We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and spacious condo but REALLY NOISY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton/Dundas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty and spacious condo but REALLY NOISY!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed in unit 102 at Wailea Ekolu on Maui from July 9 through the 16. The second floor condo was clean (except for the BBQ grill) and pleasantly decorated, but we were VERY disappointed in its location and the amount of traffic noise.

We had asked the booking agency specifically (MauiHoliday.com) for a quiet location. We ended up in the unit closest to the road. There was constant traffic going up and down the hill to and from the Shops at Wailea. In addition, there was construction going on at the top of the hill so the truck noise was dreadful. The one saving grace was the airconditioning. We had to have it running constantly at night in order to shut out the worst of the traffic. I spoke to the property manager about the noise, and was informed that we were staying in the noisiest building on the property. (This unit is owned/run by a real estate agent.)

After walking around the complex, it was clear that other buildings were not as noisy. If you are considering booking here, make sure you see a site map BEFORE you book. Try to keep to the higher end numbers.and stay well away from the road accessing the Shops at Wailea.

Some other points that could have used improvement:
1. a working blender
2. a dustpan
3. remotes that worked so that we could adjust the speed of the ceiling fans
4. a clean BBQ grill - I had to soak it for 30 minutes before I could get all the grime off
5. a "resource binder" for the condo containing:
a) a map of the complex,
b) clear information as to the location of beach accesses
c) instructions for where towels etc. were to be left when one was ready to check out
d) rules for the complex (we got in trouble for hanging towels on the railing)
e) curtains or blinds to shut out the sun in the bedrooms - that would also help keep things cooler


On a positive note - the grounds here are lovely. Our neighbours were all very quiet. It was amusing to watch the resident geckos run up and down the lanai walls.

While we were disappointed that our condo was so noisy, we did manage to have a good time on Maui. We made sure that we were out most of the day and tried to be in the condo only for breakfast, dinner and sleeping at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJPSdundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    39
    13
    13
    3
See reviews for
59
58
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We just returned from a fabulous 23 nights at unit #1507 at Ekolu Condos in Wailea. I cannot say enough good things about this condo in particular but also Ekolu. We have stayed in many condos and villas throughout the Hawaiian Islands, Mexico and Europe and I have to say that this unit ranks up there with the very best of anything we have stayed in.

First, I would recommend Ekolu condos to anyone. We have stayed at the Grand Champions before and although they are are nice, Ekolu is much more spread out and the private. It is a bit higher up the hill in Wailea so the views are more spectacular in my opinion. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The pools are lovely. I read reviews of Ekolu before we left and noticed some families complained that they were told to be more quiet at the pool. We had this experience at the Grand Wailea as there seemed to be a person who's only job was to walk from pool to pool yelling at kids who were laughing and splashing. We did not have this experience at Ekolu but I have to be honest and say that I can understand to a point why they try to control the noise. It is so quiet and peaceful and I wouldn't want to hear other kids yelling and screaming at the pool so why should people want to hear mine? I think that this would be the norm at any condo unit in Wailea so if you have kids who love to yell and scream at the pool, Wailea may not be the place for you.

It is about a 10 minute walk down to the shops at Wailea and then about another 10-15 minutes to the beach. It is possible to walk it which we did on many occations and in our opinion, the best beaches on Maui are in Wailea. We snorkled and dove right from the beach and swam with all kinds of fish, massive turtles, eels, octopus, manta rays and even a few "baby" tiger sharks who were "only" 10 feet long:)

Now on to unit#1507. We were so pleasantly surprised with the unit. The pictures on Mark and Nancy's website are great but I think they don't do the unit justice...especially the picture of the main lanai and the view. The views are SPECTUALAR!! The furniture on the lanai is perfect because the table is a bar height table so you are sitting up above the railing and have unobstructed views. They also have great wicker chairs which is where we sat whenever we were at the condo.

The kitchen was another highlight for us. It is a bit on the smaller size but perfect for a family of 4. There wasn't one thing that we needed that wasn't already there. This kitchen was honestly the best stocked kitchen of any place we have ever stayed in the world!

The living room area is very comfortable and there were CD's and/or videos provided...at least I think there were because we nevere actually looked at them or sat inside...why would you with such incredible views?!? The bedrooms were great, very comfortable beds with full ensuites.

There isn't anything I could say that is negative about the condo or the complex. Mark and Nancy were incredibly helpful whenever I had any questions and were always quick to reply. I wouldn't stay any place else on the island of Maui from now on and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Our stay at the wailea ekolu village was wonderful! Upon arrival our check in was easy and the staff was friendly and accomodating. From there the room, view, and, property only got better.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacati0ner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We just returned from a week stay in unit #1406 in Wailea Ekolu Village. We had booked thru Orbitz, and did check the TripAdvisor reviews before we went. There were several reviews for other untis that were very good, but I was so shocked at how pretty our unit was when I walked in the door. We had a 2BR, 2BA condo. Master bedroom was a king and the guest room had two twins. It would be ideal for a family. The condo was comfortably furnished and well appointed. Our view of South Maui from the Lanai included an ocean view and we were right above the pool. There was a washer/dryer combo which is really helpful on an active Maui vacation. The owners had also left boogie boards, beach chair, pool noodle and beach umbrellas for us to use.
It was a gorgeous setting, and well priced for this resort area. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiDef_inATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

My wife and I stayed 10 days in unit 502 in Ekolu Village with a couple friend of ours. We are all from Montreal, early 30s professionals and have traveled quite a bit through Europe and spent many a vacation in the resorts in the Caribbeans and Mexico. First time in Hawai'i.

Our vacation was absolutely fantastic! We visited during the second half of May (we missed the whales!) and the condo delivered as advertised and more! The place was clean and well kept. The view was better than the pictures, we had our own private lanais from our bedrooms as well as a spacious communal lanai off the living room which could easily accommodate us 4 lying around having lazy late afternoon drinks. There was ample parking for our rental cars. Opening the windows would create enough of a breeze to make the condo comfortable, but who wants to stay in doors when visiting paradise? The condo owner was a pleasure to deal with, really professional service and always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

There were quite a few beaches a short driving distance from the condo (Polo beach was our favourite, saw a lot of turtles while snorkeling there), we could also take a 5 minute walk down the street beyond the shops of Wailea (upscale shopping center - http://www.shopsatwailea.com/TheShops.htm) to the beach, I have read some complaints that the incline of the road was too much but I can't imagine anyone that doesn't have serious problems walking on a flat surface having trouble with it, besides who's in a hurry with such a gorgeous view of the mountains and the ocean? take a breather you're on vacation!

The southern location made it a great starting point to any of the points of interest on the island, it's pretty much equal distance to both sides of the island... we made day trips to Lahaina, Hana and Haelakela. I found that our area (Makena, Wailea and Kihei) was more practical and friendly than the resort areas of the north-west, lots of small shops, not the "prison" feel I get from master planned compounds.

The only downside for us was the heavy duty gardening at 8am some mornings, luckily for us the jet lag was such that HI 6am was our local 10am so we'd be up way before the noise would start but I can see why it would be an annoyance if I wanted to sleep in (then again, it lasted about 30 minutes... leaf blowers and hedge trimmers were the culprit)

All in all we were all very satisfied with the unit, the island and the service. Thanks, we'll be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel_Fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wailea hotels
1.3 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
1.4 km away
Wailea Ekahi Village
Wailea Ekahi Village
#2 of 8 in Wailea
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
1.2 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.6 km away
Wailea Grand Champions Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailea Ekolu Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailea Ekolu Village Resort

Property: Wailea Ekolu Village Resort
Address: 10 Wailea Ekolu Pl, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-9527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wailea
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,716 - ₹ 29,112
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wailea Ekolu Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the slopes of Haleakala with incredible vistas of the Pacific Ocean, Molokini crater and the neighboring islands of Lana'i and Kahoolawe, this condo resort has an ideal location at the gateway to Wailea. Set among the plush Wailea beach resorts, with easy escape to discover and explore the island of Maui and perched amid an 18-acre tropical garden paradise with 2 pools, recreation pavilion and barbecue grills, it's just a tee shot away from the Wailea Blue Golf Course. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, living/dining area and en-suite washer and dryer. Amenities include resort credits for dining and spa services at nearby resorts, parking, hi speed Wi-Fi internet access, phone calls, housekeeping every third day, and a Maika'i grocery discount card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wailea Ekolu Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailea Ekolu Village Hotel Wailea
Wailea Ekolu Village Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing