We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our most memorable experiences in New Zealand”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of our most memorable experiences in New Zealand”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I spent 16 days touring both islands and we had some amazing experiences to say the least. From the Milford Sound, to the Queen Charlotte track, to the glaciers, to beaches and thermal pools we enjoyed them all but the Hillsfield House and Jo and Steve's hospitality always rises to the top as one of our most memorable experiences. The scent of lavender will have a new and lasting sensory association with me, everyone time I smell it I'm immersed with memories of our stay here. Kudos to Steve and Jo, their hospitality and attention to detail has set the bar for B&B's for my wife and me. We may try to find an equal but I know we won't until we return which will not be soon enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20_April_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
388
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This place is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in many, all over the world. The location is fantastic, great wineries on your doorstep that you can bike (provided) or walk too. A stream at the end of the garden to flick a line into, cute animals to pet, just very quaint. The owners are a delight, Jo goes above and beyond the norm! the breakfast was to die for, the croissants were the best I have ever had. Just book this place, seriously, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlkBk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked Hillsfield for ourselves, two daughters and their partners as part of our road trip
around South Island. Jo wasn't phased when we changed our booking and gave us a wonderful welcome on arrival. The accommodation and food were excellent even down to hot cross buns after a "gruelling" bike ride round a number of wineries which Jo herself had recommended. Breakfast set us all up for the day ahead. In summary a wonderful setting matched by the hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBYateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Jo & Steve are fantastic hosts who could not do enough for us; from assisting in the planning of our trip to making our stay a memorable one. The accommodation is superb. We can't recommend Hillsfield House highly enough and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We booked this b&b based on TripAdvisor reviews and were not at all disappointed. Hillsfield House was the highlight of our tour of the south island. I can't think of a single negative aspect to Hillsfield House. It's perfectly located for bicycling through the vineyards. We ended up visiting seven vineyards in one day and we probably could have seen more had we not had to return to Hillsfield to empty our backpacks of our purchases.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_F07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
2.4 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
7.0 km away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
10.9 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.8 km away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.9 km away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 22 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Property: Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,985 - ₹ 10,267
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing