We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$1,114
View deal
Travelocity
$1,114
View deal
Booking.com
$949
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$1,114
Priceline$1,114
FindHotel$1,176
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
13
5
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
5
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marriott points room balcony pool bar high end rooms are beautiful residence inn walking distance storage drawers pillows cons lahaina cabana towels maui ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2022

We recently stayed at the AC Wailea over New Years. I had read reviews of the place so knew what I was getting into. We have stayed in the Wailea area many times but the resorts were incredibly expensive over New Years so opted to stay here for the first time. Here are some things I think you should know.

Staff was very nice, always saying hello, welcoming. We never ever had an issue with housekeeping, they came around the same time (we were out). There is no bellman, no valet. I didn't bringing our stuff to our room (they have a luggage dolly) but if you had a lot of stuff or weren't physically capable, that would be an issue.

While the staff was generally welcoming, there seemed a sort of impersonal air that maybe comes with a Marriott. We've stayed at hotels over NYE that gave out hats and noisemakers on NYE. Those kinds of touches help make your stay.

We opted to head to the beach vs frequent the pool. Would have loved if the hotel had beach chairs you could bring with you (we've seen this at other hotels) but they don't offer this. We rented chairs which was fine and just kept them in our trunk. Both Wailea and Uulu beach are just a few minutes drive from the hotel and we never had a problem with parking. While the hotel says it's an easy walk, when you are lugging a bunch of beach stuff, we found it easier to drive. One gripe is the towels they provide. They are hilariously small - smaller than our bath towels! Would be great if they upgraded to a bigger size. As a result, we ended up bringing at least 5 towels with us to the beach each visit.

Our room was fine. Yes there are only two drawers but we made it work - it was fine. Our room was available early which was nice. The room faced the street but we didn't hear the noise. We also still had a view of the ocean (4th floor) and amazingly enough, we had a great view of the NYE fireworks from our lanai. But the bed, sofa were comfy. Bathroom could have had more hooks for towels (and more towels) but worked for the two of us.

Overall, this is NOT a resort hotel, this isn't a full service hotel. You don't get a lei upon arrival. But we knew that going in, we've been to the area, we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. Can't remark on the bar or food since we didn't use it. We were going to use the gym but noticed a lot were in there sans mask so we opted out.

We did appreciate the live music. We also liked that the hotel is actually quite small. Walking from the room to the car was super quick - unlike the bigger resorts, you're often waiting on a valet to bring your car to you. Location to the shops was easy too and parking was free so we often went there for food or shopping.

At the end of the day, while I do love a beachfront hotel with the option of a beach chair, this was an adequate choice and I'd consider it again if everything else was too pricey.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank another650traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleo Kenui, General Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Maui Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2022

Aloha and mahalo for your feedback. We appreciate the detailed review of our hotel. I am pleased you've enjoyed your stay here at our Marriott Select Brand hotel and sure hope to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Wailea. A hui hou (until we meet again.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2021 via mobile

They missed many days of room refreshes. And came in around 7PM for a linen change…even though we requested it in the morning. The housekeeping staff seems lazy…arriving 45 minutes after each request. And the management is non-existent…doesn’t care much about their customer complaints

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Coastal38575668901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2021

This hotel is new as it opened in early 2021.

Location: The AC is definitely not directly on the water. Rather, it is on a hillside overlooking the water. It's about a 15-minute walk down to the water.

It is a decent-sized hotel but is substantially smaller compared to a Marriott or full-sized resort. Personally, I like the size of this hotel.

It has an infinity-edge pool, hot tub, and large outdoor and indoor spaces.

In addition, there is a nice-sized fitness center with treadmills, a TRX, kettlebells, and a Peloton bike.

Cons:
- We could hear our upstairs neighbors walking around. I don't know if it's the construction or they were just wearing shoes or boots.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank felixc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2021 via mobile

Best service in Wailea!!!
We initially booked our trip for the Residence Inn right up the street from the AC but they didn’t have a room for the first night of our trip. So we booked the AC Marriott for the one night.
We were so impressed with the staff, the cleanliness, and the location we asked to extend our stay with the AC and canceled our reservation at the Residence Inn. It’s also less expensive.
Jayzer at the front desk helped us coordinate the whole thing! He even toured us on the rooms available so we could pick which one we want.
The views are spectacular from pool area. The drinks and food are great too. Mark at the bar is so friendly and helpful. He makes some great drinks and great conversation.

The breakfast buffet at first glance looks pretty lite. But there’s is a menu to select dishes from and you can order as much as you want. They should definitely get some pics up of the waffles, egg toast, and avocado toast to entice you in to eat there. For $22 pp you can’t find a better breakfast nearby with the variety they have.

The location is perfect. You are up high enough for a view but still close enough to walk to Akamai Coffee in the morning and the Shops at Wailea. Also very easy walk to Wailea Beach our favorite spot.

Don’t worry about what people say about the parking lot being in the view in the other reviews. Who cares!!! You’re in Maui and the view above the parking lot is beautiful!
We are planning on staying here next time we visit. We are so glad we were able to stay the first night and be exposed to this great hotel.

A big MAHALO to the entire staff!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TootnGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

Read the reviews carefully. Although we are having a great time here, the complaints are accurate and you need to determine what is important to you.

The one complaint that is extremely valid no matter what your circumstance is the lack of drawers. There is empty space where you can put things but considering that
most people stay for days, the lack of drawer space should be considered heavily for your personal preference.

I am currently sitting on our oceanfront balcony. It is gorgeous. It does in fact overlook the parking lot. It’s not that pretty but the pool and ocean are gorgeous so it doesn’t bother me. It could very well bother you.

The staff is in fact great. We asked for lotion and got it within five minutes. They do have daily room service which during Covid is not at all a given.

Personally, I think it is much better than the Marriott Wailea beach club bc it is not a congested massive hotel. It is very quiet. It is also November 2021 and I’m guessing half full so maybe it’s not always quiet. We also used Marriott points and I doubt I’d feel quite the same had we paid the $850/night that is the current rate for this room.

There is zero privacy from the bathroom. Yes there is a door but it is opaque and provides zero noise or light protection. If your roommate turns on the light in the bathroom during the night, you will feel like you are living the scene in Christmas vacation.

A definite plus is that they have a peloton in the exercise facility. Peloton addicts understand.

It is super close to the golf courses.

All in all it is a great experience but you should carefully consider what ia important to you.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank np111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Y, Guest Services / Front Office at AC Hotel by Marriott Maui Wailea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2021

Aloha np111,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We 're glad you enjoyed your ocean views and we also appreciate your acknowledgement of our team members' great service and hard work.

We'll make sure to share your feedback and recommendation for future improvements.

Mahalo,
AC Wailea 'ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews