We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not Disappoint”
Review of Red Iguana

Red Iguana
Ranked #5 of 1,404 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will not Disappoint”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The 39 minute wait outside in the cold was made better by heaters and hot cider. The food and service are fabulous. Too many menu choices just means that we'll be back!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank RickMCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,151
    679
    219
    64
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place has fantastic Mexican Food”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My family has been going to RI for over 30 years. The food has always been fantastic. About 25 years ago, right before my wife and I got married we visited there and the reputation was lame service. The service now is fantastic. My mouth is watering just thinking about tacos. I love to take visitors to Salt Lake to this place. I love that there is always a wait and a long line. It helps remind me this is one of Salt Lake's best kept secrets.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hands down, my favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I have been going to the Red Iguana for many years and have never been disappointed. Love the lunch specials because they are things outside of the regular menu. Fun way to try new things.

  • Visited August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“BEST MEX”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

There are a lot of Mexican restaurants that really only serve American Mexican food. If you want original Mexican, The Red Iguana is your place. Forget the décor, you are there for the food. And it's great.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bww1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Different but good!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had local friends recommend this place. We went knowing it would be an hour wait. Free valet is a win! Food was something I had never had before... a twist on traditional favorites. Tasty and fun atmosphere!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank mkheidiiversen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Iguana also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Red Iguana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing