ...whether your ideal day is spent across the street fishing in the lake or onsite splashing in the heated pool, this campground is a long-time favorite of many who return year after year. The close proximity to the town of Estes Park for shopping or dining, makes the location one of the best in the Estes Valley. Amenities are plentiful with full hookups with 50 amp service, hot showers, laundry facilities, free Wi-Fi, a propane fill station, and a fully stocked camp store. It's easy to pass the time here with your friends and family while you enjoy all that Estes Park has to offer. This campground is open from May 15th - October 3rd. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mary`s Lake Campground Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing