We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Experience of a lifetime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yasuni National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Everything at Napo Wildlife Centre was done at the highest standard. My husband and I could not have enough praise for our naturalist and local guide. Their full attention was put on giving us the best experience. They spotted a wide array of wildlife and made sure everyone in our group had adequate time to view and take pictures. Their knowledge was extensive. The many species of wildlife were quickly identified and we learnt many things about life in the amazon.

The actual lodge and cabins were beautiful and comfortable. Meals were varied, and again at a high standard.

Activities were different each day, so we left feeling we had experienced everything we possibly could have.

We only hope that Napo Wildlife Centre can continue on exactly the way it is so many more people can experience what we have.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments at Napo Wildlife Center we do our best to give to our clients the best experience possible. The commitment with the nature conservancy and the development of the community drive us to continue providing a quality service at the highest standards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    42
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
126
271
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I had researched extensively prior to our travels. This was the place to go and it was only confirmed stronger after having gone there. This is the best place to travel in Ecuador. You are helping give back to the local people and not a non-Indigenous organization. They constantly give your local juices. The food was great. Never a dull moment. When going to "El Oriente" only book your travels here. The tour guides are great and very accomadating. I was somewhat concerned about eatting with the same dinner group everynight as was noted in other posts but it was never a concern. The competion uses there locations for their extra-cirrucular activites and does not inform their guests. Create a adventure of a lifetime and go to Napo Wildlife Center.

Room Tip: They were assigned. But we had large beds and lakefront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review, the Kichwa community of Añangu is grateful for your support, by visiting Napo Wildlife Center you had contributed not only to the development of the community but also to the preservation of one of the most biodiverse areas in Latin America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The experience we had at NWC was what we describe to others as “magical”. What we saw, felt and heard in that environment seemed almost unreal, it was so awe-inspiring. The food and staff at the lodge were outstanding, and staff made everyone feel welcome, comfortable and special. Our guides, were exceptional in their ability to spot wildlife, and to make sure we got as up close and personal as possible.
The care and respect the Anangu community has for their environment, the lodge and its upkeep make us hopeful for the future of this biodiverse piece of our planet.
If you want to get a full experience of the rainforest, its flora and fauna, this is the place to go. Be prepared to be actively engaged in the daily excursions, to get the full experience. Remember, you are in the middle of the rainforest jungle, and how often do you get the chance to be in such a place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnestNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. The Kichwa community of Añangu is committed whit its preservation philosophy and trough this projects assures the preservation of this fragile environment.
Your satisfaction is the best reward to our work.
We hope than more people visits this important conservation project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The trip to the lodge --traveling for two hours in motorized canoe through secondary rain forest on the Napo river , and then transferring to a paddled canoe to travel up the lush and narrow Anangu Creek through ancient, primary rain forest was an indescribable adventure in itself. On our two hour journey up the creek we encountered giant otters, capuchin, saki and squirrel monkeys, countless tropical birds, and amazing butterflies -- blue morphos and owl eyes. Each day brought more close encounters with the extraordinary life of the rain forest, from a baby anaconda napping on a log to a colony of leaf cutter ants, an arboreal tarantula, long nosed bats, black caiman and all sorts of amazing lizards. In the upper branches a wild assortment of larger birds could be seen silhouetted against the sky from the canoe. One of the high points of the trip was climbing to the viewing platform at the top of a giant kapok tree to look across the jungle canopy where we spotted an assortment of colorful macaws, toucans and raptors. Our nature guide, Robbie Delgado was extremely knowledgeable and truly a pleasure to spend time with. Our native guide, Hugo, shared his unique knowledge of forest plants and how they have been used by his people. The lodge was beautiful, comfortable, and very well run, and the food was delicious. One of the main attractions for me was the fact that the local Quechua community owns and runs this ecolodge, which is a model of sustainable development in the region. Napo is an extraordinary and fascinating travel experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
In behalf of the Kichwa community of Añangu I would like to thank you for your visit at our lodge.
Everyday we work to improve ourselves and offer our visitors an experience of a life time.
We hope than more and more people could be part of the Napo Wildlife Center project and be part of the efforts of the Añangu community to preserve this unique and rich environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I can not recommend this center highly enough. You feel that despite being a tourist in this fragile environment, the sustainable methodology of the community and the effort they put into protecting the wildlife means that your tourism is of minimal burden to the park. Half of all money raised goes directly to the health and education of the community, which in itself to me would recommend this tour over others in the area.

From start to finish, nothing was overlooked. The huts were luxurious and very clean. Food was excellent and in generous quantities. Wellies etc were in pristine condition. Staff in the communal areas could not have been more attentive if they tried.

The guides (both native and naturalist) were outstanding. More importantly they really seemed to enjoy their job and that enthusiasm was shared by the whole group. They made the trip relevent to the group - ours was a relatively young group and they took us on more strenuous outings than the older group who had a desire to birdwatch. The level of English was also excellent (and there were other languages spoken also).

The tour had all the wildlife you could want as well and tips on how to create the paralysing agent curare. In the visit to the cultural centre there were reconstruction houses and hunting traps as well as the opportunity to try the (very authentically made) local tipple.

This trip is most certainly worth the cost, and I would recommend it for people of any age or fitness.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWClodge, Director of Sales at Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you very much for visiting Napo Wildlife Center and being part of this ambitious conservation program. The Kichwa community of Añangu is grateful for your support and contribution .Your comment encourages us to continue providing quality service and improving it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yasuni National Park
36.4 km away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 km away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
119.7 km away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 km away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
0.0 km away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 9 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge

Property: Napo Wildlife Center Ecolodge
Address: Yanez Pinzon N26 -131 y la Nina. Edificio Las Carabelas, oficina 101, Yasuni National Park, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Yasuni National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yasuni National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napo Wildlife Center offers visitors a number of vantage points from which to admire and experience the spectacular, awe-inspiring diversity of the Amazon Basin. Climb the 120-ft. High galvanized-metal stairs to the jungle tower for otherwise impossible eye-to-eye views of canopy dwellers such as monkeys, eagles and macaws...Spy on clay licks teeming with parrots and occasionally visited by jungle cats or a magnificent elephant-muzzled tapir...Experience Man's ageless interaction with the jungle through the native community's perspectiveEnjoy evening walks to witness the astounding nightlife of the dense, entangled understory...Explore the many trails through "terra firme", "varzea" and swamp forest in search of the best that Amazonia has to offerBe it from the ground up, or from the canopy down, from hidden viewing blinds to silent paddling up black-water creeks, we deliver the biggest most intricate picture possible of this wonderful world. Napo Wildlife Center not only provides the educated perspective of bilingual guides but also the hands-on knowledge of the true guardians of Anangu, who live and witness the marvels of their jungle home every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Napo Wildlife Centre Hotel Yasuni National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing