We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
164
82
33
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
82
33
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacecook your owncamper vanthe kitchenyogurtcampervan sitesspa bathfirst floorglow worm walkparking areanice bathroomconvenience storebathroom facilitieswithin easy walking distancestayed two nightsnew zealandfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Our experience in this motel is good room is very clean. Washroom was also very clean. Breakfast kitchen is present. U can sit and enjoy ur breakfast in breakfast room. We requested the manager that we don't want upstairs room he easily provide us room inside. The atmosphere is friendly and very peaceful place. At night the manager take us to forest at 8pm free of cost to see glow warms and that was really an awesome experience. We thanks to him for such a wonderful experience. Unfortunately we stayed for only one day because we had to catch our flight from Christchurch other wise our experience is really really good and the manager was really a nice person. We definitely recommend this lodge to our friends too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deepika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights whilst visiting the glacier and it was lovely! The owner was incredibly friendly and went out of his way to make us comfortable. He also had a great knowledge of the area and told us what sights to see.

Our room was nice and warm with a nice spa bath and a comfy bed.

The breakfast was yummy with some delicious home made bread and other treats!

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SophieA2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We booked a spa cabin in what we pictured to be a nice lodge but really it was a cabin in a caravan park. The room itself is spacious and the gas fire lovely but it is a little tired looking and pricey for what it is. The breakfast was average- cereal, juice, fruit, white toast and eggs could have done with something else eg- ham, bacon or perhaps some fresh scones or muffins. The owner was helpful and we really enjoyed the glow worm walk. However I think for the price it could be better

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Great little place with great guy on reception who made lots of suggestions about things to do. Best thing for us was he offers a free glow-worm walk through the woods at 20:00. Made a most fabulous finish to the day. (Don't know if this only happens in winter as it needs to be dark).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dearmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Located in the close to all the amenities within the small town.

5 mins walk to glow warm but do not expect much.

Bedroom and bathroom is huge and clean without much view of the fox glacier.

Service is average and we arrive earlier and request for dropping our luggage but was declined and being advise just to leave it inside the car.

A good rest area for those that going to Fox glacier.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepySteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews