We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ear plug night life”
Review of Fox Glacier Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Glacier Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Fox glacier is a small hamlet of places to stay with good cafes, restaurants and a general store that stocks a great variety of almost everything... The main fare is helicopter glacier adventures with prices to match. We booked a spa room at fox glacier lodge for a slice of luxury with a big helping of peace and quiet...luxury part delivered in big portions ...super comfy bed, luxury; toiletries, linen, towels... shower fantastic..the team here work tirelessly to make arrival and stay welcoming...breakfast good..cereal, fresh orange juice, fruit, butter jams, scones, bread, milk, Tea, coffee...well equipped kitchette...chalet detached so should have been heaven on earth...unfortunately our chalet, number 6 stands close by the fox glacier inn and pod hostel! Noise kept us awake small hours of the morning....sorry only 3 stars but the noise spoilt our stay for sure. We were offered a change of room but opted to stay put! Didn't think we could move far enough away from noise!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from pod hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swallowtails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights there recently on the camper van site and was very impressed. Sites very spacious and looked after. Kitchen and BBQ facilities were excellent. Bathroom facilities were good as well just could have done with another loo or two. Would definetly stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A nice warm feel to this well appointed motel room with a second story mezzanine sleeping area. Great as the warm air rose to make the upper area very cosy. Even in February it gets rather chilly but the in room heating was very effective. The facilities were all we needed and a close walk to restaurants in the evening and cafés in the morning for breakfast. I would suggest you make a reservation for dinner as dinning is limited and the west coast is very busy during the tourist seasons.The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to see in the area .along with making reservations on the scenic flights

Room Tip: I don't think it matters where you are its a quite motel off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rustiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

This was one of our most expensive stays in NZ. Great location in Fox right near Glacier, Lake Matheson, shops & restaurants but I didn't expect to pay so much & be in the middle of a camper van park.
Our unit had an upstairs mezzanine bedroom & we thought we'd get a view of the mountains but we got a view of the CV Park instead.
Clean, tidy, Friendly lady on reception

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rome_at_Easter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews on Trip Advisor regarding this accommodation we were not sure what to expect, but it certainly exceeded our expectations. Debra was at the reception when we arrived and she was so friendly and informative. We had booked the bed and breakfast option and were shown to room number 5. Although the furnishings were a bit tired it was so spacious with a sitting area and after living out of our suitcases for nearly 2 weeks it was a luxury to be able to spread ourselves out a bit and to reorganise. The breakfast was a help yourself affair with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast and muffins. There is a fridge in the breakfast room that you can use to put your drinks in and tea and coffee facilities are available there whenever you like. It was a very comfortable stay and good value.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
16.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
412 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Glacier Lodge

Address: Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Fox Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 7,964 - ₹ 12,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox Glacier Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern solid timber, purpose-built Lodge is in the heart of the Fox Glacier Village. We have B&B style accommodation & self-contained units, some with double spa baths. We are the closest accommodation to the Glacier & only a one minute walk to all cafes, restaurants & shops. Enjoy our tranquil setting, surrounded by rain forest with mountain views. Laundry facilities & mountain bikes for your use. We are happy to assist you with booking local activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Fox Glacier Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing