We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
764
365
101
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
365
101
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour yoga mat monte carlo suite animal print robes majestic suite wine reception salt lake complimentary wine mini bar temple square valet service room service within walking distance corner room heart of downtown an upgrade convention center
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I love that the renovation kept a vintage feel to the decor while upgrading the bathrooms. We were in the heart of downtown and walked everywhere. The free loaner bikes were handy and if we wanted a more rugged bike, the bike rental stand is just across the street. What a welcoming hotel for those travelling with dogs! And THANK YOU for the generous complimentary happy hour!!! We didn't have much time for socializing so this free perk was convenient and enjoyable in your lovely lobby.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank crankychihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the nice comments about our central downtown location, complimentary Public bikes, pet friendliness, and complimentary evening wine and beer reception. Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Travis Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Hotel Monaco is centrally located in downtown Salt Lake City. Valet park your car and walk to the theater, dinner and breakfast. The hotel has a great happy hour with free wine and beer. We stay at the Monaco every other month because we live an hour out of Salt Lake and have season tickets to a local theater. It is a mini-vacation not to drive canyon roads at night. Lots of restaurant choices. Prices vary a great deal with less expensive rooms on the weekend. If you have flexibility make sure to check out their calendar of availability and prices. Street parking is available but if something is happening in downtown you are going to be circling the hotel for awhile! They also take dogs....Rooms are small but nice. As a Kimpton member you receive free wifi-otherwise, not sure. Bambara is the hotel restaurant which is usually very good, expensive, but pretty good. On our last visit the service was very spotty with lots of incorrect orders for both dinner and breakfast. There are lots of other choices to try so you might want to step out until consistency returns. Eva's is down the street and has a lovely cup of coffee and pastry.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco when you come to Salt Lake City. We appreciate your loyalty and love seeing guests when they return. Thank you for the nice comments about our central downtown location and complimentary evening wine and beer reception. As you mentioned, wireless access is complimentary for all Kimpton Karma members and the program is free to join. Thank you for the feedback about Bambara. I have shared it with our restaurant manager and chef. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Salt Lake City.

Travis Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Good location in downtown.

Can confirm what some other reviewers have stated, that the rooms are small, but this was not an issue for me. I was able to hear the elevator going up and down throughout the night and am not sure if this was because I was on one of the top floors. It's not abusively loud but was something that I noticed. Had no problem sleeping however and enjoyed the comfortable bed.

Room service was fast and my meal quite tasty.

Three stars is "average" and four stars "very good" on TripAdvisor. This Kimpton fits in between with 3 1/2 stars - good.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 2011Traveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the feedback about the size of your guestroom. As you mentioned, as a historic bank building some of our guestrooms are on the smaller side but we do have a number of larger guestrooms and suites to choose from for those guests that would prefer more spacious accommodations during their time with us. Thank you also for the feedback about the sound of the elevator. While we do have a few rooms per floor that our close to our elevators we have happy to place you away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper. I hope we will see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Travis Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Oh dear! Not a great start to our visit to this hotel. On arrival we had to search for the valet, struggle our four cases through the manual double doors to reception (we were only asked if we wanted help once we were through the doors) and check-in with a disinterested receptionist who forgot to give us our (paid upfront) breakfast vouchers; so far the antithesis of the advertised Kimpton experience.
Next our room was on the small side - I have since read a response from the hotel that they are restricted by the bank building the hotel was converted from - but we were okay with this, as you can pay a lot more for a smaller room in London.
Unfortunately the room ( for reference it was 1401) seemed to amplify every mechanical grind and thud of the lift (even though it is actually next to the stairs!) and kept us awake most of the night.
In the morning we spoke to Sierra on the front desk who did embody everything Kimpton is trying to sell. She was helpful, understanding and friendly. After a 5 minute conversation with her we were moved to a quieter room on the 15th floor and received a genuine apology for the disturbed night's "sleep".
The rest of our stay went without a hitch until checkout where we again had to struggle with our bags through the double entrance (in fact another guest ended up holding the door!) and received the incorrect charges for our pre-booked (on the Kimpton website) stay...after some checking from the guy on reception we received a refund for the difference.

Rooms: Clean but smaller than other equivalent Kimpton hotels.
Staff: Not great except Sierra who I would recommend the manager clones.
Location: In the middle of Salt Lake City. Near decent restaurants and close to two shopping centres.
Tip: Avoid 1401

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CCopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the valets during your stay. I agree that our double doors can be difficult to navigate. I have shared your review with our bell and valet manager. Together we will work with our valet staff to make sure they are more vigilant about opening doors for our guests. I am sorry to hear that you heard some noise from the elevator in room 1401 but am happy to hear that Sierra helped you find a new room. I agree that she is excellent. I hope we will see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.

Travis Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

The Kimpton Monaco was the perfect hotel for NCAA March Madness this year. Not only did they have a wall-size bracket in the lobby, but the Northwestern basketball team was staying there, so you can imagine the triumphant buzz when they won in the first round! The Wildcats' marching band was outside the hotel to cheer them on. We had a large room with no view, but we expected that since the hotel is in downtown SLC. Bed was comfy, but bathrooms and shower need a serious update. The staff is generally upbeat and willing to share local restaurant recommendations. Happy hour always makes Kimpton a cheery place to be.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your recent visit to Salt Lake City. Thank you for the nice comments about our staff, comfortable bed, March Madness décor and complimentary wine hour. We appreciate your feedback about the bathroom and will keep that in mind the next time our hotel is renovated. Hopefully we will see you again next time you're in Salt Lake City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews