We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 132
US$ 113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
US$ 78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
US$ 55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$ 123
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,851)
Filter reviews
1,851 results
Traveller rating
605
677
347
143
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
677
347
143
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teachateau tongariroold world charmruapehu roomnew wingmain restaurantgrand old ladynational parkpihanga cafeafternoon teanew zealandsconespiano playercelebration packagegolf courselounge areadining room
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,851 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

The public areas of this hotel are impressive and celebrate its construction as a luxury hotel in the 1920s. It is like looking back in time in a good way. A pianist was playing during the evening we were there, which added to the ambience, and the view from the big window is impressive. We had no difficulty accessing Wi-fi in any area of the hotel we visited. We stayed in a spa room which was spacious and well furnished. The spa bath was one of the best we have used. Although there is no air conditioning, there are opening windows with mosquito net curtains, so we had a very comfortable silent nights sleep without the hum of a fan or air conditioner motor. If you want a luxury break with access to lots of walking tracks, this is the place to visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a spa room
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chrysalis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauHMGT, Front Office Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018



Dear guest, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

I generally seek to highlight as many positives as I can in my reviews and focus on the negatives in as constructive way as possible. I fear judging by our experience at the hotel and direct contact with management that any areas suggested for improvement will be ignored, the hotel management I fear feels it has a captive market given the hotel’s unique location and actually doesn’t care about its clientele. Hotel is a classic example of providing glossy pictures of the exterior and rooms hiding away from,the fact the hotel needs serious refurbishment, rusty balconies, decor inside needs redecoration etc. Having said that our room interior was very smart, roomy and well equipped. However, problem one, the room was stifling hot, no a/c, room had tiny windows that opened a fraction, duty manager smiled when reported and we were left to suffer with a limited nights sleep. Room outlook was ‘lovely’, looked onto the roof of another building. Problem two, signage to find your way back to Reception was absent, numerous staircases had to be managed between room and reception. Problem three, wi fi which was absolutely useless, duty manager said it was down to the location and Apple equipment, really useful given Apple dominate the tech market. Problem four, lost the will to live waiting for dinner, the longest and worst service ever experienced, to be fair breakfast ok. I will recommend tour agent this hotel is not used by them any more, the management and fairly surly staff need to realise they just can’t get away with this don’t care attitude, the duty manager we dealt with just didn’t care. Sort yourselves out and provide basic customer needs.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank menors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauHMGT, Front Office Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. It is regretful that your stay with us was not so pleasant and we do apologise for that. We have shared your valuable feedback with our executive management who will deal with it accordingly. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Stayed for 2 nights on our round the island trip. Told we had got one of the best rooms (thanks Relaxing Journeys) and it was excellent. A newly refurbished bathroom, large comfy bed and good views to the front of the building. The staff were polite and helpful, dealing with our large pile of luggage cheerfully when we came and went. The public rooms have a faded grandeur you might expect in a building of this age which has a charm of its own. A sensitive sprucing up is due.
The food? Breakfast was a pretty standard hotel buffet affair. The usual problems with toaster programming, lukewarm scrambled eggs and hot tea procurement. Par for the course in large hotels. For dinner the main dining room was far too expensive to contemplate. The Bistro had a limited menu in a room that reminded me of my primary school classroom! Here was one place that could be jazzed up with some good modern interior design. The meal was just ok. A young porter recommended the pub across the road, owned by the hotel. Oh dear! Dead and dying flies littered the window sills, the furniture was cheap metal and plastic and the music was unpleasantly loud. When queried the waiter claimed he had cleared the flies only an hour ago. "They're Tussock flies coming in from the grassland across the road." So? Put fly screens on the doors and windows. A minion was sent to clear the flies and foolishly we ordered some food. The menu was simple pub grub. Fair enough and the fish and chips were ok but were difficult to enjoy in that fly- ridden environment. No wonder the place was nearly empty.
What was once a great hotel needs some significant investment to bring its public face up to the standard of our room. We wish it well.

Room Tip: You can drive up to the front door to offload rather than haul up from the car park.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PnPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauHMGT, Front Office Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and the service during your stay with us. However it is regretful that your dining experience with us was not so pleasant and we do apologise or that. We have shared your feedback with our Executive chef who will deal with it accordingly. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel with a long and colourful history. Room booked 806 was an exec spa suite, very comfortable although views only of trees outside the windows !
Dining in the cafe attached to hotel very good, great staff and food. Views from the main public areas very impressive, even in drizzly rain, and extremely convenient for local walks like the Taranaki Falls .
Only negative - whilst the continental breakfast was ok, the cooked items were truly awful - trays of boiled sausages that had never seen a grill or hot pan , mass produced scrambled egg slop and wet boiled bacon. I know the kitchen can do great dinners so someone needs to give breakfast more attention.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank marathonman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauHMGT, Front Office Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our Executive chef who will deal with the breakfast issue accordingly. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Checked in, reception knew very little about the facilities “Just have a look”, no help with luggage. The room was noisey with the ding of the elevator and chatter of passerby’s a constant throughout the night. The room was dirty and over heated (no working controller) with thick layers of dust covering every surface. Management agreed, but didn’t do anything to rectify the situation. Causing me to get no sleep due to the constant sneezing and also having an allergy to dust, this didnt bother them. The bath was so damaged with chips it would not be suitable for a hostel let alone a hotel. Mouldy shower curtain was no surprise after everything else. The suspect brown stains on the walls left little to the imagination. Reporting to housekeeping and not cleaning is not a solution. Went to the cafe at the side but the blonde lady refused to serve us as to busy texting. Finally got served in the main lobby but was served a cold espresso, again didn’t seem to bother any of the staff, not even a “sorry”. Tried to get a menu up the room but this tool several attempts.
The most shocking part about the whole experience was telling Ravi the manager about our experience and him LAUGHING at me which made the whole reception to laugh along. They just don’t care!

I wouldn’t let my dog stay here let alone any human.

Stayed: February 2018
3  Thank Anthonyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauHMGT, Front Office Manager at Chateau Tongariro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. It is regretful that your stay with us was not so pleasant and we do apologise for that. We have shared your feedback with our executive management team who will deal with this accordingly. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews