We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Ho'ola B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 348
US$ 273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$ 177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$ 176
US$ 170
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 1,434
US$ 1,256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 743
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
136
39
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
39
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsbig islandwild pigsb beach morningfruitbeach towelsa great place to staypalm roomocean viewlocal sightsthe upper deckcovered porchleft earlytwo nightslocal kona coffeewished we could have stayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our first experience at a B & B so we weren't sure what it would be like. The hosts were very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the Lanai was amazing. They served lots of fresh fruit and entertained us with stories and great ideas to help us enjoy our trip more. They also had lots of swimming/snorkeling equipment that you can borrow for trips to the beach. Everything was great except that there were several roosters that crowed a lot at night which made it difficult to sleep. It would suit couples and friends the most.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great and had their own lanai and small fridge.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longingforsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hale Ho'ola bed and breakfast for three nights from February 7-10. The rooms are located on the first floor. There are three and we stayed in the Hibiscus suite. The room was well decorated with a queen-size bed. There was a private bathroom and private deck. The deck had a table with two chairs, a sidetable with an additional chair, and a refrigerator. From the deck, there was a partial ocean view. There are roosters next door which do make noise but they were not disruptive to my wife's or my sleep.

In the morning, breakfast was serviced on the deck on the 2nd floor. The view from this deck is an amazing full ocean view. The breakfast was fantastic each morning. It included approximately 7-8 different types of fruit. Some of the fruit coming from the trees in their yard. In addition, there were one to two different types of homemade breads. Lastly, there was a homemade casserole dish. Mary, one of the owners, was very sensitive to the guest food needs. She specifically asked what we liked to eat and tailored breakfast accordingly. During breakfast, Bob, the other owner, entertained the guests with stories and gave recommendations for our daily activities.

When we first arrived Bob gave us a restaurant sheet with all his recommendations for places all around the island. We ate at several of his recommended restaurants and they all were excellent. We paid $110 a night for our room and thought that was an outstanding value. From our room to the breakfast to the owners, everything blew away our expectations.

A big thank you to Bob and Mary for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smhjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed on the Big Island for 4 days on our Hawaii trip. Mary and Bob are very welcoming and helpful. Upon check-in we were given a list of all the local eateries, very helpful. Every morning we would get tips on the best way to do whatever we had planned for the day. Almost like having a personal tour guide of the island. Breakfast is at 8:00 a.m. everyday, and if you can't make it, they will provide a basket for you. They had beach towels, boogie boards etc that you could borrow. All the guestrooms are on the lower level. We stayed in the "Plumaria" room and had a private lanai, fridge, and walk in closet. We didn't use the lanai, as there were many spider webs. Breakfast was very good, and accommodating. Mary would make sure you like a dish before she served it to you. I recommend visiting the Green Sand beach. If we ever come to Hawaii again, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanaSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Friendly & helpful innkeepers, excellent breakfasts on outdoor deck, comfortable accommodations, good location for visiting Kailua Kona and driving around to Volcano National Park [2 hour drive]. Only complaint was next door roosters that crowed repeatedly starting at 3 a.m. Innkeepers trying to remedy that.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myweekendgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The hosts Mary and Bob made this B&B stand out as one of the best experiences of our visit to the Islands. We stayed there in October 2010 while visiting the Big Island and had an amazing stay. Mary's breakfasts were delicious, with local fruits hand-picked in their own garden, and the geckos that join the action are unforgettable. Overlooking a coffee plantation that stretches down to the ocean, you quickly forget that you're still in civilization. Modest yet very comfortable rooms ensure that your stay is as relaxing as it is energizing, and made our Big Island experience one that we will enjoy talking about for years to come.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thr3stripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews