We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bates Motel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casita Chamisa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita Chamisa
Ranked #10 of 15 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bates Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Arnold is a very nice older gentleman but is very regimented.The guest house was cramped, dated, not so clean and kind of creepy. The outside door from the "greenhouse" did not lock. The kitchenette is ancient and had frost several inches thick. There were 3 of us women that had made reservations and after returning after dark the first night decided we just coulndn't stay there. We packed up, left some money on the table and left. I like quirky and different, but all I can say is this place made us very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ishlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Room was clean and comfortable.
Trash was not emptied once during our 4 night stay, towels were not changed nor bed made. The room lacked ventilation. There was an old wooden screen door leading outside, that was held closed by a hook and eye, so we did not feel safe leaving the inside door open at night. There was a very old table fan with a grate covering the metal blades that had spaces big enough for your whole hand to fit in - I was terrified to move it once the fan was on - and it was very noisy.
The location can't be beat for the Balloon Fiesta. We had requested to have our breakfasts to go, but that wasn't available, and breakfast was only served at 8:30 (video at 8:00).
Arnold was very friendly.
If you can go with the flow, and don't worry about being any place in a hurry, this place could be for you. If you are looking for room service and luxury, you should pass on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

The B and B is ok, the location is awesome. The inn keeper is very nice, older, sharp but the rooms are dusty and I want to give other travelers a few heads up.
No daily service to rooms, innkeeper does not make beds, empty trash, freshen towels, etc. over the 5 days we stayed. Does not make breakfast if you are going to the balloon fiesta mass ascensions of the Balloon Fiesta. We did have breakfast , which was fine but he keeps his parrot in the kitchen and 4 cats roam the house, so we weren't thrilled to enjoy the breakfasts, I am sure it would be ok for some but not us. Also, allow 30 minutes before your first breakfast to view the video of inn keepers wife who was an archeologist who held a dig on the property where the Casita is and what they found. Kind of interesting.
Would recommend but the innkeeper could do a better job.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Meeting Arnold, the innkeeper, was a highlight of our recent trip to Albuquerque. He is a man with a lot of history and stories to match. Very interesting and enjoyable person who loves his wife as much as any person who has ever loved his wife. You'll just have to meet him to see what I mean. Be prepared, he is very endearing.

We stayed in the guest cottage for 4 days while we enjoyed the balloon festival. The location is ideal, and the directions by Arnold had us missing most of the traffic. Also, the location isn't far from Old Town either, it's an easy drive down Rio Grande Blvd.

The guest cottage has a queen bed, and two twin beds in another room, and there is a makeshift bed out in the greenhouse, which is attached to that same back bedroom. The arrangement is ideal for those traveling with kids. The furnishings in the cottage were dated, so if you are looking for something more elegant, you may be disappointed. However, for us it worked out perfectly. There is a kitchenette (with a story behind it) and it was the first time that I used a refrigerator that had a push button to open the door.

As described in other reviews, the home has a lot of history. If you ask, Arnold will show a short documentary type of video that shows the archeological dig on the property, narrated by his wife, Kit. The kids may get bored with it, but we enjoyed it immensely.

We were out the door every day before the sun rose to get to the balloon park and see the activities, so we didn't get to enjoy breakfast even once. As we were leaving, we did see some "remains" of it and it looked awesome. The fruit was served shaved, and the juice looks as if he freshly blended it, and he has sour dough that he showed us and claimed it to be 127 years old. I believe him. What a character.

This place certainly isn't for everybody, I understand that, but for those who are looking for an affordable place, kid friendly, with an amazing host in a great location and who can trade off plushness for comfortableness, you'll enjoy it here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

Arnold Sargent is an Innkeeper with lots of stories to share. Arnold's wife, Kit, was an archaeologist, and after purchasing the property in the 1970's, she discovered the site was a major historical find. Thousands of artifacts were found, and Arnold has thousands of stories to accompany. The lodging is quaint, unique, comfortable, private, low-key, and affordable. This is not the place to go if you want opulence or luxury. However, this is a wonderful alternative to the other uptight, snobby and pretentious B & B's that you find in Corrales. You will be made to feel at home, and welcomed.
A PERFECT PLACE FOR CHILDREN!! A wonderful indoor pool is available for the 'good' guests :)

  • Liked — The laid back feel, location, unique atmosphere
  • Disliked — The lack of some conveniences
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happycamper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#39 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Chamisa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Chamisa

Property: Casita Chamisa
Address: 850 Chamisal Rd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107-6408
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,273 - ₹ 6,218
Hotel Class:3 star — Casita Chamisa 3*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing