We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry we wasted our time on this”

Petroglyph National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 159.00*
and up
Albuquerque Sunrise Balloon Ride
Ranked #15 of 222 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Up to 15,000 petroglyphs or prehistoric rock art images have been found on the West Mesa volcanic escarpment, located along a 17-mile canyon outside of Albuquerque.
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sorry we wasted our time on this”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Between the blazing hot sun on black rocks, the signs warning of diamondback rattlesnakes, and the difficult trails (even at Boca Negra, which was supposed to be easy), we didn't spend long at this place. I wish we had spent the time doing something in the city rather than driving out to this spot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    480
    138
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A lot of fun...especially with kids!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Drove over with my family of 4 (wife & 2 kids ages 7 & 8) to the Petroglyph National Monument on a Friday morning after breakfast. It's surprisingly close to the downtown area. Make sure to stop at the visitor center just off Unser Blvd on Western Trail. The Park Ranger in the visitor center will give you some great information on Petroglyph's and even recommend where to go. He recommended that we go to Boca Negra Canyon a few miles north of the visitor center. Parking was $1 and at the time we went there were plenty of parking spots. In Boca Negra there are 2 "mountains" with 1 main trail at the first stop then 1 main trail and 1 small one at the second stop. Both have parking so you can drive over after the first stop. Each trail only takes about 30 minutes max but you can spend more time searching out Petroglyph's if you like. You start by climbing the volcanic rock and looking for Petroglyph's, you actually acend upwards a decent height before you come back down the looping trail. The park service is trying to start a cell phone information line where you call a number and at different locations they give you interesting facts about what your looking at. I tried it and it was pretty cool but unfortunatley its still in a test phase, hopefully they'll improve on it as I rather enjoyed it. My kids had a great time and had no problem climbing the trails. Definately alot of fun for a few hours of exploring.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guide4FamilyOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fascinating historical site”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This national monument has 20,000+ petroglyphs carved on large basalt (black lava) rocks by native peoples long ago. There are some easy trails that allow you to get up close to some of the petroglyphs, and more rugged hikes are also an option.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank coolcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Up close with petroglyphs”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We saw hundreds as well as birds and wildlife in just a short walk.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveBot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Extensive”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is actually a series of sites that you park and hike the trails. The easiest for accessibility is the Boca Negra trailhead - it has 3 separate places to walk and see the petroglyphs. All three trails are less than .5 miles, so easy to do. There are HUNDREDS of carvings into the basalt, and they are all exposed to the visitors - i.e. no glass / plastic to keep you at a distance. Really something to bring the family to appreciate.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sfairborne2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petroglyph National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Petroglyph National Monument? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing