We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tongariro Alpine Crossing n Skotel Alpine Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skotel Alpine Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We got ourselves a GrabOne deal for NZD 290, which included 2 nights accommodation at the Skotel Alpine Resort. The deal also include breakfast for 2 person for 2 days, a 3 course dinner for 1 night for 2 person, transport to n from the Tongariro Crossing walk with also a packed lunch on the day you go for the walk.

My husband and I had a wonderful couple of days. The Tongariro Alpine crossing took us 8 hours and we were blessed with fantastic weather yesterday. The packed lunch we took with us for the walk was very good. The transport for our walk were very efficient n were all arranged by the resort.

The resort is quite dated but they r cost n comfortable if you are happy with a clean bed, room n very friendly service. Room 201-211 have a westerly facing aspect, therefore get the late afternoon sun n nice to be able to see on the deck n watch the sun-set.

We are very impressed with the food n the services provided by the resort, despite that we have purchased a package deal.

Room Tip: Room 201-211 have a westerly facing aspect, therefore get the late afternoon sun n nice to be able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 312 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

My cousin and I were traveling and stumbled upon this gem. Because of our budget, our price per night could usually only afford slum-y hostels , noisy hostels, or dorm rooms with 6 beds >< This place was a DREAM. With the same money we were able to have a little room all to all ourselves that resembled a cozy winter log cabin. Everything is so well thought out, we even had towel heating racks in our room. The place is so well maintained, and I love their dining area too. THEIR FOOD IS GREAT!! I ordered chocolate cake and BBQ Chicken pizza from their kitchen and it was amazing. The view is great too. This place has every right to charge an arm and a leg but they don't! It's because they are nice people and NOT greedy. It was my favorite place to stay during my ENTIRE trip in NZ and I went to both north and south island for 3 weeks. The staff are so nice, and I love the manage Wayne. My cousin and I came in late to check in once and we got there while the kitchen was closing. They lady in the front was so sweet and said "Don't worry, we don't want you to go hungry! The chefs can make you something if it's a quick fix." Most other places would have been like " sorry we're closed, too bad." But not these awesome guys. I wish I could live in Skotel my whole trip lol. Every hotel should aspire to be like them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Party of 8 adults for 2 nights last weeked - had Room 111 (& 216) - 3 very comfy double beds in 2 large rooms - large bathroom even with bath!! - perfect for 3 couples - Great outside deck for apres hike drinkies and the dinner in the restauarant was first class.
We were able to cook our own breakfast in the communinal kitchen which was a bit tired but adequate.
Skotel is obviously going thru a refurbishment phase and we were very fortunate to have some of the "new rooms"

Room Tip: For a group of 3 couples - Room 111 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyw286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The best thing about the skotel is its location: next door to the Tongariro hikes and with a wonderful view of the vulcanoes. Whakapapa itself is a very (very!) quiet town, so not much happening there. The bar in the hotel is nice, especially after a day out walking or on a rainy day. Friendly staff too. The standard rooms are very small (we had a room in the newer part of the building) and have very thin walls. Don't stay here if you're a light sleeper, noise from other rooms can easily keep you awake. Bed is very soft. Rooms are clean enough to stay healthy, but look a bit tired. In Whakapapa, it is one of the more reasonable options in terms of money, but for 140 dollar, we had expected quite a bit more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ton_alting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arived without a booking on old years eve. The personat reception was fantastic and service centric. They had an old years eve dinner planned so we checked in.

The resort is well situauted to do the Tongariro Alpine hike. It was raining heavily when we staid there and the crossing was clossed. there are a number of beautifull 2 - 4 hour hikes around the hotel.

The room we stayed in was small - we were offered a superior room but declined. Strange but the room only had 1 free electric plug! The rooms are clean but the resort needs a refurb. The carpet is marked as are the walls. The bathroom is small (clean). There is a nice cozy bar.

The old years eve dinner was ok - quantity rather than quality. A hearty breakfast was included. The staff are welcomeing, attentive and a pleasure to interact with. They made us feel very welcome.

Internet is available at a modest charge.

The Gym needs to be "Loved". The equipment was not in good working order and not veru clean. A pity.

The hotel arranges hikes in the summer. It is a good value alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakapapa
0.4 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,695 reviews
25.2 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
12.8 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
283 reviews
25.4 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
12.7 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skotel Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skotel Alpine Resort

Address: Tongariro National Park, Whakapapa, Tongariro National Park 3951, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park > Whakapapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whakapapa
Price Range: ₹ 2,586 - ₹ 8,543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skotel Alpine Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skotel was established in the early 60s by a group of keen skiers who wanted the convenience of accommodation close to the ski-fields but more comfort than the ski lodges of that time. In 1986 it underwent a major expansion with the addition of restaurant, bar and other facilities. The old part of the building became the backpacker’s wing. Skotel has maintained its friendly informal atmosphere but now provides Qualmark three star accommodation and the exciting cuisine experiences of our new dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Skotel Alpine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skotel Alpine Hotel Whakapapa Village
Holiday Inn Tongariro National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing