We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, but lousy Internet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kansas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean, but lousy Internet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here, rather than within walking distance of my edge-of-downtown business destination, due to surprisingly high hotel rates the week I was there for some reason. The location was still plenty convenient; just a few minutes from the airport, and the same from downtown.

The interior and rooms both were clean and looked fairly new. Nothing was shabby. The place was quiet. I never felt unsafe there.

Two major issues happened, however. One is that the Internet got so slow that it was unusable every evening. It was fine in the morning, but not so in the evening. Staff were unable to help. A later complaint revealed that they were aware of the issue and "working on it", but it seems like more attentive care could have detected and prevented oversubscribing their line.

Secondly, the person in the room next to mine, started smoking. This is a non-smoking hotel, and due to allergies, I am sensitive to smoke. A visit to the front desk produced a response to take care of the issue immediately, so in expectation of that I returned to my room rather than go through the hassle of asking to move. Nevertheless, the smoke smell did not abate until the following morning. I do not believe that the staff followed up very well to ensure that guests complied with their policy while in the hotel.

I did not bother with the free breakfast. I'm sure it was fine, but although the area was furnished more nicely, the food itself looked nothing different than you'd find on the free food at a Super 8. I stopped at Einstein's on my way to work instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiecode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Prariecode,

We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of our wireless internet service. We have replace the router on the system that was giving us intermitent trouble and have have tested the system at various times of the day to make sure it is working correctly. We apologize that it did not consistently work well during your stay.

Please accept our apology for the smoking violation you experienced. We try to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guests and do our best to enforce the rule, however there are occasionally guests who do not comply and we apologize that the situation was not handled more efficiently. If you return to the area we hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing the level of comfort and service that you deserve.

Thank you,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    280
    66
    21
    8
See reviews for
236
209
43
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The overall feel of the hotel is dirty. The shower was dirty and the carpet was too. Won't go back.

Room Tip: Pick a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjett30169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Jjett30169,

Thank you for staying with us. I am very sorry you had an unpleasant experience with us. We take the satisfaction of our guests very seriously and I apologize if my staff missed anything. If you would like to reach out to me at 801-741-1110 I would be very interested in hearing about your experience and making it right.

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The location is not the best for walking around the neighborhood. In fact, I would advise not to walk around the area. However, it is very close to the airport and all locations of interest.
The hotel is VERY clean and if you want clean in your hotel, this is it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great service. Clean, comfortable environment. The problem with this hotel is the location and security. My car was broken into. Stereo and DVD player were stolen. My car was parked right under bright lights too. The location of the hotel is just too close to Pioneer Park.. Maybe more security cameras? ?

Again, the service is great! No other complaints. They did reimburse my room charges

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blindside311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed only one night before our flight. This is a clean, cool (on a sweltering day) and comfortable property. The front desk is friendly and knowledgable. The breakfast area is large, with the usual fare. The workers at the breakfast area are particularly friendly and helpful. I was originally concerned about the location (it appears to be on the edge of town; not too far from the attractions, but in a questionably safe location. However, we felt completely safe, even after dark returning from a late dinner. The hotel was filled with business and professional people, as well as families and international tourists. I am a frequent guest at Hampton Inns and I would certainly choose to stay at this property when returning to Salt Lake. Some other larger hotels are a few blocks closer to the center of town, but some are also a few blocks farther away from the Hampton Inn, and therefore a bit farther away from town. This Hampton Inn offers free parking, which is not available at some of the larger hotels in town, which is another plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traverler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.6 km away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
1.3 km away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.8 km away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Address: 425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,621 - ₹ 14,975
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing