We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Hotel, Modest, Neat, Convenient”
Review of Carlton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #50 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Beautiful location, charming pension, modest and old, the Hampton it ain't! Good value with many extras- free hotel shuttle which also hits some downtown locations . Exercise room. Underground parking. Free wi-fi. Full English breakfast made to order. Caution: easy to do low -carb if you don't succumb- the pancakes are as big as frisbees! Expect older furnishings and some vintage smells. This is not a frou-frou Victorian rehab with silk flowers and raffia. The rooms vary- we had a kitchenette which came in handy for reheating take-out. Suited our needs perfectly for doing research downtown. I will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0binski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

I've been staying in national parks for the last ten days so after reading the Tripadvisor reviews of this hotel I was expecting a solid hotel visit that would be a welcome change from the cabins we've stayed in. I was wrong.

Check in folks were fairly friendly, but the service we received at breakfast was a hair short of rude. The biggest problem was the lack of cleanliness in our room. Our cabins at Grand Tetons were much better! Blinds were dusty, bathroom floor was sticky, and the whole room felt grimy. The whole hotel is just plain "tired" and needs a complete overhaul.

Bottom line: don't stay here unless you don't mind grungy rooms with zero charm.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chi-mommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I've been on the road since 1967 traveling for business and pleasure and it isn't often you find a gem. No pool, no fancy restaurant. So what's the attraction? Clean, neat, friendly.
They will pick you up at the airport and do whatever they need to to help make your stay enjoyable. The breakfasts are great and made to order.

This family owned hotel treats you like family and you look forward to returning because of the ambiance. It's like a European small hotel. IT's located 5 minutes from the UTA which can take you to the ski areas.

Would I stay there again....I do twice a year when I'm in SLC and will again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marty127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We wanted to stay in a place at walking distance to Temple Square, and the Carlton fit the bill perfectly. It is nothing fancy but a little, tidy hotel that looked as if it were family run. Moderate price that included a great made-to-order breakfast.

We got a large room with kitchnette (not necessary for us, anyway) on the first floor. Everything was clean. No views at all from the windows (alley).

Staff at front desk very friendly and helpful when being asked for advice on restaurants nearby.

Parking space was available for free but the entrance was very narrow and the parking garage itself was really small. It discouraged getting the car to go anywhere during the stay. But since we wanted basically to visit the Temple Square area, we didn't need the car (it's half a block away).

Very good value. Ideal for an overnight stay in downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Initial impression at check in was very good.
However, once we got to the room, our impression was another.
The room was beat up and dirty. There were disgusting stains and burn holes on everything –
the rug, the walls, the linen…
The toilet looked like it had overflowed, and there was dried feces around it.
We called the front desk, but there was no answer, so we made the best of it for the rest of the day and went sightseeing.
When we returned at night, the pillows smelled like old cigarettes.
We had to sleep with our clothes on because the beds were so wreaking of smoke and unsanitary.
The windows would not open. Even worse, the ventilation was pumping in rancid smoke from the rest of the building. The next day we noticed derelicts smoking around our room entrance.
We told the maid, but she didn’t seem to care.
A short man in a suit appeared and assured us that everything was OK, and that the smoke problem was taken care of, but the damage had already been done. We spent several hours at the local laundry just washing out the stench and sanitizing our clothes.
We had expected that things would have changed based on what we were told in the morning, but the next night was the same all over. We were going to stay several days, but decided the problem would continue on and on.
Not a bad visit to Salt Lake City, excepting the foul odor from this place,
which got into our clothes, cost us extra money and time - and ruined our initial Salt Lake City stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank Zero4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.9 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#39 of 76 in Salt Lake City
501 reviews
1.2 km away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downt...
#10 of 76 in Salt Lake City
336 reviews
0.7 km away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 76 in Salt Lake City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#32 of 76 in Salt Lake City
311 reviews
0.6 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.6 km away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 76 in Salt Lake City
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 140 E South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84111-1186
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: ₹ 4,395 - ₹ 6,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Salt Lake City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing