We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beach access”
Review of Polo Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polo Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wish list for our family vacation had two things at the top - a lanai where we could enjoy sunsets and whale watching and a location where I could walk out the door and be snorkeling in moments. Unit 505 at Polo Beach met both of those perfectly. We walked along the coastal path that goes by the Fairmont, Four Seasons, the Grand Wailea, as well as other condo complexes and we didn't see anything with better access to the beach or views of the ocean. We snorkeled and boogie boarded every day, often joined by sea turtles. The beach was never crowded. The lanai gave upfront row seats for watching the whales,including breaching babies and tail waving adults.

The unit was pleasantly decorated with comfortable furnishings. The beds were comfortable and you could see (and hear!) the ocean from the master bedroom. The back bedroom was a bit dark - the window looks out on to more of an open hallway than a courtyard view. The bathrooms were fine, though it would be nice to have a bit more lighting in the bath shower areas. The kitchen was a tad small if you had more than one or two people trying to help with prep. It was well-equipped - only suggestion would be to have some better knives (tough to prepare one of the marvelous Maui Gold pineapples with dull equipment) and possibly a better griddle to make preparing macadamia nut pancakes a bit easier. The grill area and herb garden were great!

The folks at Destination Resorts and at the complex itself were very cheerful, efficient and helpful. The complex was well cared for with nice landscaping. It was a peaceful setting - mostly adults though there were also several families with well- behaved children. The pool might've a bit small for some folks, but we were there for the ocean anyway. You couldn't ask or egrets irks ing - we saw a wide range of fish along the south point of the beach. And the turtles were so cool! They would swim right by when we were snorkeling and we could also watch them from the lanai.

I'd highly recommend Polo Beach Resort for folks ocean lovers who want to base in Wailea!!!

All ad all it was a wonderful spot for our group of five adults.

Room Tip: The condos ending with the number five have a lanai that runs the full length of the unit with proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oregonwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Guest Relations Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Aloha Oregonwren,
You’re so right! You can’t find another room closer to the beach in Wailea than at Polo Beach Club! Thank you for calling attention to the kitchen utensils. Our Rental Manager is replacing the knives and adding a griddle per your suggestions. And, you’ll be happy to know that a new ceiling fan with a light has already been installed to brighten up the back bedroom. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’d love for you to post your Macadamia Nut Pancake recipe on our website’s Talk Story Blog or on our Facebook Page!
A hui hou!
Matt Smith
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our seventh visit to PBC did not disappoint. Too early for Humpbacks this time, but many Honus (Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles) right off the beach. Speaking of beach, is there any softer, powdery white sand than in Wailea? Plus you can get much closer to the surf than at PBC unless you want to get wet!

We booked directly through an owner this time; but the property is managed by Destination Resorts. Lisa, one of their agents, was extraordinarily personable, friendly, and accommodating; she even remembered our names throughout our week's visit. She really added to our Aloha!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EmGoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Assistant General Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thanks for posting your review of Polo Beach Club. You're right....you just can't get a suite any closer to the beautiful white sand beach than Polo Beach Club where you get a spectacular view and can hear the sounds of the surf! We'll be sure and let Lisa know you mentioned her by name and are glad that you experienced our "aloha" during your stay.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we were all at a family wedding, and most opted for the fairmont. i was so glad to have this condo...polo beach club 108 to stay for ourselves. the hotels are BUSY and this condo complex was nice and quiet, with lovely grounds.
the condo was well equipped and liked the idea that the 2 bedrooms were separated by the front door, not sharing a wall. the bathrooms were of good size, great tile throughout. the views are amazing.
the only thing i could fault was that the carpets are white, and with kids, i felt badly walking on them!!!
much more peaceful than the hotel next door!!!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank charley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thanks for posting your review of Polo Beach Club. Most people don't realize that this resort sits right on magnificent Polo Beach where you can actually hear the surf from your condo! We're glad you enjoyed a relaxing vacation with us and congratulations to the bride and groom.
Aloha,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were in rooms 103 and 104. The rooms are ok but for sure are no better than a suite at an old motor hotel like a Best Western or the like. The air conditioner in 104 did.not work and was not fixed for over 12 hours. There were no trash cans in 103. The beach is beautiful but way to crowded and small. If you are a smoker you are not welcome here. You must go to the beach or across the street from the property. They need to have one spot dedicated for smokers! After all it is a legal product. They claim that they tell you on their website about the smoking issues but I took images of the polo beach club site and the destinations website and it says noting about the smoking ban. Nothing was in our rental paperwork either. So if you smoke stay away if you don't then this is an ok place but a little run down. Not worth 4800.00 per week per room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Camaro68Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

We were so sorry to hear that you had not been informed that the Polo Beach Club is a completely non-smoking property. Because you had made your reservations through a private owner, we are unable to comment on the communication that you received. The non-smoking policy is set by the Homeowners Association for the entire property and not by any property management firm. Our Destination Resorts Hawaii website does indicate our non-smoking policy on the Polo Beach Club / Amenities page in order to best meet guest’s expectations. We very much appreciate that you have informed potential guests that this is a non-smoking property.
Sincerely,
Ben Beaudoin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and kids (8, 11) stayed in Unit #407 for 5 nights. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit was just like the photos. The unit was beautiful and the location was great. On check-in, however, our room was not clean (trash under bed, kitchen floor sticky) which was a bit disturbing. The conscierge wasn't overly helpful the one time we dealt with them, but we've stayed in Maui before so we pretty much knew what we wanted so that wasn’t really much of a problem. The beach location is great and we mostly walked over to the part of Polo Beach in front of the Fairmont (just beware of partially submerged rocks near the shoreline - one got my 8 yr old daughter when she was boogie-boarding). The room came with beach chairs which was great and the balcony was huge (with great views). The only problem I had with the room itself is that there is a large window right next to the unit's entrance door so anyone in the hallway can see right into your unit with no way to block that (we partially blocked it with a boogie board). There was also only one doorknob lock (no deadbolt or any other locking mechanism) which made me slightly uneasy with the kids being in a separate bedroom (maybe crime is negligible, but every other room we had in Hawaii had better locks). The pool was nice and never crowded. Parking is in the basement and very convenient. All in all, the unit met my expectations. My one negative is that it was extremely costly and looking back, I'm not sure I would spend that much again. It was the definitely the nicest room we had on our 2 week trip, but it was also by far the most expensive. We'll be back to Maui in the future, but I'm just not sure we'll be back at this location – especially since we tend to spend a lot of time off-property doing things. But if money is not an issue, this certainly is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank humuhumu_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinationMaui, Manager at Polo Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2011

Thank your for taking the time to share your experience at the Polo Beach Club. We were sorry to hear of the service issues you had and will share it with the staff to improve our level of service. With a prime beachfront location on its own excluded beach, the Polo Beach Club can be considered costly. We have 6 additional resorts at lower price ranges so please give us a call for your return visit. We really do appreciate you sharing your experience, since it is so valuable to future guests making their vacation plans. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wailea hotels
0.2 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.7 km away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#3 of 8 in Wailea
528 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 km away
Wailea Beach Villas
Wailea Beach Villas
#1 of 8 in Wailea
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polo Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Beach Club

Address: 4400 Makena Rd, Check in at 34 Wailea Gateway Place, Suite A102, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8492
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price Range: ₹ 31,524 - ₹ 73,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polo Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hidden gem bordering the Wailea Resort is noted for its prime Maui beachfront location on Polo Beach. A breathtaking, idyllic beach, guests have exclusive access to splash at the ocean's edge or venture further out to challenge the surf. Resorts amenities include a beachfront swimming pool, whirlpool spa, barbecue grills and an herb garden. Enjoy the view and sound of the ocean waves from each deluxe two-bedroom, two-bath suite. Enter through a marbled entryway that leads to a sunken living room with marvelous ocean views. Each suite offers a fully equipped kitchen, living and dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polo Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Beach Club Hotel Wailea
Polo Beach Club Maui
Polo Beach Club Wailea, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing