We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,335)
Filter reviews
7,335 results
Traveller rating
4,175
1,634
790
458
278
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,175
1,634
790
458
278
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water elevator napua tower lazy river grand wailea rope swing chapel wing bistro molokini hibiscus pool volcano bar the grand dining room cafe kula spa grande four seasons pool area adult pool per day valet parking
Filter
Updating list...
6,281 - 6,286 of 7,335 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Travelled here when the hotel first opened and was back five years ago. This place is better than ever. Less nickle and diming. I think management took many of the complaints to heart. 5 years ago, you had to buy a casabella to have shade, now they provide free beach chairs and umbrellas. The staff seemed more professional and better trained than before as well. Overall, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adler223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Views of the beautiful Wailea beach are spectacular. The pools and water slides are great for kids and kids at heart. The best place in stay in Maui.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI_Traveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We have stayed at the Grand Wailea many times. It has great amentities and location. Perfect for kids. Howver, the management has changed to Hilton. The place is going down hill fast.. Many of our conversations with guests was about this topic. EVERY return guest noticed the difference. There is a fee for EVERYTHING now, the bathroom near the pool was out of order for 2 straight days. People must have been peeing in pool with no place to go. My eyes were burning from pool water being so chlorinated. Service was spotty. Some good some not good. Our booking was screwed up so we were offered free room upgrade that was on our confirmation email. At check in, they claimed no such upgrade was part of reservation. We had to go to the business center to print out reservation that showed upgrade on eamil. We were charged 10 bucks for this. Then when we showed front desk, they made process too difficult to even deal with it. There were lines for all water slides. Very difficult to get lounge chairs even when hotel not that full. It seems they create false demand for shade and chairs to charge $300 for place to sit by pool in a cabana. Luau was a joke. We stood in multiple lines for hours for bad food and amatuer show. Staff just stood around not knowing what to do. One guy sat people as people in line were frustrated. Fire dancer at end was very good though. Bottom line if you don't have kids, stay at the four seasons for the money. If you have kids, book a two day stay for the slides at most . Then move to Four seasons. Our kids ended up playing in ocean much more than the pool. It is a shame. Such a great property.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padresin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We returned to the GW in June of 2010 after getting married there 10 years ago. The experience was everything we remembered and more!

The facility itself is beyond compare. If you were imagining a fantasy trip to Hawai'i - this is the place you would see.

In the 10 years since our last visit, the rooms seem not to have aged a day. Still roomy, bright and comfortable. The addition of LCD TV's since our last visit was a nice touch.

The staff is what makes this place the best. They are not all over you, they are simply there and available when you need them. They are courteous and helpful at all times and always willing to go out of their way for you, and they always remember you the next time they see you.

The Wailea area itself is out of this world. Everything you need is within walking distance, and the beach area is one of the best in the islands, with every beach activity (except parasailing) available whenever you like.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stryker-houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

What can I say...... We stayed on Kauai and Maui in January on our long awaited Hawaiian trip. We couldn't have been more pleased with our whole trip. However, the highlight had to be our 5 day stay at Grand Wailea. From the moment we entered Grand Wailea's grounds, we were completely impressed. Our room had an ocean view and we were able to watch hump back whales from our balcony. The bathrooms were great in the guest rooms and the amenities are some of our favorites (a coconut smell)! Beds were also fine.

The facilities at the hotel were awesome – immaculately kept. The boys (17 & 13) loved the pool complex, as did my wife and I. We also partook in the complimentary scuba introduction. Needless to say, once we were complete with the intro, we went diving right off of Garand Wailea's beach. AWESOME - sea urchins, star fish and octopus. We could also hear the humpbacks talking.

The location was great for all of our needs. We frequently shot down the coast to the town of Kihei for shopping and "island" eating - lots of variety. There was also some great high-end shopping right at the hotel and at a mall right next door. We went to the highlands, whale watching, the road to Hana, and more.

We loved Maui!!!! We would definitely go back and we will definitely be staying at Grand Wailea!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scope123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews