We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,439)
Filter reviews
7,439 results
Traveller rating
4,249
1,648
795
465
282
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,249
1,648
795
465
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water elevator napua tower lazy river grand wailea hibiscus pool chapel wing rope swing bistro molokini the grand dining room cafe kula spa grande four seasons pool area adult pool per day valet parking ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
6,619 - 6,624 of 7,439 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Wow, my wife and I are completely homesick for the GW. This truly was an amazing stay. Here are some facts and a little background on what we can compare this Hotel to:
We have traveled to many countries including: Italy, Greece, Turkey, China, Moscow, Israel, France, Thailand, Hong Kong, +++ and we live in Southern California near Laguna Beach so the bar is quite high. The GW was really the most beautiful place we’ve ever stayed at. This IS a 5 star resort. But what made it great was the friendly staff and amazing pool. When you travel, if you choose to stay at a 5 star hotel you expect 5 star service. The people were just amazing. Michele in reservations and Shannon at the front counter are just two examples of Perfect service. Yes you are going to pay a little more money for food and other items, but what do you expect when you are in such a place. My wife and I absolutely loved the pool. We spent most of our time here just hanging out and talking with our 1 year old. The $14.95 burger at the pool was super tasty, the spa is a must visit. We love to travel and actually do not have tons of money, but we like nice things. So we saved and were able to make the trip here. We can’t wait to go back. Great to bring kids too. The pools are separated for kids and adults so either way is perfect if you don’t want to be around the children. Just get there and relax. The Hotel it self is just beautiful. You can see the pictures all over the internet and they are accurate in beauty. But you could have a beautiful place and terrible service, but here you get the whole package which is very important when you take a vacation. Thanks to everyone at the GW!!!

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheeBabydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Visited Hawaii for 4th time and had MOST ENJOYABLE vacation at this Resort. Great, dsicounted group rates for on-site meeting ~$300/night. Beautiful grounds, beach, pools, and common areas. Excellent rooms and Fitness Center. Restaurant, housekeeping, and Bar service was disappointing but beautiful setting and amenities more than compensated. Would gladly return.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPH_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Wailea recently and couldn't have asked for a more perfect experience. We splurged and enjoyed watching the sunset from our ocean view room in the Napua Tower which comes with some fabulous amenities (great complimentary breakfast, cocktails and pu pus and use of a couple of Apple computers with great big monitors.) Spectacular spa experience (anti-aging facial and a deep tissue massage). We like kids but were delighted that there was a separate pool for adults when we wanted some quiet relaxation. Food, service and atmosphere at Humuhumu for dinner were outstanding. No complaints! Loved IT! GO!!!

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadsteveLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

ARRIVAL:

I cannot say enough good things about this resort. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with smiles and immediately had our bags taken out of our hands and whisked away to our room. Check in was quick and extremely easy, they already had everything prepared before our arrival.

ROOM:

We stayed in a Napua Club Room and if you are willing to pay the extra cost , it is definitely worth it! The room service was exceptional, and the turn down service even better. The Napua Level included a full breakfast buffet every morning, water/ice tea and cookies all day, and an AMAZING cocktail hour starting at 5:30. The Mai Tai's were incredible, and the bar tender (I wish I could remember her name) was very nice and called all of us by our first and last names.

The room was awesome, and the beds even more. The view equally as great, and the bathroom too. Shower was huge, and the jacuzzi tub was as well. The whole room had a very luxurious classy vibe to it.

FOOD:

Expensive.... but very very good. I'm not going to complain about the prices at this hotel, because at the end of the day you get what you pay for. This hotel is known for being luxurious and high class, so obviously it will be highly priced. Although, once again the food was impeccable. We ate at every restaurant and our personal favorite was the "Bistro Molokini". It was the cafe next to the adult pool, and although casual the food was still wonderful, with a variety of options.

POOLS:

PERFECT. The adult pool was always quiet, and had friendly pool service. You can reserve a cabana near the pool for a fee, but it was a nice bonus. The hot tubs were set at a perfect temperature as well.

The main pool had SO many awesome activities and kept the kids busy all day. Between the water slides, lazy river, and rope swing i'd say it was one of the best pools i've ever seen. You can also schedule scuba diving lessons, they have a private pool to learn in.

BEACH:

Very nice, the water was very calm and nice to swim in. If I had one complaint i'd say that it was a bit to crowded. It isn't a very big beach, and when you have 3 hotels that are using that beach it can get crowded quickly. Make sure you get up and grab a nice spot early in the morning. (Same goes for the pools)

LOCATION:

Excellent. The Wailea shops were a short walk away, and if you feel like eating away from the resort there are some casual restaurants within walking distance as well. The nightlife is a short cab ride away, and not as stuffy as the town of Wailea.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE:

I recommend this hotel and vacation spot to almost anyone. It's great for families, couples, young people, just about everyone! If you are going to be staying at this resort, and I can assure you that you will have an amazing time!

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelManiac1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Annual guests for 15 years at the Grand Wailea. Recent visit (3-09) under the new Elite membership program was excellent. This new program provides many benefits from reduced room rates to food and beverage discounts. This coupled with the Grand Wailea's recent $50 Million upgrading of the property, has brought the resort to a whole new level and we think the finest in Maui. I highly recommend the new Elite membership program. Even after 15 years of visits we always re-experience the finest in accommodations and service at the Grand Wailea.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews