We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
VIEW FROM LIVING ROOM AND LANAI
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIEW FROM LIVING ROOM AND LANAI
VIEW FROM MASTER BEDROOM A nice moment from the Lanai.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
VIEW FROM LIVING ROOM AND LANAI
VIEW FROM MASTER BEDROOM
A nice moment from the Lanai.
Living room sofa a queen sofa bed.
Living room and Kitchen.
COMPLETE KITCHEN
COMPLETE KITCHEN
COMPLETE KITCHEN
ALL UTENSILS AND VERISMO
42' LED TV AND BluRay DVD PLAYER.
KING SIZE BED
BATH AREA.
FROM BALI, CARVED PEDESTAL SINK AND CABINET.
WALK-IN SHOWER.
2ND HALF BATH
INDOOR WASHER/DRYER
COTTAGE EXTERIOR
COTTAGE GROUNDS
CONFORTABLE LANAI OVERLOOKING THE OCEAN.
Free use of beach chairs, snorkle equipment, ice chest, boogie boards for two.
THREE WORLD CLASS GOLF COURSES NEARBY: WAILEA GOLD, BLUE AND EMERALD GOLF COURSES.
EXQUISITE BEACHES ONE MILE AWAY.  WAILEA BEACH, ULUA BEACH AND NUMBEROUS OTHERS.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Wailea, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aimes5
Richland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016

Such a beautiful cottage!! Pictures do not do it justice. Dennis was amazing and very helpful upon arrival, even brought us fresh fruit from his trees. Very clean well cared for home, with an excellent view and still very close to the action. We are already looking forward to our next trip, can you have two honeymoons?? LOVE MAUI <3

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela T
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Maui Hale Olina (House of Joy) Gave Me Tears of Joy!”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So... I can't believe our Maui dream vacation has already come to an end. It went by so fast, but I am left with some amazingly wonderful memories of our stay at Dennis' Maui Hale Olina "Cottage of Joy". First of all, the pictures on TripAdvisor don't show how incredible this cottage really is. It's clean, pristinely renovated, and impeccably loaded with every modern amenity you could possibly need. When we arrived Sunday evening, I got a little teary eyed because it exceeded my every expectation. They had beautiful bedding, plush towels, comfy robes, Hawaiian artwork and a lovely note warmly greeting us, with the keys on the TV stand. Dennis was in contact with me the entire time via text to ensure we arrived and made it inside the cottage without a fuss.

When we awoke the next morning to that *incredible* view and the tropical calls of the birds, it was almost too much for my senses to take!! We used Dennis' binoculars and watched whales right from the lanai. The surrounding gardens are beautifully lush, and there are even orange and lime trees in the backyard that we picked fresh to eat with breakfast, or to make fresh orange juice and screwdrivers (amazeballs).

We decided to cook about 75% of our meals at the cottage to save money, and enjoyed every single meal. You also save so much time eating in instead of tracking down a restaurant on Yelp or waiting on servers. It gave us more beach and exploration time!! The kitchen is well equipped with pots, pans, utensils, knifes, 2 coffee makers; basically everything you need to cook or grill. Do a quick inventory of oils, condiments and spices before you head to the store. The Kitchenaid grill outside worked great as well - we made burgers and steaks. We ate both on the lanai and inside watching some HGTV (he has cable and wifi for you as well).

We also loved having the full sized washer and dryer. Since we knew we'd have the ability to wash our clothes, we were able to pack so much lighter and in smaller carry on suitcases, which made lugging them around that much easier.

My only regret is that we didn't spend our entire trip on Maui. Next time, we won't waste time on any other island. There are so many incredible beaches and things to explore - we will spend 2 weeks next time. 6 days was painfully not enough.

Dennis also has everything you need to spend the entire day at the beach, and it's not junk. He has Tommy Bahama chairs that have nifty pockets you can fill with things, and they attach to your back like a backpack. He also has a large umbrella which ensured my very pale body was not burned. We used the rolling cooler every day, and if you each hold one side you can easily carry it on the beach. He also had 2 full sets of snorkel equipment, and 2 body boards.

We decided to grab lunch at the Grand Wailea resort one day - 2 sandwiches and 2 drinks a piece = $120 including tip!! OMG!! Who does that every day on vacation haha. We packed sandwiches, chips and Maui Bikini Blonde on our first beach trip (just hide your beer when drinking it on the beach) and it was just perfect. Some beaches had BBQs so I am sure you could do hotdogs and burgers if you plan it out. No need to drop hundreds of dollars on food if you don't want to.

In all, I am still in a haze trying to recoup from the fact that we aren't in Maui anymore. It was the most amazing trip of my life, and I can't wait until we can return.

Thank you so much Dennis for your amazing hospitality and the use of your beautiful cottage! It was a dream come true for us. Mahalo!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mh36375
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay, Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The service we received from Dennis from start to finish was top class, from the initial enquiry to follow-up questions Dennis was prompt and helpful. The additional information provided around restaurants, sightseeing, shopping and the ideal island travel book made the holiday easier and one to remember. The accommodation is modern with all the amenities one would need for a self-catering island get-away, if the self-catering is not your thing but looking for accommodation away from the tourist rat race condo environment there are ample restaurants a short drive away for one to try out, trip advisor can also guide you there. The view of the bay in the morning sipping on coffee to get ones day started to the sunsets and gazing at the stars sipping on vino to the peaceful surroundings will stay with us for many years to come. When we visit the island again this will be our holiday home again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, located in a residential area so incredibbly quiet at night
Liked least: that I did not book another 3days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck M
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted !!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This bungalow was EXACTLY what we had hoped for: privacy, not a resort, a Hawaiian home, a fully equipped kitchen that allowed us to choose between dining in and dining out, a full laundry. Maui Meadows is as well located as you can be in Maui … convenient beaches, shopping, and restaurants. The cottage is like new, modernized, well-appointed, air conditioned, the kitchen and linen closet leave nothing to be desired, the yard is beautifully landscaped, and THE VIEW is FANTASTIC !! The owners were most accommodating—before, during, and after our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 249
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing