We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong when planning a relaxing trip to the Baldpate Inn”
Review of The Baldpate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baldpate Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Estes Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Baldpate Inn treated us like family with luxury service and superb food and atmosphere! The view of the Estes Park Valley was amazing with the changing Aspen colors! Relaxing on their 1917 deck, with our complimentary beverages, brought us back in time and allowed for complete relaxation. Wildlife viewing and hiking opportunities around the Inn are abundant!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schreca737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

Baldpate Inn is a historic inn that has seen better days. The floors are bowed, the room we stayed in was not designed for a king bed, and I bumped my head on the angled gable ceiling that was over the king bed. (A twin bed would have worked in the room) Heavy smoke from the fireplace on the main floor poured into our room through the night, and we had to sleep with wet towels over our faces to keep out the smell. A family who worked as staff was noisy and kept us awake at night. That's the bad. The good is that when we related our problems to the innkeeper, she did not charge us for our stay.
Breakfast was good, but heavily weighted with three kinds of baked goods. No eggs, but fresh raspberries. A snack at night was yummy but only offered at 8 p.m., a bit too late. I wouldn't stay there again, but it might work for some folks.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LikeItLoatheIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Baldpate is like a club - one runs into people one has seen there for years, if you are staying there tea and such and cookies are provided as needed on the porch or in the library (where one can play games and watch TV) , the Park is but a stroll away and the view is spectacular. I love it, my aged father hates it. It is not a 5 star hotel nor a holiday Inn. One has to like its quirky charm, but if you don't mind sharing a bathroom and want lots of ambiance, this is the place for you is Estes Park.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les-agricutlteurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The location of the Baldpate Inn is certainly picturesque, though a hefty drive from the town of Estes Park. We paid a premium for a cabin which, unfortunately, did not have any of the views supposedly offered by the cheaper rooms in the main building. The place is entirely staffed by students, who were incredibly helpful and friendly but there was clearly a limit to what they could offer. This included some poor housekeeping skills - dead moths on the bathroom floor for days - and we waited at least two days for the hot tub to be fixed.

We were glad the breakfasts were included in the price as their current cost is $20 each. You get a lot of food for this, but not much choice. Equally, their dinner of soup and salad costs $14.25. The salad buffet was not overly generous though the soups were excellent. I must stress, however, that the chance to watch hummingbirds while eating a meal is (almost literally) priceless!

We had nicer dinners at other places, including Mary's Lake Tavern, and there was accommodation available closer to the National Park which presumably would not charge a premium for the musty Key Room and tenuous historical significance.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akhmatova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I recently stayed here for 2 nights while on a guided hiking trip in the Rocky Mountains with a small group. While The Baldpate Inn’s (TBI) address is Estes Park, it is a good ways out of town on South Highway 7 near Lilly Lake and Twin Sisters Mountain. I felt isolated here, but that is not TBI’s fault as our guides made all of the arrangements. I would not, however, stay here again, opting on my own to stay in more modern arrangements somewhere in Estes Park proper.

TBI consists of a main lodge with 12 guest rooms, most of which have shared bath/shower/toilet facilities. All of the 12 rooms have a sink en suite. Several of the main lodge rooms do, however, have en suite showers and toilets. The 12 guest rooms, along with the shared bath/shower/toilet facilities, are all on the top floor of the main lodge building.

The lower lodge level includes a large dining room and food prep area, a reception and lounge area with a large stone fireplace, the large key collection room, and a library/game room that includes a television with satellite service. There is a laptop computer with broadband internet available for guest use in a dark corner of the key collection room.

Also on the lower lodge level, there is a large outdoor covered seating area with views of the area. And the outdoor seating area and the outside of the dining room windows were lined with numerous hummingbird feeders, which were always busy. There were also 1 or 2 seed feeders attracting larger birds and chipmunks. It was a very relaxing place to sit and view nature; however, the hard wooden furniture was not very comfortable. The numerous hummingbirds were the highlight of my stay here.

TBI also has 4 individual cabins just a short walk from the main lodge. All of the cabins have a sitting area with fireplace. Each cabin has a minimum 2 night stay.

The entire lodge, guest rooms and cabins are nonsmoking and no pets are allowed.

A set menu breakfast is included in the room rate. Lunch and dinner are not included and consist of a soup, salad and bread bar.

My lodge room was very small and contained only a double bed under a steeply slanted roof, a chest of drawers, the aforementioned sink and a rocking chair. The floor was creaky wood. The reading light above the bed was laughably close to my head – we are talking inches here.

My room was hot in the late afternoon and well into the night and there is no air conditioning. Unfortunately the only small window did not have a screen so it was a choice between cooler air or bugs. I believe this was the case with all 12 of the lodge guest rooms. And yes, I did try to leave the window open but did get bugs in the room. Also, with the window open, some of the other guest rooms could see into mine.

The shared bath/shower/toilet facilities were not between the rooms but rather clustered together centrally to all of the rooms. There are bathrobes in the rooms for your walk down the creaky hallway.

At least one of the shared facility rooms had a full tub. Another had a large shower, but 2 other shower only rooms were little more than small closets and very cramped. I found the shared facilities to not be well attended by staff between uses and found used soap and hair in the showers. There may have been others but I only saw 1 shared toilet room on the guest room floor, which also was not very well attended.

I guess if you are into old creaky buildings with shared bath/shower/toilet facilities then you might be charmed by TBI. But it wasn’t for me and I cannot recommend it, but clearly I am in the minority here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
8.3 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,546 reviews
8.4 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
327 reviews
7.6 km away
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
The Ridgeline Hotel Estes Park
#21 of 29 in Estes Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
The Blue Door Inn
The Blue Door Inn
#5 of 29 in Estes Park
175 reviews
8.4 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#18 of 29 in Estes Park
486 reviews
8.8 km away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#24 of 29 in Estes Park
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baldpate Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baldpate Inn

Address: 4900 South Highway 7, PO Box 700, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Estes Park
Price Range: ₹ 9,549 - ₹ 15,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baldpate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baldpate Inn is key to enjoying serenity in Estes Park. With Rocky Mountain National Park as our neighbor, the log & lace feel of our 1917 National Register Inn pampers you with B&B accommodations in our main lodge guest rooms or our cozy cabins. Enjoy the front porch views, become fascinated by our collections of Keys and Photographs or savor our famous Soup & Salad buffet as you dine in our award-winning specialty restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Baldpate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing