We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing and perfect getaway”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Lake House

Dawn on Norcan Lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dawn on Norcan Lake.
Front view of the Lake House from the lake side across the lawn. Side view of the Lake House with Norcan Lake in the background.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Dawn on Norcan Lake.
Front view of the Lake House from the lake side across the lawn.
Side view of the Lake House with Norcan Lake in the background.
Side view of the porch and deckfacing Norcan Lake
View of Norcan Lake from the deck.
Upstairs hallway looking north.
Upstairs hallway looking south.
East facing upstairs bedroom.
Left side of south facing upstairs bedroom.
Right side of south facing upstairs bedroom.
North facing upstairs bedroom.
Another view of the north facing bedroom.
Upstairs bathroom.
Master bedroom downstairs looking south.
Master bedroom downstairs looking north.
Downstairs living room.
Another view of the downstairs living area.
Part of downstairs bathroom...shower and tub in en-suite room to the right.
The kitchen area.
A world record Norcan Lake Small-mouth bass, had he not eaten it.
Sunset over Norcan Lake.
Chris with a nice walleye.
View of the Lake House from Norcan Lake.
Another shot of the kitchen, with a corner of the kitchen table in the foreground.
A beautiful rainbow, across the lawn and over the Japanese maple.
Bench in the morning mist.
Paul with a nice large-mouth bass.
Pete with a good size afternoon walleye.
Rainbow in the rain.
A resident heron on the rocks.
A north lake end osprey on its nest.
Cheryl with a beautiful bass.
First fish...a walleye on a rubber worm in the middle of the day.
Tyler with a mess of fall bass.
Morning at the docks.
First day fishing....ever.
Sunrise.
Sunrise on a different day.
At the narrows down the lake.
A walleye spot.
The water's warm and the swimming fine.
Common merganser family.
Water skiing.
Southern portion of Norcan Lake.
Trolling for big pike.
Broker guarding his golf cart.
A view of the Lake House from across the lawn.
The Lake House in the fall from the lake.
South east shoreline of Norcan Lake.
A book, a dog and a calm day on the lake.
After the rain comes the rainbow.
Patricia and one of her fish.
Bald eagle watching for a meal.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Calabogie, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
“An amazing and perfect getaway”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A last minute decision to getaway and we could not have been any happier! Great big thanks to Canonto Lodge, you helped make it memorable.
When we arrived, we were amazed at the stunning view coming down from the hill and seeing the lake and all the trees with their beautiful colours all around. We then were greeted by an unexpected upgrade in our lodgings which was one of the nicest gestures I've been privileged to enjoy - Thank you - the facilities, the sleeping, the fishing, the everything was amazing, I highly recommend to a couple or family to try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lake house, the view, it all
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you so much Rotem and Chip for your review and kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the fact the weather was perfect and the leaves gorgeous, didn't hurt. We hope to see you back again. Take care and best regards. Dave and Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer6...
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for a long weekend and had a wonderful time.
The property is quiet and peaceful, which was just what we were looking for.
Dave and Penny are wonderful hosts and made us feel more than welcome, exceeding our expectations.
Will come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you sincerely, Rotem and Chip for your kind words and for the review, which we sincerely appreciate. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we all look forward to seeing you again. Best regards. Dave and Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff C
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The Perfect Cottage Experience, 5 out of 5!”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed in the Lake House at Canonto Resorts for a week this past August 2015.

The drive up to Norcan lake is roughly 90 minutes from Ottawa. The scenery is very pretty and there are a few good spots to eat along the way.

Once we arrived we were greeted by Dave and Penny who gave us a quick tour of our accommodation, the property, and gave general pointers. Dave went out of his way to tell us about the lake, fishing spots, help with the boat, etc. which was very much appreciated. It was also nice that they were always just a phone call away if we needed anything.

We stayed in the Lake House which was wonderful! The house itself was very spacious and can accommodate a large group of people. The beds were comfortable, satellite TV was great on the one rainy day we had and plenty of chairs on the deck so people could relax, eat a meal, entertain and enjoy the beautiful scenery.

The property is quite large and ideal for exploring, playing frisbee, volleyball, etc. Also, they have something called a horseshoe pit(sort of a ring toss game) which was neat to play.

The grounds were in great condition and Penny has a ton of beautiful flowers all throughout the property. The beach area was nice and we used that almost every day. You can also swim right off the dock. They have a communal fire pit, with fire wood provided, which we used a few times.

The wild life was AMAZING! They’ve hung feeders for hummingbirds on the deck and you can watch the birds all day long; I think we counted 5 different colors of hummingbirds throughout our stay. Also, the adult and baby ducks are a treat to see every day. They usually hang out in-between the docks and the beach area, so you can feed them and take plenty of photos. Tons of Loons, Cranes, Hawks, etc. you won’t be disappointed with what mother nature has to offer.

The fishing was also great. I couldn’t believe how easy it was to catch fish. We had great luck almost everyday day with large-mouth Bass and Pike. If you enjoy catching fish and enjoying a gorgeous lake, this spot is for you.

What more can I say……the accommodation was great, property was great, fishing was great, weather was great, everything was so perfect we didn’t want to leave.

Thank you for the 10/10 vacation, Dave & Penny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2016
We really appreciate the review and your kind words Jeff and are most pleased you and your group had a great time. We thank you sincerely and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Best regards. Dave and Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing