We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
36 people are viewing this hotel
Marriott Hotels
$1,063
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$1,108
View deal
Traveluro
$619
View deal
Booking.com$1,024
Travelocity$1,056
Expedia.com$1,056
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveller rating
1,157
310
111
45
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,157
310
111
45
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool food truck market kitchen water slides ocean front wailea beach game room platinum member oceanfront room island gourmet bar and grill family pool walking path our honeymoon photo session ground floor an upgrade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

Booked this place by friend’s recommendation. Honestly, should have stayed at four seasons.
Truly shocked by all the good reviews.
The place is overpriced for what it is. The buildings are so far from each other and feel like summer camp rather than a luxury hotel.
The first red flag was when I called the front desk to book a dinner reservation, and the gentleman told me to go online and book it. “Great” customer service.
When we arrived the front desk said they got us an amazing room.
When we walked in, the AC sounded like a tractor, we had to fight with them to get transferred.
Instead of offering an apology, we felt they just gave us the worst room they had.
Rooms are not pretty whatsoever, I really didn’t enjoy being inside.
The whole property is not maintained well. Trash everywhere, I wouldn’t risk to eat in those restaurants. Even Starbucks looked disgusting.
The only thing we enjoyed was the infinity pool.
This hotel should be $400 a night tops. Definitely would pay extra $300 to be at four seasons.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank viktoriia1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Aloha viktoriia1502,

Aloha, and mahalo for taking the time to leave your review.

I sincerely apologize that the service you received from my team was not the positive experience you deserve. I certainly understand your disappointment and the frustration you must have felt. This does not reflect our style of customer service, and I have followed up accordingly to improve our performance in these areas and will further review the details with the appropriate individuals.

I also understand the importance of the details that make up a great stay, and I sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with the accommodations assigned to you and regret the inconvenience caused. I will personally be inspecting your room to understand the Air Conditioning deficiencies that you brought to our attention as we continually work to improve our accommodations.

In the future, if we have another opportunity, I would be honored if you would reach out to me directly prior to your arrival so that I can ensure congruence with our room assignment and your expectations. Mahalo for your valuable feedback; we wish you safe travels.

In the Spirit of Service,
Eric Duff
Resident Manager
Eric.duff@waileabeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2022 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable and clean rooms. Gorgeous resort property. Fantastic pools, including a peaceful and relaxing adult pool with an infinity edge. Gives you the perception that you are swimming in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Only a minute walk from one of the best white sand beaches on Maui. Great swimming, good snorkeling, sandy bottom in the ocean. Great place to stay. We have visited three times and will be back again as soon as we can.

Room tip: Parking spaces on the first floor of the parking garage are extremely tight. Slightly better parking on the top level.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank misciosciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Aloha misciosciaa,

Mahalo for returning to stay with us once again at Wailea Beach Resort and for taking the time to share your excellent review. It is exciting to know you continue to love not only our rejuvenating accommodations and elegant resort but also our sparkling outdoor pools and prime location. Steps away from beautiful beaches, shopping, dining, and entertainment, we enjoy providing our guests with the perfect place to explore Wailea! We are also pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our thoughtful activities, including snorkeling. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your return visit.

In the Spirit of Service,
Eric Duff
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2022

We visited for a conference at the resort and upgraded our room to an ocean-view room, which was worth the extra cost. We loved being able to sit out on the patio and enjoy coffee in the morning or a drink at night, and I sat on the patio and worked for hours during the day. The hotel's waterfront is mostly rocky, so there are amazing views without the beach crowds. The hotel is sandwiched by two sandy beaches that are a quick walk away, and is also walking distance from a very nice outdoor mall with some upscale and reasonable mid-level shopping options. The hotel has a Starbucks on site and several restaurants--and the nearby mall has even more options. Wailea is on the quiet end of Maui, but a short drive from a ton of restaurants in Kihei, and a longer drive from Lahaina, which was a fun outing. The resort is not new--it was originally built in the 1970s, and there are hints of that in the hotel layout and shape of buildings. However, it was renovated in the last 5-10 years, and our room felt upscale and comfortable. We did not have kids with us, but thought that the family pool looked like a lot of fun. We enjoyed the other two pools and the lush vegetation and local wildlife. The staff at the hotel were almost universally helpful and welcoming.

I recommend keeping an eye on your bill -- upon checkout we found that breakfast from the folks who were in our room before us had been added to our bill. It was removed, then I was charged for it again a day later, and I had to call back to have it removed again. This was frustrating, but the rest of our trip was so great that I still highly recommend this place!

Room tip: If you'll spend anytime in your room, consider upgrading to an oceanview room.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank W2333YPnancyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Aloha W2333YPnancyh,

Mahalo for reviewing your stay at Wailea Beach Resort and for recommending us to future guests. We are happy to know you loved our rejuvenating resort and refreshing pools, as well as our dynamic location. Steps away from beautiful beaches, shopping, dining, and entertainment, we enjoy providing our guests with the perfect place to explore Wailea! It is also gratifying to read your kind remarks about our dedicated associates and on-site restaurants, including Starbucks®. We also appreciate you mentioning our fresh, updated rooms and the panoramic ocean views. We value your feedback and hope to host you again on your next visit to Wailea.

In the Spirit of Service,
Eric Duff
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2022

Cautionary advice if you're undecided about staying here: If you want to stay within the grounds of a resort because of easy access to a beach and chairs, poolside service, and reasonable restaurants - this is not it.
This resort is without question absolutely gorgeous, as are the views! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff work hard and are so friendly. However, it's obvious they're short on people still and should stop booking to full capacity as the reviews are starting to show for it.

It was my husband, my seven-year-old daughter, my pregnant self, and my in-laws on our trip. We stayed in the tower, and they accommodated nearby rooms for us on the 8th floor. No complaints on room or tower!

If you do book this resort, here are some pointers based on our experience:

-Most families seem to be placed in the tower unless you book a suite in a Hale. If you do, Hale 7 is closest to Wailea Beach, though also near the high-traffic kids' pool and luau. Avoid Hale 2; there's ongoing construction for a new pool coming this winter right behind it. The tower is on the other end of the grounds from the beach and kids' pools, but near the Ohi pools and away from the adults-only pool.

-Watch your kids and be mindful of their surroundings! It's not funny to watch your toddler chase wildlife, poop in the kids' pool, or swing from the photo-op tree swing like Tarzan until it rips from the branch. It's obnoxious.

-Pick up your trash and place it in a bin. They are short-staffed, but you should still respect the island and environment. We picked up a whole lot of plastic, masks, and even pukey towels!

-Get to Wailea Beach by 7:30 AM to wait in line for 45 min if you want a chair. Most are reserved for guests of The Grand, and there's only one guy distributing and setting up!! If you're there at 8:00 AM, you're too late. The beach is public, and the chairs do not stay out overnight for first come, first serve.

-Rent a car and pay the $30/day to self-park and plan to eat in Kihei for far more food variety at reasonable prices. Most places do not take reservations or take long to get food. Plus, there's so much to drive around and see on the island.

-People do dress up for dinner and the luau at the resort, but the rest of Maui is SO casual!

-If your flight out is between 11-2, plan to get to the airport 3 hrs before your flight to clear security.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deeee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Aloha Deeee1985,

Mahalo for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Wailea Beach Resort. We are glad to know you were pleased not only with our elegant resort and stunning views but also with our refreshing accommodations and devoted associates. It is also nice to read you loved our optimal location. Having said that, we regret not meeting some of your expectations and any disappointment with our chair setup. Our culture is to provide memorable experiences by anticipating a guest's needs with a "can do" attitude. It seems we didn't live up to our motto and will make the appropriate changes to better meet that goal. We are grateful for your feedback as it helps us improve, and we hope to have another opportunity to see you and your family again in the future for a more relaxing and seamless visit.

In the Spirit of Service,
Eric Duff
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

DH and I were staying at the Marriott and decided to have a photo session. Right off the bat we felt extremely comfortable and the photographer led the way with clear instructions. We loved our photos and the memories they represent from this trip!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O5880KJirisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2022

Aloha O5880KJirisc,

It was a pleasure reading your review of Wailea Beach Resort. We have an exceptional team whose top priority is making sure every guest is inspired and enriched during their stay, and we will surely share your compliments with them. We are grateful for the generous feedback; mahalo for choosing us for your visit to our beautiful island! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the Spirit of Service,
Eric Duff
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews