We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the pics”
Review of Oceanfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Crescent City
Nooksack, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the pics”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We looked at this motel on line and were fooled by the pictures. We wanted oceanveiw room with jacuzzi tub, which they could accomadate for $140, it sounded great, but what a disappointment. The grounds were trashy, cleanliness of the motel was poor, dirty carpets, unsightly pool and spa area. Staff consisted of one young girl trying to do everything herself, checkin, laundry, answer phones, etc. Not really her fault, but she was not very professional or knowledgeable. She said there was wifi in the rooms, but our room was too far away from the router so it did't work. We checked in on a Saturday evening and there was no managment there all weekend. When we found little black bugs crawling all over the shower in our room I thought it was time for a discount or compensation, but the new girl at the counter could not do anything for us exept take down our complaints and phone # so the manager could call us, never got a call or so much as a sorry from anyone. Don't be deceived by the pics or prices, it's a dump.

Room Tip: The king suites with jetted tubs are not suites, just small rooms with bigger tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    105
    96
    52
    67
See reviews for
116
177
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay and really liked the views. The location is a little off the beaten path, but overall a good place. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We have been there so many times and i can say it's much better than when it was Hampton. The food was extremely yummy and there were sausage, sausage patties, hard boiled eggs and french toast. There were at least 6 different kinds of fruits-watermelon, cantaloupe, orange, green apples, red apples and bananas. Muffins, coffee, bread, waffles, yogurt, cereal, milk, hot chocolate. The price was a bit high but i think it was worth it. The view was spectacular. I have traveled throughout california many times on business trip but never found a view better than that in front of Oceanfront Lodge. The room was very clean and wonderful. The staff was very welcoming. I would love to come back again.

Room Tip: i recommend room 313, 321, 212
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miahh221221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We checked in and got a suite with a spa tub...it was very disappointing. Neither the spa or the bed faces the ocean view... and there was no seating in the room other than the bed. When I called the desk they told me that all of the sofas are being replaced in the hotel so that is why no sofa or chairs in the rooms. And when I realized that the internet didn't reach as far down the hall to the location of the suites, I called the young lady at the desk who suggested that I sit in the lobby with my laptop. So, lets see... $170 for a weeknight, with no internet, no seating and basically no view unless you stand at the door... I don't think so. I left the room 5 minutes after opening the door and then the young desk lady advised me of no refunds. Finally she called the manager at home and after I spoke with him (and advised him of the fact that I spent less than 5 minutes in the room) he reluctantly refunded the room.. Go look at what your paying for here BEFORE agreeing to stay.. a bit of smoke and mirrors going on! also the Bayview right in the middle of town has the same spa tub in the room for less than $100 night.

Room Tip: ask about wi-fi and ask to see the room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

What a great find! I struggled to find a reasonably priced accommodation that would be close to the ocean. Well, this hotel almost sits on the ocean. The room had an amazing view of the water and offered a great sight of the sunset. The room was clean, the pool comfortable (sure, the water could have been a bit warmer but no big deal), and the experience serene. We enjoyed the hot tub, walks along the ocean, and admired the scenery. Because we were there in Dec, the price was very reasonable and few other people came into our view. Peace and quiet - exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crescent City
1.3 km away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.1 km away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
33.1 km away
Best Western Beachfront Inn
1.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Lodge

Property: Oceanfront Lodge
Address: 100 A St, Crescent City, CA 95531-3621 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Crescent City)
Region: United States > California > Crescent City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Crescent City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,337 - ₹ 13,313
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Lodge, only 30 feet from the edge of the rugged Northern California coast, is the premier hotel in Crescent City, CA. During your stay, enjoy sweeping ocean vistas and a spectacular view of the famous Battery Point Lighthouse from one of our modern comfortable guestrooms. Our gracious hotel is also located in the heart of scenic Redwood country-truly an outdoor lover's paradise where hiking, fishing, bird-watching, and whale-watching opportunities are plentiful. Our inviting rooms are designed for comfort and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oceanfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Hotel Crescent City
Hampton Inn Crescent City
Crescent City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing