We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
244
61
11
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
244
61
11
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts sea turtles oceanfront condo great snorkeling watching whales pool and hot tub fabulous location minute drive third floor body surfing living area beach chairs boogie boards grounds are beautiful ocean view unit lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2022

Beware - I paid for a platinum level condo but was assigned one of the worst located and out of date condos on the property. Do not book through a travel agent or management company. Book directly with the condo owner for a specific condo.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank triprvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 May 2022

We have stayed at Makena Surf over 10 times and it never disappoints, the views, the grounds, the beach are all exquisite. Keala at Destination Residences was extremely helpful in finding and booking the perfect spot for our 40th anniversary.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisderecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 May 2022

Unit needs updating- screen door to unit is rusted- needs new locks- kitchen poorly stocked
Some items not functioning-no propane-broom was old and not useful-coffee grinder broken-not enough garbage bags-unit was missing the remote- furniture was stained
Staff was very responsive and helpful with what we needed

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jfromcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 May 2022

With less than a month before our planned arrival, Makena Surf decided that our 5 families coming together from around the country to celebrate my father's 75th birthday could not stay in the building we rented as they wanted to perform standard exterior painting maintenance during that time. Not for a hazardous issue. Not for an unforeseen event. For cosmetic maintenance. Needless to say, this has devastated our plans. With less than a month before our planned arrival, we can no longer find suitable accommodations at Makena Surf or other nearby resorts for our entire group, thus meaning that our 5 families will be split between various locales.

I understand the need for maintenance and potential unavailability of units, but informing our party of this just 1 month prior to arrival is horrific service. Such maintenance should not be performed unless a resort can notify affected visitors at least 3 months in advance and preferably 6 months so that alternative arrangements can be made (we had made reservations 9 months prior). Simply offering a refund does not come close to compensating our family for the disruption this has caused to our vacation.

Date of stay: May 2022
1  Thank 122matto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Excellent beaches, close to high-end shops, restaurants and grocery store. Furnitures and carpet are bit old. Other than that, no complaints. We really enjoyed the stay. Staffs are friendly and very helpful

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmh168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews