We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
164
82
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
82
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacecook your owncamper vanthe kitchenyogurtcampervan sitesspa bathfirst floorglow worm walkparking areanice bathroomconvenience storebathroom facilitieswithin easy walking distancestayed two nightsnew zealandfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Just one word...OMG...the moment I entered this small and cute city of fox glacier I was so mesmerised and in love and all of these increased when I stepped into FOX GLACIER LODGE. The owner Mr. Li is an awesome host and takes immense interest in his guests. The main attraction of this place is the timber designed cute rooms which are a delicacy to stay in. A totally different experience. In the morning you feel as if you are having breakfast at your own house as Mr Li and his mom has set up such a nice breakfast room which allows you to cook your own eggs. Surprised isn't it? I too was but it's true as I did it myself. Being an Indian tourist it is a matter of luck and god's grace that I could see such a beautiful place which such beautiful hosts. Thanks to Mr Li and his family. Cheers!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank sudhir r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We decided to stay another night on the coast after three nights in Franz.......the weather was pretty miserable, however having such a lovely room at the lodge made it all the better.
The rooms are cozy chalet style with views from all windows, spacious bathroom, huge room in general actually.
There is also a TV which is good for the super cold days and wifi.
Our room was also very clean and tidy.
We also had an amazing breakfast of the hosts traditional food that his Mother had made and also english food, fresh home made bread and condiments also were home made.......to be in enjoyed at a dining room table where you are also able to cook if you were to stay longer.
The host was so very lovely and hospitable and even offers to give all guest a free Glow Worm trip.
We will be back to our little chalet in Fox :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbulleid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Our experience in this motel is good room is very clean. Washroom was also very clean. Breakfast kitchen is present. U can sit and enjoy ur breakfast in breakfast room. We requested the manager that we don't want upstairs room he easily provide us room inside. The atmosphere is friendly and very peaceful place. At night the manager take us to forest at 8pm free of cost to see glow warms and that was really an awesome experience. We thanks to him for such a wonderful experience. Unfortunately we stayed for only one day because we had to catch our flight from Christchurch other wise our experience is really really good and the manager was really a nice person. We definitely recommend this lodge to our friends too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deepika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights whilst visiting the glacier and it was lovely! The owner was incredibly friendly and went out of his way to make us comfortable. He also had a great knowledge of the area and told us what sights to see.

Our room was nice and warm with a nice spa bath and a comfy bed.

The breakfast was yummy with some delicious home made bread and other treats!

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SophieA2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We booked a spa cabin in what we pictured to be a nice lodge but really it was a cabin in a caravan park. The room itself is spacious and the gas fire lovely but it is a little tired looking and pricey for what it is. The breakfast was average- cereal, juice, fruit, white toast and eggs could have done with something else eg- ham, bacon or perhaps some fresh scones or muffins. The owner was helpful and we really enjoyed the glow worm walk. However I think for the price it could be better

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews