We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
28
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt room was clean bruce trail price was reasonable sliding door other guests bob tents camping bbq wood motel hatchet backyard sheets dog blast
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in the tents two adults in one and the two kids in the other. Distance between tents was perfect for being close enough to the kids but just far enough to have a private little getaway for parents ! Tents were clean, stocked with water and fresh linens. The only complaint was it was quite damp and the sheets were somewhat moist. After we laid in them a while they got much more dry from our body heat. We arrived after a lot of rain and there was more rain in the night so that's to be expected ! The staff were friendly, toilet areas clean, lots of room for the dog to run. It was a great stop off on the way to the ferry and more camping for us :) thanks for the nice stay !!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We came on a work-related trip, and this motel met all our needs. First thing I did upon arrival, was to unroll my yoga mat in the back yard, by the firepit, and do a session. It was so peaceful - the sun on my face, the rustling of the bush behind us, and the sound of traffic to ground me. Loved it.

There is a firepit, plus hatchet and all the wood you would need. The only thing I did not like, was that there was a couple of water bottles and a plate sitting around from a previous night - things could have been tidied up a bit better. But still....seeing a night full of stars was awesome!

The owners are super friendly, check in and check out was smooth. Price is very reasonable - $100.00 + taxes. Breakfast included: cereal, muffins, yogurt, fruit, tea & coffee & juice.

We stayed in room 29...the faucet at the sink needs attention. Otherwise, the room appeared clean, the A/C worked well, drapes were heavy, WIFI connection excellent, outside chairs included. Beds were somewhat noisy, but comfy. Pillows good. Did not smell.

All in all, we would definitely stay again. Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Stayed for one night with two friends while hiking the beautiful Bruce Trail. The room was spacious and clean (linens smelled so fresh) with a sliding door to a grassed and treed backyard. Great location too - we could walk to Wiarton's restaurants in about ten minutes. The central lodge had everything we needed including Bruce Trail information, local products and a fun rustic atmosphere. Breakfast was exactly what we wanted - fruit, coffee, tea, cereal, yoghurt, muffins, porridge and bagels served at a big communal wooden table. Bob, our host, shared his knowledge with us and shuttled us to the trailhead, saving us the aggravation of bringing two cars.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lorraine2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Overall, the room was ok. It was clean, but the beds were old and noisy and the washroon would need to be updated. But, the staff was very friendly and the room provide access to a nice backyard with a common firepit. The breakfast si quitte simple (2 kinds of cereals, baguels, orange juice and coffee) but it was enough for wath ee needed.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ihajoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

First off, the owners!! Amazing! They have thought of everything...so well organized and set up. Did you know the "Bruce Caves" are in Wiarton? It was just down the road from us!! A lot more to venture than just the Grotto! What an amazing family run business, they were helpful with attraction advice, kind and courteous.

We stayed two nights with our little lap dog, two adults and two children between ages 9 and 13. Many places up North charge a bit more for a "Pet Fee"...VERY reasonable surcharge !!!

1st night "GLAMPING" (Glamorous Camping). FYI they now only have two tents, each with a double bed, they are about 7 meters away from each other. They are very cute set ups, elevated off the ground, a double bed, a little rustic table with crackled paint finish and two chairs for conversation or a card game, Bath towels in a cute wicker basket, a provided flashlight/ lantern, bedside cute little "oil" lamps (LED bulb) as a night light.

We were the only ones at the fire pit and all the wood was provided along with a hatchet (which we hid for safety at night lol!) We roasted marsh mellows and wieners as we looked up at the clear star filled skies...just beautiful. Not many mosquitoes surprisingly this time of year? There is a provided rack if you want to cook on the fire, and a provided propane BBQ if you want to grill!

Oh yes there is a designated room in the middle of the row of motel rooms that has a microwave, kettle, hot plate, fridge, plates, cups, utensils, cooking utensils. Someone even left half a bottle of Vodka and nobody touched it!

The outhouse (House that the outpost is situated has blocked off areas after business hours) has two washrooms, a shower stall, towels stocked, hotel packaged soaps and shampoos, hairdryer, cups...SO WELL THOUGHT OUT!
About 15 yards away from the eye line of the tents so not that far away and visible.

The cost of the night stay was VERY REASONABLE especially if you are a party of two (Cheaper than any hotel/motel) only problem was that I didn't have a large male group and the odd bug and sounds at night may have startled the girls Haha! I loved my first "Glamping" experience! Would do it again without the kids for sure!!
OH YES!!!! THE POST ABOUT THE SOFT BEAD SHEETS? HIGH THREAD COUNT? IT'S IS SOOOOO TRUE! I think I will have to invest in some myself! I seriously have never felt softer sheets!!

FREE breakfast! Well done! In the "Outpost". Yogurt,Juice,Bagels,Toaster,Coffee,Milk,Cream,Utensils,Cups,Boxed min cereals with a variety to keep them occupied, fresh apples and bananas. We ate breakfast there and it was such a nice lodge like feeling with so much to look at in the shopping portion of the building. So well merchandised!!! Great place to find some souvenirs!!! We got some cute items to remind us of our stay!!

We drove to Tobermory (50min away), perfect to get out early with a short drive to the Bruce Park if you are planning that. We went to Flower Pot Island instead and had an amazing time...note: you need at least 3 hours to really enjoy that island!

2nd Night we stayed in a room and got a Queen bed, and a Double bed. There was a large family dining table where we ate our rotisserie chicken and sushi from the 24 hour grocery store down the road! Nothing is marked up in that grocery store which you would think they can for tourists!

Everything was great about the room that was pet friendly, we are actually allergic to pet dander and took a anti histamine pill just to be sure...no other pet odors noticed at all in the room (fyi we have a hypoallergenic dog). Remember this isn't the Holiday Inn so this room bumped "Glamping" up a notch!! Ha! Eating Sushi in motel room ahhh so nice! Then out to the fire pit after to gaze at the stars again! Free WIFI too (even in the tents)!

Almost forgot... the tandem boats, and standing paddle boards can be rented through this place...just got to put them into the main park by the marina (5min drive). We paddled calm waters with vests on to the winding red stairway along the rock front. The owner provided us with the accurate landmarks to look for along the shore, we got off the tandem boats, and walked right to the staircase avoiding the 2hour hike in the Spirit Rock Park avoiding getting lost on the trails!! That was an adventure! Be sure to ask about the landmarks so you know where to get off and the tips about the Bruce Caves!!

OVERALL? 5 stars!!!! 1st Family trip up North and something we will likely do every year from this point on...YES visiting the lovely family at the Spirit Rock Outpost and Lodge AGAIN! Thanks for making our trip a fantastic and memorable one!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews