We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been amazing but was lacking ”

Timboon Railway Shed Distillery
Ranked #2 of 2 Quick Bites in Timboon
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Visit our working small batch, craft distillery where we produce Australian single malt whisky (since 2007), vodka and liqueurs. Our local produce sharing menu offers lunch on our deck daily, bookings are advised. We are located in the heart of the beautiful township of Timboon and right on the Timboon to Camperdown Rail Trail. Timboon Fine Ice Cream is right across the creek from us. We are part of the 12 Apostles Gourmet Food Trail: a food lovers delight! Come visit
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Could have been amazing but did not live up to the hype. Full disclosure it was Easter Saturday so reasonably busy. Went in for a tasting which was $10 each this included three whiskeys (four liqueurs for free) we sat at the bar and saw they have bar snacks. Was going to order two tastings and snack but the guy was so rushed. We got in for tastings but that was it. Quick explanation which was on a printed sheet anyway, no history or process etc then we were left to our own devices. No offer of snacks or upsell for other products. Left thinking we could have spent a couple of hundred instead of $42. Having said that it is a one stop shop, supporting local producers all over the area as well as other distilleries. Give it a go on a quiet weekend maybe.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank truckieandthewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very well set-up distillery in the town of Timboon. Easy to find. Great for whisky drinkers, although not cheap.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank lizzy122015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

After stumbling onto the Gourmet Trail of the great ocean road, we were excited to head to the Timboon railway shed distillery...and we were not disappointed. It’s nicely laid out with a relaxed atmosphere. The staff were friendly and happy to chat about the products but also gave space for customers to enjoy their tastings independently. It was fantastic having a ‘placement’ that laid out each tasting, it’s description and the recommended tasting order. As a bonus, when you have a whisky tasting, you get to try a selection of their spirits and liqueurs (also with its own placemat), which was complimentary. We also liked that the placemats were laminated, so they could be cleaned and used again (reducing waste). They do meals also, which looked delicious, but would recommend making a booking. We are looking forward to going again.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank CornishDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

Stopped here for lunch. Service was spot on, staff very friendly and helpful. Had caramel and coffee liqueur milkshakes, pork belly and fried chicken for lunch. Hubby loved his pork belly, Crisp Western Plains pork belly, Asian flavoured salad of shoots, papaya & herbs, fried shallots, sticky soy. I couldn't eat all of my fried chicken. Crispy coated, free range chicken pieces, flour tortillas, cos leaves, Korean BBQ sauce, aioli. Very generous serving. Toilets clean and tidy. Sat outside, clean and tidy area, would definitely have lunch there again. Keep up the great work guys :-)

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donziejonzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

Enjoying a relaxing weekend & trying to support local Victorian tourist trade, we spent the weekend on the Great Ocean Road & the Gourmet Trail. Our visit to Timboon Railway Shed Distillery was soured by poor service, when it came we were asked “what do you want?” We replied what can we have? They had stands with $10 gin/whiskey/rum tasting paddles - we ordered a gin & whiskey ($20) on paying account we were charged $58 because they put a 200ml bottle of tonic & 3 1/2 slices of lemon! when we were leaving we told a member of staff not impressed who only answer was sorry that’s happened. We want to support local but not triple the price without warning - will not be returning.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenwill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timboon Railway Shed Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Timboon Railway Shed Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.