We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly knowledgeable host, lovely home, on beautifully kept grounds and very good location for visiting wineries!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly knowledgeable host, lovely home, on beautifully kept grounds and very good location for visiting wineries!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at Anglesea House over the weekend to complete the St Claire winery half marathon. Dianna is a lovely host, attentive and knowledgable of local must see spots. The property is beautiful and the house is large with plenty of private space. It was cold outside - the house was warm and with great bathrooms and lots of hot water. The bikes were handy to make our way around surrounding vineries on Sunday. I highly reccomend staying at Anglesea and will be back again if I visit Blenheim.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had the Anglesea House recommended to us and what a great suggestion! Diana was a pleasure to spend time with, very accommodating and made excellent breakfasts! She was most helpful to us when planning how we would spend our days and even let us check in and get settled early as we were transferring from another B&B and had a ride coming to get us to take us on the river queen that morning. Her house is lovely and the room we stayed in was beautiful. The sitting area was so pleasant with its big windows as was the patio and deck off our room. Also, it was a nice surprise to find Diana had come through and tidied up the room and given us new towels while we were out. We didn't expect such great service! The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and fruits deliciously ripe. We enjoyed use of the bikes she makes available to her guests and had a great day biking through the vineyards. Several vineyards were right up the road and easy walking distance too. The location of Anglesea House is great! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maples36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed 5 nights at Anglesea House which really was the perfect B&B. It is ideally situated with alot of the wineries & places to eat within walking distance. There are also excellent resturaunts in the vineyards close by.
Diana is the perfect hostess in that she is very attentive without being intrusive. Her knowledge of the wines & wineries is excellent and she is very good at helping you make the most of the area. The breakfasts are unusual and delicious & personally cooked to your needs.
The house and garden are delightful with plenty of places to sit & write or read away from your room. The rooms themselves are very excellant with all that you need.
The bikes work well. Although as with all bikes the seat height needs to be adjusted for a comfortable pedal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Sweet owner. Generous size room but en suite bathroom very small. The bikes on site do not work. Excellent dinner rec's....she made, and then changed our reservations for us. Delicious traditional breakfast . Lovely garden (clothesline available) off porch of sitting area. Good location for wineries and Heritage Air Museum in nearby Blenheim (best I have seen!).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blossom9s, Owner at Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi there Scoot
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Anglesea House. You made so much of your time here and I hope the memories will bring you back.
Sorry about the bikes not working for you. I.am pleased to say that they are now going well but individual needs do differ.
It was good to meet you and enjoy your company for a short while
Best Wishes to you both
Kind Regards
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal northeast Florida
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This B&B is located in a beautiful Victorian cottage-style setting, with extensive, well-maintained gardens. When we arrived for our one-night stay, Diana greeted us warmly and provided us with a glass of wine and savories. We found her to be very knowledgeable about the local wineries and she gave us good advice on where to go. She even offered to drive us to our restaurant that night so we could indulge and not have to worry about driving back at night. She also offered to book any tours or excursions we wanted to try.

Our bedroom was nicely appointed and opened onto a beautiful private garden. Since the house sits not too far from a main road, we were concerned about traffic noise, but that did not turn out to be a problem. The room also had a separate large sitting area (actually as big as the bedroom itself) where we kept our luggage as there were no closets. The bathroom had a very small sink, but a nice shower. Both bedroom and bathroom were immaculate. Full bathroom amenities package was provided (shampoo, bath products, hair dryer).

Breakfast choices are made from a menu the evening before and Diana cooks it to order in the morning. Coffee and tea makings are available for guests in the hall.

We recommend Anglesea as a good value with a convenient location, beautiful setting and a congenial and knowledgeable host.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
3.1 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
10.9 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
0.6 km away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
2.7 km away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
268 reviews
0.4 km away
Woodbourne Tavern & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Anglesea Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,577 - ₹ 8,219
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive Edwardian Villa nestled in extensive gardens with optional outdoor seating on veranda/decks and garden. An ideal honeymoon getaway. Bikes are included in tariff and available for touring the nearby Wine Cellars. 2 Queen rooms have en-suites and 1 is a Unit with private sitting room and deck. The King room overlooks the garden and can provide King twin beds or a Super King bed. The single room is adjacent to a Queen room and is handy for parties of three travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing