We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our stay at Aunt Clara's Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at Aunt Clara's Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

During our two month road trip this winter, we stayed in some great B&B's, but for all around hospitality, comfort, ambiance and service, our experience with Ron and Eleanor was the best of all. We loved our room, sitting on the porch watching the world go by at the end of the day, and Eleanor's wonderful breakfasts. We also fell in love with Natchez, the friendly people that we met as we wandered around town, the other guests that we met during our stay, and we the biscuits at Biscuits and Blues. Thank you Ron and Eleanor for showing us what Southern Hospitality is all about, and the next time we come to Natchez, we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowpokesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
194
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As a child and teenager I traveled to Natchez many times and LOVE the history and the hospitality! This time I came with my husband who had planned the romantic weekend as a complete surprise. We had the pleasure of staying at Aunt Clara's Cottage owned by Ron and Eleanor Fry. Our room was the Victoria Room and it was lovely, and very comfortable. The bed and the sheets were fabulous and made for a very restful night's sleep!! Upon arriving we were greeted by Eleanor who took us straight to our beautiful room which was filled with a dozen pink roses. She immediately enquired about any special needs we might have or likes and dislikes regarding breakfast and our stay. The refrigerator was stocked with waters, and sodas for us to enjoy. There were nuts and candy for snacking and a fancy coffee or tea maker for our convenience. Eleanor and Ron were very interesting to talk with and very helpful with touring and resturanting ideas. Breakfast which was prepared by Eleanor was fabulous!! She is an excellent cook. Our last day, after our breakfast we were picked up at the front porch for our carriage ride that took us throughout the downtown area. It was a great experience and very educational!! Overall we had a great time and enjoyed the hospitality that we encountered. We look forward to returning, only this time with our children so they can enjoy the historical South like we did! Natchez is a beautiful town and it is like stepping back in time. We recommend Deveraux Shields House or Aunt Clara's Cottage and the great town of Natchez to anyone who wants to know what true Southern Hospitality is like!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robday95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We rented two rooms for a weekend family road trip before Christmas. We were very pleased with the wonderfully cared for and decorated house, and the town is terrific. Don't miss the Visitor's Center!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, CT
Level Contributor
185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This beautiful, period-furnished 1890's home owned by Ron and Eleanor Fry is the perfect location to tour Natchez from. It is centrally located near downtown on a quiet, tree-lined street among other period homes. The home and furnishings are magnificent and the Frys are excellent hosts. And breakfast was delicious, too. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite in the main house but got a tour of the "Cottage". Both are nice in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aablodgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here and we were very pleased and happy with our rooms and morning breakfasts. Ron and Eleanor make you feel right at home and are a great resource for information of the area. Natchez is a delightful town and if we ever pass that way again, we would not hesitate to stay at the Devereaux Shields House.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannesellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.7 km away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
1.0 km away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.2 km away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 km away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 km away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,140 - ₹ 14,326
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing