We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good restaurant inside Salt Lake City Hilton Hotel”

Spencer's for Steaks and Chops
Reserve with OpenTable
Spencer's for Steaks and Chops is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 1,505 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Fine dining steak house modeled after a prohibition era speak easy. The original all Prime beef steak house in Salt Lake City! Excellent hand cut steaks, chops and seafood selections. We feature hand crafted cocktails, local craft beers and an extensive wine list with over 350 selections available!
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This was a very convenient option for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. Both of us had shrimp entrees and they were wonderful. Highly recommend.

Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

$70 ribeye was not cooked medium as ordered. My soup spoon was missing. Basically, the staff is not trained to serve in high- end restaurants. They gave us 25% off because we actually complained, which we never do. When we got the steak back it was more well-done than medium. Sent it back. Bad experience, very bad

Thank Authenticityseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

I stay at the Hilton SLC often for business and just went to Spencer's for the second and last time. Both times the service at the bar was very slow. I sat at the bar for a quick glass of wine and appetizer. 45 minutes later I asked the bartender if he put my order in, which I don't think he did. The food was mediocre and the price was crazy. Not worth it for the convenience to the hotel and it made me consider staying elsewhere in the future.

Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy_Gow, General Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Erin D,

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations when you have dined with us. I will be sending you a private message to follow up on your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as we are always trying to improve our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We've been there twice in the last 6 months, and each time has been excellent. The steaks are second to none - we had filets. Extensive wine list! Looking forward to our next visit. Both of our recent visits have been for dinner, but we would like to try lunch. Excellent downtown location with valet parking - very upscale dinner room and formal setting. Great for a romantic dinner or business meeting. On the expensive side, but if you have the money to spend, and want to impress, this is a great choice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimbob1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy_Gow, General Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear jimbob1101,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback as well as visiting us multiple times over the past few months! I love that you touched on our filet and our wine list. Our culinary team cuts all of our filet mignon in house to make sure we get the best cuts and we are proud to have recently received the Wine Spectators Best of Award of Excellence for our wine list in 2017!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Spencer's entrees are perfection. Beef is cooked to order, side dishes are compatible, wine pairings are complementary. Often there is a seasonal salad, the chef's innovation, and it never disappoints.

I've had buffalo osso buco, a watermelon and jicama salad, pork belly on almond brittle with homemade boysenberry jam. Everything has been delicious, different, and delightful.

Go. Treat yourself to a good, good meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k38589189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy_Gow, General Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear k38589189,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. It is great to read that everything was cooked to order and you enjoyed some of Chef Sebastian's specials.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spencer's for Steaks and Chops also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Spencer's for Steaks and Chops? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing