We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
244
61
11
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
244
61
11
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts sea turtles oceanfront condo great snorkeling watching whales pool and hot tub fabulous location minute drive third floor body surfing living area beach chairs boogie boards grounds are beautiful ocean view unit lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2022

Unit needs updating- screen door to unit is rusted- needs new locks- kitchen poorly stocked
Some items not functioning-no propane-broom was old and not useful-coffee grinder broken-not enough garbage bags-unit was missing the remote- furniture was stained
Staff was very responsive and helpful with what we needed

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jfromcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 May 2022

With less than a month before our planned arrival, Makena Surf decided that our 5 families coming together from around the country to celebrate my father's 75th birthday could not stay in the building we rented as they wanted to perform standard exterior painting maintenance during that time. Not for a hazardous issue. Not for an unforeseen event. For cosmetic maintenance. Needless to say, this has devastated our plans. With less than a month before our planned arrival, we can no longer find suitable accommodations at Makena Surf or other nearby resorts for our entire group, thus meaning that our 5 families will be split between various locales.

I understand the need for maintenance and potential unavailability of units, but informing our party of this just 1 month prior to arrival is horrific service. Such maintenance should not be performed unless a resort can notify affected visitors at least 3 months in advance and preferably 6 months so that alternative arrangements can be made (we had made reservations 9 months prior). Simply offering a refund does not come close to compensating our family for the disruption this has caused to our vacation.

Date of stay: May 2022
1  Thank 122matto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Excellent beaches, close to high-end shops, restaurants and grocery store. Furnitures and carpet are bit old. Other than that, no complaints. We really enjoyed the stay. Staffs are friendly and very helpful

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmh168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 March 2022

We had previously stayed at another Destination property (the Elua) a few years ago. We liked it because it was NOT a high rise, had beautiful grounds and was close to a great beach. Makena Surf is the same...awesome beach for snorkeling and body surfing, beautiful grounds and great place. Really appreciated having the option of housekeeping vs delivery of new linens during our stay. Check in was so easy after a long travel day. We will definitely come back.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keeterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 March 2022 via mobile

We stayed a week in unit F206 and the only issue we had was a week wasn’t long enough! The condo was perfect for us. It felt more like a home (that I would be thrilled to live in permanently!) than a rental property. While we spent most of our time on the spacious, dreamy lanai (includes a grill, dining area and lounge chairs), the rest of the condo was perfectly kitted out. When we wanted to be indoors, the living room was well thoughout, comfortable and spacious. The condo front living area is bright and full of light, mirrors placed strategically throughout to reflect gorgeous ocean views. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook (and make mai tais!), both bedrooms were extremely spacious and quiet. The views are beyond amazing. Once again, the only issue was we didn’t want to leave! It was hard to tear us away to explore the rest of the island! When we did choose to explore, we could walk to nearby swimmable beaches. We brought snorkel equipment and saw turtles and tropical fish! There are lovely restaurants within a 10 minute drive as well.

Tip of the day…stay here in the month of January. We saw humpbacks breaching, spouting, tail slapping multiple times a day from the lanai. Like I said, the only issue is leaving. It was paradise.

I really can’t explain how special this property is, writing this review is making me want to go back!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marriett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews