We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We decided to stay another night on the coast after three nights in Franz.......the weather was pretty miserable, however having such a lovely room at the lodge made it all the better.
The rooms are cozy chalet style with views from all windows, spacious bathroom, huge room in general actually.
There is also a TV which is good for the super cold days and wifi.
Our room was also very clean and tidy.
We also had an amazing breakfast of the hosts traditional food that his Mother had made and also english food, fresh home made bread and condiments also were home made.......to be in enjoyed at a dining room table where you are also able to cook if you were to stay longer.
The host was so very lovely and hospitable and even offers to give all guest a free Glow Worm trip.
We will be back to our little chalet in Fox :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbulleid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Our experience in this motel is good room is very clean. Washroom was also very clean. Breakfast kitchen is present. U can sit and enjoy ur breakfast in breakfast room. We requested the manager that we don't want upstairs room he easily provide us room inside. The atmosphere is friendly and very peaceful place. At night the manager take us to forest at 8pm free of cost to see glow warms and that was really an awesome experience. We thanks to him for such a wonderful experience. Unfortunately we stayed for only one day because we had to catch our flight from Christchurch other wise our experience is really really good and the manager was really a nice person. We definitely recommend this lodge to our friends too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deepika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights whilst visiting the glacier and it was lovely! The owner was incredibly friendly and went out of his way to make us comfortable. He also had a great knowledge of the area and told us what sights to see.

Our room was nice and warm with a nice spa bath and a comfy bed.

The breakfast was yummy with some delicious home made bread and other treats!

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We booked a spa cabin in what we pictured to be a nice lodge but really it was a cabin in a caravan park. The room itself is spacious and the gas fire lovely but it is a little tired looking and pricey for what it is. The breakfast was average- cereal, juice, fruit, white toast and eggs could have done with something else eg- ham, bacon or perhaps some fresh scones or muffins. The owner was helpful and we really enjoyed the glow worm walk. However I think for the price it could be better

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Great little place with great guy on reception who made lots of suggestions about things to do. Best thing for us was he offers a free glow-worm walk through the woods at 20:00. Made a most fabulous finish to the day. (Don't know if this only happens in winter as it needs to be dark).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dearmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,216 reviews
16.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
413 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 7,997 - ₹ 12,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing