We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic, funky and unique.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Artistic, funky and unique.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Imagine visiting an artist's home, decorated with a huge indescribable tower over the main gate and art and sculpture everywhere you look, indoors and out. Now imagine the artist built a dozen one and two bedrooms around the perimeter of the property for his artist friends to visit and live in. These apartments are where you will stay. The compound covers about a city block, the apartments form the perimeter and all have an outside entrance as well as an entrance to the central grounds.

Granted the property is old, but renovation is going on full speed. When we arrived the sign had just been damaged by a windstorm and stucco repair done in the fall was waiting for dryer weather to paint. If you do not let little things like this put you off you will have a wonderful stay. We almost walked away and are glad we didn't. Staff was friendly and nice, breakfast was good and cooked to order, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location is within walking distance to Old Town and less than a mile off the Interstate.

An vacant apartment complex next door has been purchased by Casas de Suenos and is being torn down and a large lot behind the Casas is the future site of a two story hotel to provide added rooms. This is a historic place to enjoy now and watch for the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and clean, but ask for a remodeled room if you have to have a new kitchen and/or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    89
    34
    27
    8
See reviews for
66
192
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Beautiful casitas with gardens, fountains cozy and welcoming main house. Great Breakfast. Blocks to Old Town. If you are staying in Albuquerque do yourself a favor and stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I don't know where to start, so I'll just give letter grades:

Service: F
Cleanliness: C-
Atmosphere: D

Where we're you folks that left a positive review staying, because it wasn't here! Never again will I stay here, or recommend to others. I'd rather stay at a Motel 6, at least I'd get a smile.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulQuinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was a beutiful B&B and the service was absolutely outstanding!! From the grounds to the front desk it was more then a pleasure staying there. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cute little B&B to stay at.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelymrsblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was a hard place to review, because of the extremes. The breakfasts were fantastic, served in a very pleasant room off the lobby. Not only are there all the hotel standards (yoghurt, granola, instant oatmeal, dry cereal, toast, bagels, coffee, juice, etc.), the cook came from the kitchen to take orders from each table for eggs any style, omelets (stuffed with a choice of cheese, onion, green chilies, red peppers, spinach, and mushrooms), pancakes, french toast, breakfast burritos (same choices of stuffings) and quesadillas (same choices), He then headed back to the kitchen to prepare the food to order. It was wonderful.

BUT - the picturesque buildings are very old and in need of repair. In fact, the excuse given when we asked about the lack of hot water in the bathroom wash basin was "the buildings are old". We got the same justification when we mentioned the dripping faucet in the kitchen sink. The living room blinds didn't close well and window ledges were covered in dust, probably because the windows didn't either. It appeared that, instead of repairs or remodeling over the years, occasional coats of paint were expected to suffice. "Dated" is a kind description of both the kitchen and the bathroom., though that ignores the tube mold.

On the other hand, the bed was quite good . We loved having a living room for our early riser in addition to the bedroom and kitchen, along with a tiny "office" space. The "bones" of the casita we were in were lovely - and would respond quite well to remodeling and refreshing. And the location almost adjacent to Old Town is perfect.

Would we go back, knowing what we know now? I can't decide about that, either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,693 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,637 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
730 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn

Property: Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn
Address: 310 Rio Grande Blvd SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-1477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,013 - ₹ 12,339
Hotel Class:3 star — Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk through the gates of this secluded adobe style compound, and discover the magic of Casas de Suenos. Built in the 1930's and 1940's, Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn features 20 spacious casitas, hot tub suites, glowing fireplaces, soft adobe walls, hidden courtyards, inviting patios and beautiful gardens that accentuate our Historic Inn. Our cooked to order breakfast served in a sunny garden/artist studio will greet you in the morning. Our courtyard with gazebo is perfect for your next wedding, reception or retreat. Celebrating New Mexico Arts, History and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas De Suenos Old Town Country Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing