We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, excellent service, great food, good prices.”
Review of Bombay House

Bombay House
Ranked #3 of 1,404 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 17
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Eating at Bombay House is about much more than just food. It is a complete cultural submersion for all five of your senses. The rich aroma of exotic spices; the rhythms and songs of an ancient culture; warm, intimate lighting; vibrant murals portraying scenes from Indian life and legend; oven-toasted flat bread warming your fingers as you tear a piece to eat; the exquisite flavor of sumptuous food cooked to perfection and served with the same care and courtesy extended to family and guests of the highest honor. Bombay House is about providing you with a truly exceptional experience.
Murray, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Casual, excellent service, great food, good prices.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had one glass of house white wine, two Kingfisher beers, the deep fried vegetable poraka (deep fried vegetables and chic peas with two sauces. (excellent). Service was polite, efficient and friendly in a comfortable atmosphere.

For the meal we ordered mildly hot vegetable masala (hot might have been too hot and I like things spicy) and the chicken bollywood mild. It came with white rice. We also ordered the garlic naan bread and it was so good we had seconds.

I'm mostly vegetarian, so I think this will be my go to restaurant for those choices in the future.

All service was provided by friendly and efficient males. Food was delivered quite fast. We ate on a Wednesday evening and the place was about half full.

I honestly can't think of anything to complain about. Food was great, prices reasonable, service fast and efficient, great atmosphere and we even had enough left over to take a box home for later.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcmorse6570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    144
    39
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salt lake city
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a wonderful place to eat and enjoy a different cuisine in a very nice setting. Every effort is made to explain things that might not be familiar to the uninitiated. Friendly folks in turbans make this fun for everyone...including my 98 year-old mother.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whoopsieutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport RI
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bombay House continues to be great”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I recently got back from our yearly ski trip to Salt Lake City. We always like checking out the local restaurants and revisiting our favorites. One of those is the Bombay House. We like good Indian food and are never disappointed. There are a wide variety of choices and it’s always well seasoned and tasty. I like hot food while my wife likes mild so appreciate being able to order different levels of spiciness (from mild to hot). As someone said, the choices are fairly “standard” Indian dishes but we don’t get Indian food all the time so it’s nice to recognize choices we like. Another important thing is that the atmosphere is wonderful and relaxing and lets you feel you are in a different world for a little while with the décor, background music and aromas. We like to go earlier for dinner when it’s less crowded as this restaurant can get crowded at the popular dinner times. It’s always interesting talking with the waiters and often one of the brothers that own and operate the restaurant. We really liked the Bombay House, Tucci’s and PF Chang’s but think we are going to take Red Iguana off our list.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I think Bombay House has been rated so highly simply because it was among the first Indian restaurants in town. There are so many other places that are better, with better atmosphere and better food. The wait is always long at Bombay House and there really isn't anything that stands out about the menu items. They serve pretty typical Indian food. In general, I find them underwhelming and overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geo_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you are looking for something different and into spicy food this is the place to go. You can get your food as spicy as you like. You can choose Mild, Medium, Hot and Extra Hot. I preferred the medium which wasnt all that hot but very tasteful and enjoyable.

I also sampled a hot chicken dish which was very good also and not too hot.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MDBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay House also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Bombay House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing