We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blindsided and Broke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wailea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facilities and views at The Grand Wailea are beautiful. Truly a wonderful hotel. However, I must also voice a few complaints. The first is that when I booked I believed that price was the price for the hotel. Once we arrived, I was informed that there is an additional $30/day "hotel fee" and and additional $30/day valet service. Neither is completely unreasonable, but I felt very blindsided by these fees since there was no mention of them while booking this hotel. The second complaint is that while we were in a suite we had ants coming out from behind the bed. Once informed the hotel staff did act quickly to come and spray for them. However, the ants persisted the next day. Ants in a suite?! Unbelievable. During checkout I was ushered along quickly and was not given a chance to voice my complaints. Once again, it was a beautiful hotel but for how expensive everything was I just expected more.

Room Tip: Expect an extra $60/day for whichever room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank asteen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Wailea_3850, Director of Operations at Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Aloha asteen7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I regret to hear you were not made aware of some of our resort charge during the booking process. We will ensure our team looks into this as it; we promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Mahalo,
Todd Temperly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 6,489 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here recently for a conference and the hotel is lovely. We stayed in the molokini wing which was near the conference and lucked out b/c there's a group valet here which is far less busy than the main valet. So we got our car easily without too much delay each time. Yes, it's valet only but we appreciated how timely they were and the water bottles they gave us each time. Plus for the conference meetings, it was an easy walk to/from. Plus easy to walk to the pool/beach.

Our room was an ocean front room and wow, what a view! Amazing view (7th floor was quiet) of the ocean and grounds. We had a king size bed, a couch, desk and big enough bathroom (honestly it was large). Loved the room and bathroom but hated the florescent lighting in the room - I love a a more natural light at night vs a cool and cold light. Loved the lanai for sitting and drying our swimsuits.

Grounds are expansive, pools are many but September seemed to temper the crowds. We really only visited the beach and the staff there were amazing at getting us beach chairs (included in the resort fee). I wish the GW would do drink service at the beach but we were okay to get our own. The only time we used the pool was at night for the adult-only pool. Honestly, why use the pool when you have the ocean (plus a turtle swam right by us!) right there! Make sure you check-in to get your pool wristband and at the beach cart to get your pass for beach chairs. While we never got up and going in time for the first row of chairs, we often were able to move forward after sometime left and the grace period was over.

Breakfast buffet was pretty good - lots of birds which is entertaining but people seemed pretty freaked out. Cafe Kula was another option for us in the morning which we used one time. Otherwise we ate out at surrounding restaurants (Kihei Caffe is amazing!) and we loved the islander market at the shops at Wailea. That's new for us and we found the food options great.

It was definitely a drive to Lahaina (Star Noodle) and Wailuku (Mill House) and Haleakala but it's no more than 40 minutes (more for Haleakala) and there's no real traffic. So just enjoy it! Other favorites we found: Monkeypod (make a reservation), Kihei Caffe (line moves quickly, bring cash), Da Kitchen Express (great, easy hawaiian food).

Tips: Bring singles! Tip your valet guys and tip the guys who set up your beach chairs. They work really hard and are deserving. Also we stopped at the Costco right when we landed to get water and snacks for the room - room came with an empty fridge (housekeeping also gives you free water bottles everyday) so we could have food on the go and make it easy. Target and Walmart are also in the nearby vacinity.

Room Tip: Our room was really quiet and we were on the 7th floor of the Molokini wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kat650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best place ever to stay!! These staff was amazing, the views were to die for. The food was incredible, the room was spacious enough, bathroom was a great size ( love that)! Bed was very comfortable! Overall amazing place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank C6068PLdavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an awesome ocean deluxe room. View was beautiful. The amenities offered at the hotel was great. From the spa, to the lazy river to Fun water slides, to beautiful beach in this bay full of fish and wonderful turtles. The humu restaurant was delicious and the servers treat you very special. This is a great place for having fun and romance and families too. awesome location in wailea...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moelterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If u stay here try and get in the napua tower. If a few extra bucks but u get free breakfast, free happy hour, free Hors d'oeuvres. And a chocolate dessert bar. Amazing. Lots of stuff to do great beach. Great pools, lots if great restaurants on site. Prepared to be pampered. The rooms were amazing. And the views are to die for.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailea
1.0 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 km away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
36.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
37.2 km away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 3850 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea, Maui, HI 96753-8443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wailea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wailea
#4 Family Hotel in Wailea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wailea
#5 Spa Hotel in Wailea
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wailea
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wailea
Price Range: ₹ 31,203 - ₹ 84,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Wailea, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is the ultimate destination for a fabulous Hawaii vacation, perfect for families, spa goers, honeymooners, golfers and active vacationers. Situated on 40 acres of lush, tropical Hawaiian gardens, Grand Wailea opens onto Maui's beautiful Wailea Beach, voted one of the best beaches in America, with elegant and newly-renovated accommodations, indulgent spa treatments, fine dining and thrilling recreational options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Wailea - a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Wailea
Grand Wailea Maui
Grand Wailea Resort Maui
Grand Wailea Hawaii
Grand Hotel Wailea
Grand Resort Wailea
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing