We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A place of refuge for your own essence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
Ranked #3 of 7 Honaunau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place of refuge for your own essence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I travelled to Hawaii to swim with dolphins with two girlfriends. We wanted to tour the island and play it by hear so we had only booked 2 nights prior to arrival. Our first impression was not conclusive but as we enjoy welcoming the best in life, we kept our minds and heart opened. We we not disappointed, on the contrary, we felt blessed to have found so a wonderful home for our loving hearts. DragonFly ranch is a perfect spot to get to the bays where you can easily snorkel and swim with dolpins. We were enchanted to exchanges smiles with dolphins almost every day. Everything was so much to our liking that we decided to extend our stay for the entire week. We were thrilled that the honeymoon suite, which was ideal for us three free spirits, was available.

Barbara is most generous and welcoming; she enjoys the Ranch and sharing this lovely place with her guests. A lot of the food served at breakfast and at dinner is grown on the land; you can taste the love from the garden to the cooking. Staff was helpful and playful; we shared good times improvising music and dance one night. Laughter was included.

The room was always cleaned by the time with got back from the beach with fresh towels. The outside shower was awesome with plenty of hot water for the three of us. Although a somewhat open concept with nature, it felt very private.

DragonFly Ranch is a vibrant yet raw nest for those you like connecting with nature, with other human beings and mostly with themselves, with their true essence. If you feel drawn to this B & B and it resonates, than open yourself up to the wonderful time you'll have. It is full of love all around. Marie-Claude Montreal Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    17
    7
    10
    12
See reviews for
27
58
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I thought I was just getting a room but at Dragon Fly, I became part of the family. Barbara treated us like queens. The organic gourmet food is exquisite. The staff are very friendly and loving. They met all of my requests far above my expectation.
Everything about dragon fly spells OPEN, GENEROSITY and SOUL FAMILY!!!!
Colette Ryder
Kincardine Ontario Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Dragonfly Ranch. While staying here is not for everyone, we had a lovely time. First, the staff is so genuine, caring and generous. They truly care about their guests and do everything they can to provide warm hospitality. The views are amazing, and snorkel gear is available to take to a nearby lagoon. While the accommodations are rustic (screens instead of window panes, etc.), the rooms are set up beautifully. If you are looking for an adventure, and for an upscale camping experience in mountains of Hawaii, this is a great place.

It is important to note that this is not a traditional hotel. However, I would strongly recommend spending at least one night here to see a different side of Hawaii.

Room Tip: For someone who is on the fence about staying here, I would recommend the Lomi Lomi Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I don't want to be mean, but I felt obligated to tell of my experience so others don't get in the same unfortunate situation. I made the reservation to stay for a few days hoping for a clean, healthy, ecofriendly visit. When we got to the retreat, we noticed cats and dogs inside and out. Also the place appeared in disrepair and poor upkeep; especially the withered flowers and greenery (not at all like in the pictures). I like animals, just not in my living space, plus my sister has a cat allergy. We couldn't stay because of the cats and had a very difficult and upsetting time finding another hotel that late in the day. When I told Barbara, she got mad and said, I knew you were not right for this place. I could never reccommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

After a week of corporate sterility at a well known timeshare, we came to this welcoming, friendly, a little bit earthy bed and breakfast. Here, my kids learned where their food comes from. They picked papayas, kale, beets, bananas, and even cut down some sugar cane. Then we all got to eat what they picked for dinner that night. While we were there we learned all the different ways to eat a coconut. It was a wonderful place and we felt like this was a home away from home. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Really look at their website to see if you can be dragon flyer. The give a pretty accurate idea of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honaunau
25.5 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
25.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
54.6 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.8 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
15.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
57.5 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center

Property: Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center
Address: 84-5146 Keala O Keawe Rd, Honaunau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96704-8418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honaunau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honaunau
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,623 - ₹ 19,262
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona, Hawaii eco-tourism. Upscale tree house spa hosts romantic honeymoons, B&B families, workshops. Dolphins, snorkeling/diving, labyrinth, birding, yoga studio, lomilomi massage. New 2 bedroom private mini-spa with wheelchair access. Pets. Children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dragonfly Ranch - Healing Arts Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing