We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, attractive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Location, attractive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Hotel Alburqurquerque is located very close to Old Town area which has traditional cultural, art, convention, and restaurants. There is ample parking. The lobby and restaurants are attractively decorated in SOuthwestern decor. We had breakfast in the restaurant twice and were impressed with its quality and quantity, a definite highlight. I had the homemade granola, layered with yogurt and a ton of fruit on top with strawberries, blueberries, and more. Starbucks coffee is the standard, both in the room and in the restaurant. There was a conference for Creativity this past weekend at the hotel, and it was Founder's Day in Old Town so the hotel was full. Since it wasn't the swimming season yet, the outside pool was being prepared for the coming season, but the hot tub was bubbling hot surrounded by a nice gated area as you go through the gardens, which has a nice fountain, roses, wisteria, on the covered trelllised canopy -a great location for a
party or wedding.

The front desk were accommodating, holding our luggage with security lockers and tags, giving maps, making recommendations, helping with traveling information, and making us feel very welcomed.

We had a standard room on one of the top floors which had a beautiful view of the mountains and hot air balloons hovering over the valley. Two doubles, tv with cable, nice accommodations with duvets, aveda products in the bathroom, coffee maker with Starbucks or tazo tea, wine glasses, corkscrew, and handsome southwestern decor. Mattresses could be updated to pillow tops, but that is sort of fussy on my part. Cleanliness was great.

We had the same rate as a groupon because it was a family event with at least a dozen rooms being set aside for this weekend. The price was really amazing for the quality, $109 plus taxes.
There was a groupon and livingsocial special for this hotel as well.

We have been to the Albuquerque area before several times, as well as staying in more traditional hotels in Santa Fe and Taos at different times of the year. This was one of the nicest experiences we have had in a hotel in this area. I would definitely recommend it and would come back again.

One hint, drink lots of water, bring eye drops, and be ready for possible high altitude/ high desert physical reaction. Never had this happen to us before, but felt it this time with light headedness, red eyes due to dust and wind, dry skin, and constantly thirsty. Get your water bottles, local water is chlorinated and you can taste it. However, the hotel has a small store, not operated by the them, but they charge a lot for bottled water - almost three dollars. We had empty water bottles from our goody bags that our family event had waiting for us, so sweet of them, so we went to the restaurant and they filled them with their water, didn't taste like chlorinated local, but from their purification system, for free. Also if you have breakfast in the restaurant, and get coffee which is limitless cups, they will let you take a paper cup of Starbucks Jo to go.

Room Tip: Top floors have a great view, but elevators can take time in the morning when people are checking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bostongirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for being our guest and completing a review. We are delighted that you had such a good stay. We hope all our guests experience all the things you mentioned because that is what we are about. We strive to make the guest experience one they will remember. Thanks again and please come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    500
    168
    68
    53
See reviews for
284
487
105
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Staying at this hotel was not a good experience. The rooms are nice and clean, it is very close to Old Town, and it is a beautiful hotel. But the reservation process and customer service was awful. I got there in the morning and understandably they did not have rooms. However, they made us wait until after 6:00pm to give us a room!!! The only thing they offered was a voucher for $15.00 per person. My friend had made her reservation 5 months in advance and they lost her room! They told her they would have it for her the next day in the morning, then at lunch, then in the afternoon at which point we decided she might as well continue to crash with us because she was leaving very early in the morning. Then they overcharged my other friend for the time we stayed there. Really??? We were there for a conference. The treatment, the customer service, and keeping things in order should have been a top priority!! I don't think I'd be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us. i apologize about the confusion you encountered and also that you had to wait for a room. We did have a huge conference as you mentioned and it took just a little longer to get all the rooms clean. No matter the situation, we should have had rooms ready for our guests. We will work with our staff to improve on this.
Customer service is a priority for us and I'm sorry that you did not have a good experience. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. I'm sure our staff will do all they can to make your next stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent 4 nights here recently for a conference and generally enjoyed my stay. The room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and nice towels in the bathroom. The balcony was small and didn't have any chairs on it, but was nice to have. The public areas of the hotel were very nice, with a beautiful courtyard and a nice pool area with plenty of chairs, though the pool wasn't open for the season yet. I ate in the more casual restaurant located in the hotel and found it to be reasonably priced with good food. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The location of the hotel is within a 5 minute walk to Old Town, which is very nice. There isn't much else in the area. It's also a short ride to the airport.

A few negatives: there was wireless internet throughout the hotel, but it was very spotty and often slow. I had trouble using it in my room. The walls are thin and I could hear people talking next door and in the hallway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chestnut683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has definitely improved since the last time I stayed--especially in the common and conference areas--but the rooms are still pretty much the same. Ours was very small (the "sitting area" consisted of one chair by a small table that wasn't usable as such because the coffee maker was on it), there was a place for a mini-fridge but no mini-fridge, and the television was a smallish old-school tube model. The bathroom was tiny (the largest surface for toiletry items was the top of the toilet) and the shower-head so caked in lime that the jets went in 15 different directions and flooded the floor of the room. There's also a very popular nightclub on the property, and when we returned home from dinner at 10:30 on Friday, there was no parking anywhere in the lot, so we had to park in an unlit dirt lot down the street.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. There are few hotels (other than old/run down motels) in Old Town in Albuquerque, and it's nice to be within walking distance of so much. But there's a fairly new Best Western almost across the street with more modern rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms on one side of the hotels have balconies and overlook Old Town. The rooms on the other sid...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank klh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thank you for your review and recognizing the improvements that we have made. A few of our rooms vary slightly in the floor plan, so you'll find the layout a little different. Our junior suites might have been a better selection for you. I apologize that one was not offered to you. I think you would have found these rooms to be much more accommodating to your needs. I will follow up with the shower head as this is part of our preventative maintenance so it should have been operating correctly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will address it immediately and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not a lot to look at from the outside, but nice lobby and friendly staff. Resturant has good food for the price, great waiters. how ever room 901 had a great veiw from the balcony, but tv's are not flat screen and using the coffee maker is quite a problem plugging in to a power strip. The beds were very uncomfortable, it was the first time in my life when I got out of bed with a sever back ache. My wife also said she did not sleep well in the other bed.

Room Tip: Check out room first and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryBElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us and apologize for the discomfort of our beds. Our Quality Assurance Inspector will examine the situation and see what can be done so that no other guests suffer a sleepless night. I'm sorry you had to experience this. We hope this does not discourage you from coming back for another visit. Our beds are often recognized in most reviews as being very comfortable. Our staff will ensure you have a restful night on you next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#38 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Property: Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,797 - ₹ 16,239
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing