We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to bad reviews. Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Corpus Christi
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews for this hotel. The check in staff was professional and friendly. I was surprised at the room after bad reviews. Our room was spotless, well made, cool, beautiful view of the gulf and I have definitely stayed in smaller rooms. If you want a great hotel on the beach forget the silly reviews and stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 345 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel is situated in a good location away from most of the traffic. The staff at the hotel are friendly and accommodating to your requests and needs. The hotel food is what one would expect for short order. The rooms were typical hotel beach rooms. Damp from the humidity but fairly clean. The swimming pool is separated from the hotel by an outside bar. A live band plays till 10:00PM which doesn't help if your trying to get your kids to bed. The pool area is often invaded by non hotel patrons which are loud and sometimes drunk from the bar. Which creates a somewhat awkward situation if your trying to enjoy the pool with your little ones. If you purchase the hotel package, be aware that free is not free. The free breakfast is totally misleading. The free breakfast is a discount which doesnt cover the cost of the meal. You are better off going to a local restaurant. The cost was also a bit high for the value they provided. The beach was also next to a public access which had quite a bit of overflow from the locals.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Travel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

We made the mistake of going labor day weekend so we ended up paying 293$ for a 1 night stay!!!(way too much) Not once has Holiday Inn ever charged my card before check in, they usually charge after check out, so much to my surprise my account was overdrafted before our trip even started. And being a priorty club member I chose the flexible rate as opposed to the advanced purchase rate. But like I said before, it was probably due to Labor Day weekend...it still put a damper on my vacation. Other than the financial situation, the location was great(right on the beach), the rooms werent anything special or luxurious, but we didn't care since we spent the majority of the day on the beach. After the beach we hung out at The Sandbar which was pretty cool, drinking poolside while listening to live music while next to the beach! The kids loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artsyfartsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Artsyfartsy84,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. I hope you enjoyed your vacation and are glad to hear you were happy with the hotel accommodations and amenities. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Not sure what the others are writing about.... This place is so ran down not updated the staff was rude after they took my money. Over priced for the service, the manager Lori just RUDE RUDE will never go back and I hope you dont go either. We checked out they kept my money! we went across street to hawthorn they were cheaper not great but better than holiday inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Bryan S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The hotel was older but very clean. The best part of the hotel is that it is the only hotel on North Padre Island that is right on the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our rooms were cleaned daily, even though sometimes it looked like they were in a bit of a hurry the way the beds were made. The only negatives were the elevators, which were very slow and very small and the lack of carts during check out hours. We checked out at 10:20, unfortunately it took almost a full hour to get a cart to carry our things to our car. We ended up taking them out to the parking lot to our car since the pull up area was so packed it would of taken us another hour to get a place to pull up.

Room Tip: Be sure to book early since the rates take a huge jump. If you book a room with a beach side view k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandlesInTheWind013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corpus Christi hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cor...
#37 of 79 in Corpus Christi
240 reviews
26.9 km away
Emerald Beach Hotel
Emerald Beach Hotel
#43 of 79 in Corpus Christi
578 reviews
29.7 km away
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach
Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Be...
#23 of 79 in Corpus Christi
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpus Christi Padre IS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Corpu...
#18 of 79 in Corpus Christi
547 reviews
3.0 km away
Best Western Padre Island
Best Western Padre Island
#5 of 79 in Corpus Christi
330 reviews
2.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Christi-N Padre Isl.
La Quinta Inn & Suites Corpus Ch...
#33 of 79 in Corpus Christi
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island

Address: 15202 Windward Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78418-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Corpus Christi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Corpus Christi
Price Range: ₹ 7,603 - ₹ 18,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Corpus Christi, Texas is North Padre Island s only full service hotel located directly on the Gulf of Mexico.Hand painted murals liven the inside and summer weekend entertainment livens the outside at our Sand Bar. Seasonal children s activities, an outdoor playground, and indoor game room create a perfect family beach vacation. Two large outdoor swimming pools overlook the natural beauty of the ocean and there are many direct beach access points. Both corporate and leisure guests will appreciate the meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom has a microwave and mini-fridge and many offer an ocean view and a balcony. The Beachside Grill and Lounge complete this perfect hotel package!Golf and tennis are less than 1 mile from the hotel. The USS Lex Aircraft Museum and the Texas State Aquarium are 22 miles away.Downtown Corpus Christi provides night life fun, fishing and sightseeing boats and bicycle rentals. Sports enthusiasts can watch a baseball or football game at Whataburger Field, a hockey game at American Bank Center, or Texas A & M Islander basketball. Fish from Bob Hall pier, kayak around Packery Channel, surf at J. P. Luby Park, boat around Bird Island, or walk the many birding trails in the Coastal Bend. Book your hotel reservation with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - N. Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corpus Christi - n. Padre Island Hotel Corpus Christi
Corpus Christi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing