We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable rooms and wonderful hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Misty Peaks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Peaks
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Comfortable and well appointed rooms, with great views of the mountains and a good sized bathroom, with a good shower. Misty Peaks is located a few miniutes out of the main village and it is situated well away from the main road, so it was very quiet.

The hosts, Dave and Lea, were very friendly and welcoming. The complimentary pre-dinner wine and cheese was great, as it gave us the opportunity to meet some of the other guests. Dave and Lea also provide optional dinner service for their guests, which we took them up and were served some very tasty and perfectly cooked rack of lamb and venison filet steak, with huge servces of potatoes and vegetables. They also had a number of New Zealand wines to chose from to accompany the meals, with a few serviced by the glass.

While the mini-fridge in the room was a little noisy, in the grand scheme of things, this was a pretty minor issue. All other aspects of our stay were flawless.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the mountains have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    52
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
209
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A high quality B&B with excellent large rooms and we liked the evening drink with fellow guests. Ground floor access directly from car to our room made luggage handling simple.
We were made very welcome by Ann but with Micheal unwell and confined to bed the evening meal was not available. Misty Peaks is an ideal one night stopover on the West Coast route

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great location and large, spacious and well- equipped rooms. Very welcoming and friendly hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. Offering pre-dinner drinks for all the guests was a great way of meeting fellow holiday- makers and getting the low down on local activities. Many thanks to Michael and Ann, the stand-in hosts, for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applesiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestreshire, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very well appointed spacious accommodation with ground floor veranda looking across open fields(we were not impressed by the broken ironing board). Dave booked our trip to the glacier and recommended walks. But Fox lives on its glacier's appeal and the magnificent reflections in Lake Matheson. As few people will stay here long we felt that we were treated as just another couple of tourists. Home cooked evening meals were available but at a price.However they appeared to be definitely better than the run of the mill eateries offered in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Misty peaks, as the name suggests, sits overlooking the misty peaks of the mountains! such splendid view, stayed there during my honeymoon in September, it was the lean season and we were the only guests. Dave invited us for wine and cheese upon arrival, (his family was on vacation then ) and we dont drink wine, but loved the cheese. The best part was we could drive our car all the way upto our room, and park it right outside. While leaving, we were charged 5$ for internet, which was a little unexpected, as it was built in to hotel charges everywhere else, i mean seperating it out made it look a little trivial!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
0.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
17.0 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
1.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Peaks? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Peaks

Property: Misty Peaks
Address: 105 Cook Flat Road | Fox Township, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#4 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,190 - ₹ 14,639
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Peaks 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Peaks is a small Bed and Breakfast/Hotel with only 5 guestrooms.We have beautiful views of Mt Cook and Tasman that cant be seen from the village. A complimentary glass of wine and a New Zealand cheese board is offered at 6.30 PM. Continental and cooked breakfast served in the Dining Room. We look forward to having you stay in our home, Lea Bentley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Misty Peaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Peaks Fox Glacier
Misty Peaks Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing