We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Place is a dump & poorly managed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Place is a dump & poorly managed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were very disappointed in the quality of the rooms, cleanliness & service. They claimed to have a trout pond, but it was drained. They claimed to have a cowboy shoot out, but one of the cowboy's didn't show up 1 night and the next night the cowboy was so drunk he couldn't perform. I left there doubting whether or not they changed the bed sheets. Estes Park has many good lodges, but unfortunately, I cannot recommend this one.
Only good thing is the location. It's very close to downtown & Old Man mountain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Harris5917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    29
    12
    17
    44
See reviews for
36
56
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed at the Elkhorn for 2 nights from Wednesday - Friday. I was intrigued by the Elkhorn due to their website (which I noticed has now been changed) that advertised a trout pond , swimming pool and cowboys that sign around a campfire and do a shoot out for the little ones. I am not , nor anyone in my party , a particlular snob for accomadations and the cabin we rented , Alpine was adequate and suitable for our needs , but the kitchen was laughable as the stove only had 2 burners that worked and you could not tell what temp you were cooking on. There was one large trash can in the middle of the kitchen with no trash bag and our keys did not work. Otherwise the unit was fine. Unfortunately this property is majorly under maintained and is a shame that management does not do the thing required (and cheaply) to keep it up. My biggest complaint is in regards to the website that said there is a trout pond , has been drained for 2 years and a swimming pool , which looked it had been out of service for quite a while. The cowboy was extrenly inebriated at 4pm when I had the opportunity to speak with him. Biggest disspointment was when the kids saw the cowboy they all ran up to him and he ignored them. Further when asked when he would perform the cowboy said the other cowboy was on vacation, kids were dissapointed. For the $ we spent to stay their we could have done much better. Super shame as the property is outstanding and could be quite special if the management of this property acted like they cared.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JonathanRuttrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Estes Park hotels

North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My whole family agreed that staying at the Elkhorn Lodge was one of the highlights of our trip to Colorado. When planning, I'd looked into several dude ranches but they were super expensive. We were also looking to stay just outside of Rocky Mountain National Park, but again the options were pricey. Then I came across the website for the Elkhorn and I liked what I saw. Their description is honest; it's no frills. But it was everything I was looking for: affordable and clean rooms, horse stables right on the property offering a variety of daily rides, and a gorgeous view of the Rockies. We were just 4 miles from the eastern entrance to RMNP, and just a couple of blocks from downtown (touristy) Estes Park. For just $97 per night we had two bedrooms (one with a double bed and the other with two twin beds) joined by a private bathroom. The rooms were clean and pleasantly decorated. There is a river that runs through the rear of the property so we fell asleep and awoke to the soothing sound of the current. What the ranch might lack in modern conveniences was more than made up for with warm hospitality and good ol' cowboy fun. The first night we joined several other guests around the campfire while Roger, the awesome cowboy-in-residence, sang and played the guitar. The next day we enjoyed a hearty breakfast in the dining hall (delicious and very reasonably priced). Again, excellent service and hospitality. We went for a short hike up toward Old Man Mountain then got ready for our 2-hour horseback ride. It was nice that we didn't have to drive anywhere... just walked to the stables from the lodge. I need to mention that the stables are not run by Elkhorn Lodge, but are under management by another group. I'd say the only negatives we experienced during our stay was that we were kept waiting over an hour for our horse ride, and our particular guide seemed impatient and agitated at times. Other than that, the scenery was spectacular and the guide did share a lot of info with us about the local history, flora and fauna. After our ride we returned to the dining hall for the Chuckwagon Dinner and show. The food was delicious, stick-to-your-ribs buffet style on tin plates like the cowboys used. Then Roger got on stage and serenaded all the guests with more country music. (He performed solo that night though we're told he usually has another musician join him.) Midway through the performance, Roger engaged in a "shootout" with another wrangler (who lost because Roger had to keep singing afterwards!) After dinner we walked back towards the stables to check out the Hayloft barn (houses a bar and pool tables) and looked at the peaceful dusk scene of horses down by the river. Then we went back to the campfire for more singing and s'mores. I found my dude ranch experience and my husband, teenage son and tween daughter were all happy. Yee haw!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOaChim2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for 3 days in July on a family vacation. The accomodations of very simple - we stayed in a cabin that reminded me of my grandmother's house. If you are a person who requires AC and modern conveniences, this isn't the place for you. The accomodations are very rustic - not charming rustic that you pay a lot of money for, but rugged rustic. The great parts are that you can be as involved in activities as you want to be. We enjoyed nightly campfires and sing-alongs. There was also a really good band one night and a barn dance the other night. Elk wander through the property early in the morning, so that was quite a sight to see. Now, it is kind of like vacationing with a lot of friends/relatives - that can be great as long as your fellow travelers are pleasant to be around. Sadly, the last night, a real jerk of a guy made the last night super unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RailFan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband, two teenagers and I stayed at the Elkhorn from July 3 to July 7, 2001 and were very well pleased. We stayed in cabin D. In fact, we plan to make this an annual vacation spot. It truly is rustic and does need work, but that's why the management is working so diligently to preserve this historic locale. Jim and Jessa were friendly and have an obvious dedication to the Elkhorn.

From the spontaneous trip the staff provided up Old Man Mountain on the 4th of July to watch fireworks to just sitting on the porch to chat, we felt the staff and management were always concerned with our satisfaction. We were not looking for a ritzy place to spend our vacation. We wanted some place clean and pleasant. Our cabin fit that bill.

If you are looking for the feel of the old west at a place where the people care about your satisfaction -- above and beyond the $$ you bring -- we would definitely recommend the Elkhorn Lodge!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 km away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 km away
The Golden Leaf Inn
The Golden Leaf Inn
#2 of 21 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Misty Mountain Lodge
Misty Mountain Lodge
#9 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 km away
Riverview Pines
Riverview Pines
#32 of 77 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 km away
Murphy's River Lodge
Murphy's River Lodge
#7 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch

Property: Elkhorn Lodge and Guest Ranch
Address: 600 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,796 - ₹ 8,796
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elkhorn Lodge is the oldest continuous operating lodge in the Rocky Mountain region and is the most historical property in Estes park. Dating to 1874 when Reverend McCreary from Ft. Collins built a small summer cabin on what was to become the Elkhorn property, to today's struggles to save and restore this jewel of the West, the Elkhorn Lodge has been and continues to be a major part of Estes Park. With a fully functioning main lodge, cabins galore, and several spacious buildings for large parties, there's accommodations for any and all at the Elkhorn Lodge and Ranch. And Don't forget about the horseback riding! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Lodge And Guest Ranch Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing