We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Based on the number ranking and some of the reviews, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very nice, could use some updating, but generally very nice. We had a king room, nonsmoking, away from the atrium. On Saturday, we received a notice that there was a big party in the atrium that night and an offer to switch rooms. We stayed put and didn't hear a thing once the door was closed. Only complaint - bathroom was very small.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 526 and it was far enough away from the atrium to be quiet. If you want a quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    160
    46
    44
    13
See reviews for
105
84
26
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Sopnisticated but homey, room was clean and spacious. Nice restaurant on site with beautiful views. We were in town to visit our granddaughter at U. of Utah and attend an on-campus ballet performance. Hotel provided free shuttle service to and from campus anytime we needed. Drivers were friendly and accommodating, as were all staff. Check-in and -out efficient.

Room Tip: Mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxietheRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This Hotel was assigned to me by the Customer because of a rate agreement. Wait till my Customer finds out they wouldn’t honor the agreement.

Dealing with the Front Desk was a disaster. Everyone had a different view of the rules. The really good reading is at the bottom of this review.

My room was fairly small with a single Queen size bed that I sunk halfway to the floor in. Definitely not comfortable. Bathroom was also quite small with not so great water pressure. The room was definitely not worth $167.77 per night.

I used my Smart Phone for e-mails, and reading online news because I refuse to pay $10.00 a day for WiFi that other Hotels give you for Free.

When I saw the prices in the restaurant, I decided to eat else ware.

How about a complimentry cup of coffee from the lobby on your way to work? You won't get it here.

Now for the interesting stuff. Here are the Facts. You decide.

My Credit Card Co. called with a Fraud alert on Friday Morning. Seems someone tried to charge $160.00 worth of Music to their iPhone. (It was declined) 10 minutes later a charge of $35.00 and change came from the Marriott / University Hotel. I asked the Front Desk why someone would charge $35 to my account in the middle of my stay, and what was this charge for? They have the charge on record as charged, and declined. (I stopped it). No one knew who or why, and no one was concerned that it was declined. After hours of asking, I was told I would have to wait until Monday. That was it. I moved to the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
park city UT
Level Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is a pretty tired old Marriott that could use a serious update. The rooms are dated; in fact the whole place is dated. It's in a good location if you need to be near the University or if you have business in Research Park, but otherwise there are far better places to stay in Salt Lake. The service was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family who live just south of junction of I-80 and 215. Most convenient location (previously stayed at a downtown hotel). Hotel was more than satisfactory - room was slightly above average, beds were comfortable, bathrooms are on the compact side (though clean), and the view from the valley side was great. Exercise room early in the morning was not crowded and equipment functioned well. Didn't eat any meals there so no opinion. Did find staff friendly and pleasant. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: View on the Valley side very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoAvsPuckhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
5.0 km away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.0 km away
University Guest House & Conference Center
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
5.4 km away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#21 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Lake City Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City Marriott University Park

Property: Salt Lake City Marriott University Park
Address: 480 S Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108-1211
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,912 - ₹ 20,283
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Lake City Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salt Lake City Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City University Park Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing